7/04 Marvin amps 283 reduced dose, +5.5 234 +11 214 pmps 207 + 2 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
Condo

Marvin is doing well even arguing with his drooler sister Jazz. His numbers this am again are good considering NS last night. Seems to be holding well, assume this is a cabergoline effect. Looks like it allows him to use his own insulin. If like last time NS a few days back, his numbers this AM maybe a bit higher, however tonight he may be more active... :)
 
All of our kitties definitely don't make things boring :cat:
He is keeping me on my toes the last week. Was scared of running out of stripts last night, ran to the pharmacy that's open late. Of course didn't run out, but rather be safe. Wish the meds, and supplies would run out at the same time:) Have to go get some insulin today, as will run out probably tomorrow.
 
I kind of like the staggering of supplies, especially the more expensive one's (insulin/food). Little easier on the credit card and gives me some extra time to get some funds. Definitely don't want to run out of insulin ;)
 
Are you getting cartridges or vials of insulin? I found the cartridges the most economical. And they last longer.

Good luck on the new dose. Have you shared your spreadsheet with RVC? You probably have more data about cabergoline working that with most of the test subjects they see. Marvin's SS is sure looking prettier now. :)
 
Are you getting cartridges or vials of insulin? I found the cartridges the most economical. And they last longer.

Good luck on the new dose. Have you shared your spreadsheet with RVC? You probably have more data about cabergoline working that with most of the test subjects they see. Marvin's SS is sure looking prettier now. :)
The vet provides the cartridges. I haven't shared it with RVC, was thinking about it. He is doing so well. I may do that this evening.
 
You might want to call a pharmacy and ask their prices. There was an article in the newspaper here a couple years ago that vets charged about twice the price of what it is in pharmacies. A couple members from Alberta found the same. My best prices were at Safeway (Sobey's), Canadian Superstore, and Costco. Around $100 for a 5 pack, but that price is a few years old as I switched to Levemir.
 
You might want to call a pharmacy and ask their prices. There was an article in the newspaper here a couple years ago that vets charged about twice the price of what it is in pharmacies. A couple members from Alberta found the same. My best prices were at Safeway (Sobey's), Canadian Superstore, and Costco. Around $100 for a 5 pack, but that price is a few years old as I switched to Levemir.
don't have most of those in Quebec, will check what Costco charges, think I have a friend with a membership.
 
Don't know if you have Walmart in Canada? Their prices are competitive like Costco.

We do have Walmart, but unfortunately they do not have the walmart brand lol... and just found out in Quebec, Costco pharmacy is independent, meaning it's owned by the pharmacist, not Costco. I live in the province that is a bit different than the others, I may need to go on a day trip and visit Kris
 
Even here you don't need to be a Costco member to use their pharmacy. Canadian Supe store is also Loblaws. Basically try any big grocery chain that has a pharmacy.

Nice slide today Marvin. :cool:
 
In the states, you do not need to be a Costco member to use their pharm. I am not a member and got my Restastis eye drops from them.

A nice flat yellow cycle after a green. Could be an active cycle tomorrow or the next day.
 
I live in Québec too, but I'm not too far from Ottawa. I bought a pack of 5 cartridges for $108 at a Walmart in Ottawa. $48 for a single cartridge at my vet. I did not try to buy the insulin at my local Walmart because I was unsure if the rules were the same for insulin in Québec (and Ottawa is only a 15-minute drive for me). I remember a couple of weeks ago a member from the US who was visiting Montréal was able to buy insulin without a prescription at a pretty good price. I don't remember the name of the member, but maybe someone will.
 
I still have three cartridges left and Noah is OTJ for now. I contacted DCIN to offer my extra insulin, but I never got a reply from the Canadian contact. I'll keep one of the cartridges in case Noah needs to go back on the juice (anti-jinx), but I'd be happy to send the other two to you if it can help you out. I'm not sure about how to send insulin so maybe a more experienced member could let me know how to send it properly. Let me know if you are interested.
 
I still have three cartridges left and Noah is OTJ for now. I contacted DCIN to offer my extra insulin, but I never got a reply from the Canadian contact. I'll keep one of the cartridges in case Noah needs to go back on the juice (anti-jinx), but I'd be happy to send the other two to you if it can help you out. I'm not sure about how to send insulin so maybe a more experienced member could let me know how to send it properly. Let me know if you are interested.
Thank you Melanie, that is really nice. Canada Post has gotten pretty expensive, they now charge more for irregular size packages, what ever that means. My mom sent me 3 bottles of zobaline from Toronto that my sister brought up for me from the states, and think she had to pay a 15.00 surcharge, mom exaggerates a bit, but still. I can maybe drive up. Is it Lantus?
 
Hmm, looks like that 0.5 unit reduction might not have been enough. If you see low blue/green tonight, I would lower to 7.0 tomorrow. Cabergoline hard at work. :cool:
 
Hmm, looks like that 0.5 unit reduction might not have been enough. If you see low blue/green tonight, I would lower to 7.0 tomorrow. Cabergoline hard at work. :cool:
yes it is working hard, Marvin is at 133 and in a bad mood tired of being poked. Little bugger bit me, soft bit but still. :cat:
 
Thank you Melanie, that is really nice. Canada Post has gotten pretty expensive, they now charge more for irregular size packages, what ever that means. My mom sent me 3 bottles of zobaline from Toronto that my sister brought up for me from the states, and think she had to pay a 15.00 surcharge, mom exaggerates a bit, but still. I can maybe drive up. Is it Lantus?

Yes, it's Lantus. Two 300 units cartridges. I'm not sure in what people usually send them so unsure about how much it would cost. I'll post a question on the board.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top