? 7/05 Marvin +11 162 amps 162, +5 122 pmps 131 +2.5 74, + 3 90, +4 95 what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin's Mom - Nat

Member Since 2017
condo
Morning, Marvin doing well this am, still in blues. not sure he went green last night. He may have. I did decide to reduce his dose to 7U, will see how he handles.
 
Looks like he is doing well, seems a bit tired on the low numbers, he seems more active in the yellows. Mind you he is typically a bit more active in the afternoon and evenings. I have a feeling he will have a good active cycle, today.
 
just went to the vet clinic to pickup some insulin. I tried to get a prescription so I could fill it at the pharmacy, and they said that it not the same as human so they didn't think Pharmacy would have it. So I stopped at the Pharmacy and checked, it is the same and a lot cheaper (same serial/product number) vet is double. So will need to try again and get a prescription.
 
just went to the vet clinic to pickup some insulin. I tried to get a prescription so I could fill it at the pharmacy, and they said that it not the same as human so they didn't think Pharmacy would have it. So I stopped at the Pharmacy and checked, it is the same and a lot cheaper (same serial/product number) vet is double. So will need to try again and get a prescription.
If you travel to Ontario, Lantus can be bought over the counter.
 
There must be different tax rules in Ontario because I've told them at Shoppers that it was for my cat.
lol it is Quebec, I am guessing it's because we need a prescription here, so they know if it's for a pet or not. Good thing Ottawa isn't too far, I may go visit a friend just need to be back in time for Marvin's shot.
 
Marvin's pmps is 131, this cycle was active but not overly active. Will keep dose at 7u and see how his evening is. Hoping I won't need to increase. I find the .25 too hard to do.
 
It was Christina @Mandarin'sMom who bought insulin in Quebec, maybe she can say how she did it. Insulin seems to be over the counter everywhere else in Canada. In BC they like to know if it's for a cat, cause otherwise they enter the information into their computer. In fact, it was the pharmacist who knew more about Lantus for cats than my vet did. She had a large number of kitty patients. She suggested cartidges as more cost effective than vials and showed me which syringes to use.
 
If you do decide to come to Ottawa, let me know and we can meet up. My offer for the two free cartridges of Lantus is still available and it would be easier than trying to ship it. The weather is so unpredictable that I wouldn't know if it would be too hot or not.
 
another 30, still the same at 90, going to test again in 30 or 45 minutes, would like to see the numbers move up a bit more before heading to bed, I may leave some food out tonight.
 
still his low food, was Pro Plan DM this evening, There is still some left over, he ate half only, which is normal for him as double the size of fancy feast. I have HC can of wet and still have ProPlan DM dry if needed.
 
So it's been four hours since he ate? If so, you are OK with just leaving some low carb food out for him tonight.

As for reduction, that 74 did earn a reduction according to SLGS, which would make his new dose 6.5 units. However, given how fast he's coming down, and he did this with a skip 5 cycles ago, you could also try 6.0 units. For any lurkers, this is advice for Marvin only - he is on a cabergoline trial that seems to be working really well.
 
So it's been four hours since he ate? If so, you are OK with just leaving some low carb food out for him tonight.

As for reduction, that 74 did earn a reduction according to SLGS, which would make his new dose 6.5 units. However, given how fast he's coming down, and he did this with a skip 5 cycles ago, you could also try 6.0 units. For any lurkers, this is advice for Marvin only - he is on a cabergoline trial that seems to be working really well.
lol... love the warning to lurkers :)... I was thinking the same thing about the reduction. It does seem like cabegoline is doing its job well. I am amazed as only going to be 2 weeks at the end of tomorrow :). It maybe a viable option for other Acro's. I will go down to 6U tomorrow.

Thank you Wendy, I appreciate all your help, and Marvin does too :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top