7/1 kit +11.75 100,PMPS 94 stall, 91,+1 76,+1.5 95,+2 97, +2.5 106,+3 96,+4 141

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JOJI and Kit, Jul 1, 2020.

  1. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Alicia & Kit cat likes this.
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Kit it's time to slide down and surf.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  3. Alicia & Kit cat

    Alicia & Kit cat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    I hope you see some greens today! <3
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  4. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    50 point drop in the hour from +9.5 to +10.5
    oh, kit. what are you doing?
     
  5. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    play by play for the day

    7/1 kit AMPS 203, +2 208, +5 184, +7 192, +9.25 184, +10.25 132, +11 171, +11.5 119 +20min 100

    we just tested against ourselves, so the meter is correct.
    kit is dropping fast over the last couple of hours.
    we will test again at actual PMPS in about 6 mins

    thoughts or hand holding welcome.
    tia, ^jw
     
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I thought for sure she was headed for the lagoon...Luci was leading the way this morning. Keep going little Kit! You can do it...let's surf :)
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  7. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    we;ve never shot below 173. what do you think we should do?
    PMPS 94 and stalling for 20
     
  8. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Can you stay up tonight and monitor as long as you need to and do you have plenty of supplies?
     
    JOJI and Kit and Sue and Luci like this.
  9. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    That's a safe number to shoot - looks like the depot may finally be full and you're getting maximum results from the insulin - you're getting right where we all want to be - the holy land - green!

    Just in case Kit is still determined to continue going down, are you able to continue testing this evening and possibly later? Do you have medium and high carb foods, karo syrup, etc. Plenty of test strips? (ie, your hypo kit)...many cats like to go lower in the evening...
     
    Si am cat mom and JOJI and Kit like this.
  10. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    omg, i'm shaking. never shot a low blue forget about a green!

    but yes, we can test, we've got a lot of strips, we've got 15% (MC) and 28% (HC) food with maple syrup, honey, light corn syrup.
     
  11. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    yes. lots of strips 15% (MC), 28% (HC) and maple syrup, honey, light corn syrup options for liquid sugar
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  12. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    You can do it! Am I seeing your SS correctly? You've been doing this for just over 6 months?

    It's something we all have to do at one time or another...take a look at some of the other SS's - lots of kitties get their shots on the 'green'...but I understand the first time of shooting a lower number is a little breath taking! I remember my first time...my heart was pounding...

    Just be watchful this evening...post if you need some hand-holding or help. Keep your SS up to date so that others who will be joining in this evening can see what's going on. :)
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  13. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Say this while you're shooting "shoot low to stay low"...it'll help :)
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Since you can monitor, you should shoot her normal dose and get a +1 and a +2 to see where she is headed. I can't stay up all night with you, but I'll check back in an hour and see how things are going. Just keep your subject line updated.
     
    JOJI and Kit and Sue and Luci like this.
  15. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Just remember you are in control and can manage things tonight.
     
    JOJI and Kit and Sue and Luci like this.
  16. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    just a few weeks on lantus
    we were on prozinc before and never saw action like this
     
  17. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    thank you :bighug:
    5 min to the next BG
     
  18. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Ah! That's the difference. Well, now you've got that nice slow roll from the Lantus - a gentle insulin. It's a depot drug - meaning it builds up in their system...and once it does, you've got a chance at stabilizing your Kit and getting him to remission! This is your chance! Best of luck this evening! I'm so glad @carfurby can stay with you tonight...I'm early to bed and early to rise - 5 a.m. comes too early!
     
  19. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    she cant actually, but she said she'd be back in an hour.
    thanks for jumping in and have a good evening.
     
  20. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'll be able to check in for a little while, but I have to work tomorrow too. I'll be going to sleep in about 3 hours.
     
    JOJI and Kit and Sue and Luci like this.
  21. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    There are other experienced members who join in later in the evening...just keep posting - ask for help if you need it.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When you shoot your lowest yet to day (congrats by the way! :D), always good to start out with a +1 and a +2, to see how the cycle is shaping up and whether you need to intervene early.

    Looks like a nice bounce breaking cycle. ;)
     
    JOJI and Kit and Sue and Luci like this.
  23. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    so thankful that you gave that note last night.
    shooting full in 1 min. yikes! here we go kit.
     
  24. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    understood and thanks for your generosity. :bighug:
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  26. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    lol
    thank you @tiffmaxee
    hope i'm still feeling that way in like 10 hours.
    oof
     
  27. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    still dropping @+1 76
    feeding her usual mini meal
    0.5 ff (LC) and 0.5 tiki (no carb)
     
  28. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That's still a safe number, but she may keep dropping. You may need to have some MC or HC ready at the next test.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  29. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    ok. should i test before +2, i.e. in 30min, to see if the current food is impacting?
    also for quantity of next MC food, what do you suggest?

    she usually has the one main meal (done)
    and two mini meals in the time going up to about +4 or sometimes longer bc of her interest
     
  30. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It might not hurt to test in 30 minutes just to be safe. Usually it's best to feed a teaspoon at a time if the numbers start going low and you're trying to keep them from dropping or get them back up. You don't want her to get too full and not eat if you need her to.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  31. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    ok. will test again in 30min.
    so then i've already given her more to eat than i should have at this point, correct?
     
  32. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I think it was fine to feed her normal mini meal at +1 to try and keep her surfing.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  33. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    you make it sound so easy! thank you.
     
  34. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    at the next test i'll tell you the number before i pick which carb level to give her
     
  35. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sounds good.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  36. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    @1.5 95
     
  37. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  38. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    glad you're enjoying the show! sweating bullets over here.:bighug:
     
    Susan & Claudio likes this.
  39. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    LC or MC for the next snack?
     
  40. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  41. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    LC is working so far, just a small amount.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  42. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    just put down 1 teaspoon (0.2 oz) of LC. she ate it willingly.
    will test again at +2
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
  43. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    @Wendy&Neko Will you be around for a while? I'll only be able to stay up for about an hour. I have to work tomorrow.
     
  44. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    97 @+2
    give another teaspoon of LC?
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  45. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    When do you normally feed?
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  46. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    she's rather a slow eater.
    so we try for two mini meals after the main one. but lately she only gets thru one of the mini meals.
    usually the first mini meal goes down around PM+2 or +2.5. tonight we fed that one at PM+1 and she almost finished it, but i pulled it up bc you mentioned not letting her get too full. so there's some of that left. i think mostly the "no carb" part of it.
    it can take her until PM+4.5 to finish that one.

    if she is still willing to eat after the first mini meal is done, then a second one will go down and that could take her until PM+6.
    the last four PM's she hasn't had a second mini meal.
     
  47. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    just checked. actually it's the other way. there's a good bit of the LC portion of her main meal still on that plate.
     
  48. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'd give her another teaspoon of LC now.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  49. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I may not be online when you get your next test. If she stays in the 80s or higher you should be fine to just keep feeding LC. Just keep your subject line updated and if she does go lower ask for help in the subject line.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  50. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    @2.25 gave 1 teaspoon (0.2 oz) of FF LC.
     
  51. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    thank you so much carla for giving us your evening. rest well and snuggles to furball. :bighug:
     
  52. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    106 @2.5 she's very busy right now watching the night air, will try to get her to eat a smidge of LC

    ETA; ate willingly
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
    Reason for edit: new info
  53. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You can feed as normally now, and maybe wait an hour for the next test.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  54. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    96 @+3

    so what would feed normally mean at this point?

    she hasn't been hungry for her second mini meal the last few days. and these little teaspoons have almost gotten to a second mini meal.
    i guess i could give her what's left of her main meal since i pulled it up thinking she'd get too full too fast.

    also, her trend is to drop after +7 or +8
    so should i plan to keep testing hourly until AMPS?
     
  55. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Her trend when starting green may be different than what you are used to. If you are just giving low carb and you see two rising tests in a row, you are good to sleep. Test hourly, unless she goes down quite a bit, then move to 1/2 hour.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  56. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    got it.
    thank you very much.
     
  57. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Good looking cycle! Well done so far !
    Guess you are holding this dose :D
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    :D:D Looking good. You’ve got this. You can control the cycle with food.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  59. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    thanks for all the support
    and now i'm (only slightly) bummed that she's mid-blue. o_O
     
  60. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I know. Green is addictive. On the bright side you can stop testing.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  61. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Nighty night! First few times I shot green I got a bounce too. :rolleyes:
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  62. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    so now we count cycles to clear the bounce before making any dose moves?
    i.e. 6 cycles to clear, or?
     
  63. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    A bounce can clear in one cycle or take several. Once it clears you see whether he returns to green or low blue.
     
  64. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    i don't think i'm very good at identifying a cleared bounce yet ...
     
  65. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We will help you. It’s not always easy to tell. Max was a yo-yo his first year.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  66. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    thank you!
     
  67. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Kit stayed safe last night.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  68. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Looks like a success! See those nice greens and blues are wonderful, aren't they? Imagine if your SS looked like this one? @Sonia & Leo or @JoyBee&Ravan - now those SS's are something to go for. Many examples of great looking SS's. Something to strive for. Enjoy your day!
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.

Share This Page