? 7/12 Walter AMPS 135, +3.5 68, +5.5 76,+8 71 Mandarin AMPS 62, +1 61, +2 75, +3.5 96, +5.5 10, +8 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Flat yellow AM cycle yesterday morning, followed by a dive at night. I don't know if Mandarin went below 50 at some point, but the AMPS this morning seems to suggest that he wen even lower after my 3 am (=+7) test. I went with another reduced dose this morning. This clearly isn't ideal. This is the third time now in 6 days where I didn't feel comfortable giving him his full dose.

Technically speaking he hasn't earned a reduction since I haven't actually seen a number below 50. But would it make sense to give him a reduction to see if I can at least stick with one dose for more than three cycles?

Unfortunately, stalling and retesting 30 minutes later to see if he comes up doesn't work particularly well with two diabetic cats and some civvies who act like they are starving at breakfast time. I also can't really bring myself to give him the full dose when he is that low. I can pretty much count on Walter eating a full meal no matter what - he would probably still demand his breakfast if the house was on fire. :rolleyes: Mandarin, on the other hand, won't eat if his normal routine gets messed up.
 
Technically you should follow the protocol, but you are an experienced caregiver. I think under the circumstances it may be a good idea to try reducing Mandarin's dose. The BCS doses should have drained the depot. It seems to me like he is asking for a reduction. You can always go back up if his numbers creep up.
 
Technically you should follow the protocol, but you are an experienced caregiver. I think under the circumstances it may be a good idea to try reducing Mandarin's dose. The BCS doses should have drained the depot. It seems to me like he is asking for a reduction. You can always go back up if his numbers creep up.

That's what my spidey senses are telling me as well, especially since I have increased his dose rather quickly over the last two weeks (following protocol, but maybe he just needed a bit more time that 6 cycles).

I have to run to campus for an hour - brief meeting with our tech department to help me figure out something with our course management software. It looks like he is surfing safely for now (and I gave him just a little bit of gravy in his snack to make sure). I will be back!
 
Question, why didn't you shoot the full dose and let him tell you if the dose is taking him low? There could also still be some 2.25 unit depot causing theses lowish numbers. Since his +1 was lower, I suspect that may have been as low as he got last night. As a long term diabetic, Mandarin needs to go below 40 for a reduction, though some people use three times under 50. I would hold the dose, as long as you can monitor.
 
Question, why didn't you shoot the full dose and let him tell you if the dose is taking him low?
I was just nervous - nervous that he would drop too low and then wouldn't eat for me. He's been in higher numbers since he went back on the juice two months ago and I don't really know yet what he is going to do with low pre-shots. The lowest number I have shot has been in the mid-100s, but he has mostly hung out in yellow.

So would you go back to 2 units tonight? I will be at my volunteer shift tomorrow morning, so I can't be home to monitor, but my schedule is pretty flexible other than that.
 
Both of the boys dropped between their snack at +5.5 and their test at +8. :eek: Well, Walter is pretty much flat, but I guess Mandarin is once again on his way down now that the gravy from this morning wore off.

They both got another LC snack and I am hoping for a shootable number tonight... with a yet to be determined dose for Mandarin. :nailbiting: Not sure if I have the balls to give 2 units if he is still in green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top