7/1 Willows pmps 91bg did a .50 reduction see notes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Willow hold onto the reduction you look fantastic green!
Happy 4th to you and your family!
 
Willow hold onto the reduction you look fantastic green!
Happy 4th to you and your family!
Ahhhhh
She was swimming with the sharks. 47bg@+11 this is with the reductions, now what?
If I did dot feed her she could have went much lower.
I'll be checking her in 15 minutes for her pmps, she has already ate a full can of LC.
Thoughts?
@carfurby
 
I would just keep an eye on her and monitor her bg for a few hours. Since Willow came up nicely by PMPS, she was probably on the way up already. The food may have contributed to the rise, but it does take about 20-30 minutes before food begins to have an effect on bg. In any event, it will take a while for the insulin to kick in, during which time she will undoubtedly continue to rise. I believe that the old 1.25 Unit dose (before the reducie) was still in control: i.e., the depot is still reflecting the old dose. It will take a few cycles to settle into the new dose. I see that you gave a reduced shot tonight (0.5U). That is fine as a one-time thing, but you should probably go right back to your new, reduced (1 Unit) dose tomorrow morning and give it enough time to get the new depot established.
 
Hey James, yes, the higher depot was talking. She will probably start to bounce up by PMBG time. If not, you might want to consider a one time reduced dose for the PM cycle.
 
I would just keep an eye on her and monitor her bg for a few hours. Since Willow came up nicely by PMPS, she was probably on the way up already. The food may have contributed to the rise, but it does take about 20-30 minutes before food begins to have an effect on bg. In any event, it will take a while for the insulin to kick in, during which time she will undoubtedly continue to rise. I believe that the old 1.25 Unit dose (before the reducie) was still in control: i.e., the depot is still reflecting the old dose. It will take a few cycles to settle into the new dose. I see that you gave a reduced shot tonight (0.5U). That is fine as a one-time thing, but you should probably go right back to your new, reduced (1 Unit) dose tomorrow morning and give it enough time to get the new depot established.
@Bobbie And Bubba
Hi
That is what I was thinking as well, it was one hour between the +11, my feeding her a whole can of LC and checking her PMPS. The food was for sure affecting her. My thoughts was to give a 50% reduction and go back to 1 unit in the morning as long as she is 99bg and above. It's good to confirm with others to make sure I'm thinking correctly.

My thought is she will either bounce or will be 200-300bg range in the morning. Better to be safe then sorry.

Question. What if she is 99bg or below for her amps? What would you do?
 
Willow is a long term diabetic, which means earning reductions by going below 40, though some people reduce if kitty goes below 50 three times.

If she is below 99, and you can monitor, I would shoot the full dose.
 
I'm glad you were able to get some advice last night. I'd shoot the full dose this morning if you can monitor, unless she's below 50.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top