? 7/03 Marvin amps 353 + 2 209 + 11 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
Last Post
Wow surprised that +2 is that low since yesterday morning NS. Normally takes longer to catch up. If this continues, I need suggestions on how to make sure he is ok, when I am at work if he is low in the morning, ex. blue. Since he seems to be reacting very well to his insulin now. Any suggestion is welcome, I haven't seen an auto feeder and I doubt he would use.

Also would love your opnion based on his SS to confirm where you think his Nadir is. I think it's a real late nadir (+10 to overlap with next shot), onset seems to me to be early if I understand correctly what it is (+2).
 
Last Post
Wow surprised that +2 is that low since yesterday morning NS. Normally takes longer to catch up. If this continues, I need suggestions on how to make sure he is ok, when I am at work if he is low in the morning, ex. blue. Since he seems to be reacting very well to his insulin now. Any suggestion is welcome, I haven't seen an auto feeder and I doubt he would use.

Also would love your opnion based on his SS to confirm where you think his Nadir is. I think it's a real late nadir (+10 to overlap with next shot), onset seems to me to be early if I understand correctly what it is (+2).

Good morning
I was looking at your SS,
Question on the wet food. It says variety, have you noticed a number change between the different foods?
With my cat I had to change to one food only. The reason was I could see the difference between them in her BG
Is their any dry food in your house? If their is get rid of it.

When we see a lot number it's scary. I'm dealing with it all the time. Today I shot at 49bg,
The whole game ismto get your kitty into green and blue for as long as you can in hope their pancreas can heal itself.
It becomes a dance of trying to keep them safe and helping them.

On auto feeders. We have one, she used it, I was able to get our cat under control after awhile and we no longer use it.
While at work you can always leave out extra food, the downside to this is if they eat the food it will affect their numbers.
I leave 1/4 can out over night for our kitty

Some of the other members will be able to help you much better on insulin amounts and reduction.

Just remember, try not to panic, this is coming from the king of panic! I'm much better now when I see low numbers with our kitty.
 
Question on the wet food. It says variety, have you noticed a number change between the different foods?
I feed him fancy feast pate and propane DM mostly. He seems to do better on fancy feast, but not much of a difference. Marvin is a special case as acro cat on experimental cabergoline drug which seems to be working fast for him. Which is fantastic. He start just over a week ago and Bg are extremely better.
 
I feed him fancy feast pate and propane DM mostly. He seems to do better on fancy feast, but not much of a difference. Marvin is a special case as acro cat on experimental cabergoline drug which seems to be working fast for him. Which is fantastic. He start just over a week ago and Bg are extremely better.
Hi

We feed our cat FF chicken only.
The beef, turkey has higher carbs, the fish is the lowest and she seemed to be allergic to the fish.
The thing I found is the better control of their food the easier it is to work on getting their numbers down into safe numbers.

Today I shot Willow at 49bg and most would never do this. I know my cat better then anyone and I know she may run into unsafe numbers later today. We will be home to keep an eye on her. The goal is to get them into green for long periods of time to see if they can heal themselves.
 
@Willow, Marvin is an acrocat - he likely has a working pancreas already so "healing" greens are not necessary for remission. His diabetes is caused by a benign pituitary tumour that sends out excess growth hormone, which in turn causes diabetes. The cabergoline is a trial drug that the researchers hope will impact that pituitary tumour, thus reducing the amount of growth hormone and IGF-1 produced. A goal of below renal threshold is an acceptable one. Nat is following SLGS too so she would never should as low as you. In fact, neither would most experienced people, even those that know their cat better than you know Willow.

Nat, often you will see a strong reaction to insulin after a skip or fur shot. Today probably isn't typical. But if you do find yourself having to skip more often, then I would lower the dose to be safe. I also really liked the Petsafe 5 feeder to keep Neko safe.
 
To answer the question on the nadir, it's not uncommon for acros to have late nadirs. On Lantus, Neko was typically +7 to +9, but I saw it as late as +13. The nice thing about a nadir near shot time is that you are home for the low point. :) The down side is that you have to get used to shooting low. Next time you see a blue nadir, and are around to monitor, give the shot. That data will be invaluable for those times you cannot monitor.
 
To answer the question on the nadir, it's not uncommon for acros to have late nadirs. On Lantus, Neko was typically +7 to +9, but I saw it as late as +13. The nice thing about a nadir near shot time is that you are home for the low point. :) The down side is that you have to get used to shooting low. Next time you see a blue nadir, and are around to monitor, give the shot. That data will be invaluable for those times you cannot monitor.
Thanks Wendy, I think I may need to reduce the shot, at right now at +7.5 he is at 103 so if he keeps going down he will be in the green. Concerned that I may need to NS again. Any advice? I will be around for the rest of the month, doctor put me on sick leave this morning. Long story....
 
Marvin is still doing good, at 108 @ + 10.5. Full dose 8U or should I reduce? I will be able to monitor, but a bit scared if it goes too low during the night. I assume those who test during the night, set alarm for every 30 minutes or every hour depending on the BG level? fast recovery from the non shot.
 
I set a lot of alarms on my phone when necessary. If you reduce a bit for tonight, the depot could still make it an active cycle. I think you should reduce his overall dose, maybe to 7.5. We just don't know enough about how cabergoline might work and I would rather be cautious at this point. You can always go back up if needed.
 
I set a lot of alarms on my phone when necessary. If you reduce a bit for tonight, the depot could still make it an active cycle. I think you should reduce his overall dose, maybe to 7.5. We just don't know enough about how cabergoline might work and I would rather be cautious at this point. You can always go back up if needed.
PMPS is 94, nice green. NS again tonight, will go down to 7.5 tomorrow. Wow what a cat, and scared mommy. :)
 
Good data for next time you see a low blue/high green at shot time.

I always had an extra package of strips tucked away as backup. Heck, I got nervous if I had less than 200 in the house. :p:spam:
 
Good data for next time you see a low blue/high green at shot time.

I always had an extra package of strips tucked away as backup. Heck, I got nervous if I had less than 200 in the house. :p:spam:
LOL I starting to understand, you go through a lot especially with active cycles. I will eventually need to do that, they are so pricey.

Marvin is really holding on to those low numbers today. +4 @ 130 :) :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top