7/2 Loudogg AMPS 155 +6 93 PMPS 104: First full cycle in greens/blues!!! -- Positive for IAA: 84%

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Amanda and a Loudogg, Jul 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    July 1, 2018 Condo

    Good morning all! Lou had a typical bounce day yesterday. Unfortunately, I could see he was going down during his PM cycle, but I was soo tired. I could barely get up for the +6 test, let alone a +9. I feel awful, but considering I wanted to test more for documentation purposes and not because I truly worried about him going hypo, I have to let myself off the hook. I'll have plenty of time this week to gather data.

    He had a wonderful preshot this morning, but I imagine the bounce will follow any time now. Ugh. It works though because we're planning a day trip to the casino (multi-day anniversary celebration, because that's how we roll, haha :smuggrin:). Hopefully we win big!!!

    I hope your kitties stay safe today and you all have a wonderful day! Thinking about @Sue and Luci. Hopefully Luci stays away from those sharks after her visit this morning!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Don't beat yourself up too much for not getting up to test...looks like he was still in the 'yellows' when you went to sleep..you'll be able to gather more data this week about how he behaves at night:joyful: - Luci doesn't do much at night - thankfully!:joyful: I've gotten up plenty of times in the night and she tends to go down for a bit...and then back up...very rarely has she needed HC food in the middle of the night!:joyful:

    Thank you for thinking of us - Luci is still climbing now - it could be from the HC food still - only at 3+ right now...I'd like to give her a pokey break because she did not get any insulin this morning - but not sure how long the HC food will be influencing her numbers vs how her depot is working. This no-shot will give her depot a chance to drain and she's earned a reduction based on that 28 this morning! :eek::eek: Scared me half to death!!:blackeye: So hopefully she'll level off today and we'll be back in a better place by this time tomorrow.:D
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg likes this.
  3. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Well then! I figured the +3 would be higher to indicate a bounce. We were planning to test, feed, and head out to the casino.... Apparently Lou really doesn't want us to go anywhere at the moment! +3 = 147! :cool: So much for our day trip, haha! Go Lou Go!! (But stay safe please!)
     
  4. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Uh oh ... looks like someone is heading down ... I can't tell you how many times I was ready to walk out the door...test Luci...lower number than I expected...put purse down, take off shoes...feed/wait... bummer for me...but Luci seems to appreciate me staying home with her... I keep hoping that she'll turn that corner one day and make her mama proud by going into remission...then I'll go celebrate and go to the beach...and shop...and eat out...all those fun things I'm passing on right now...
     
  5. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Never fails, does it?! :p


    Well I heard back from the vet. Thankfully Lou is negative for Acro, but his is positive for IAA. I am not sure of the numbers, I didn't think to ask until I hung up. My vet will be emailing me the report so I'll have more details later.... Whew... I am thankful but still flabbergasted. I'm so glad I pushed for that IAA test. Now what?! I've read up on Acro, but now I'll need more info on the IAA.
     
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Post more info when you know - I don't even know what that entails...insulin autoantibodies...???? I don't recall anything about a test like that for Luci...is that something they do when cats are dx'd with Diabetes?
     
  7. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Yup, insulin autoantibodies. Basically he's become resistant to the insulin, requiring a higher and higher dose until the insulin overcomes the antibodies, which brings him hurdling back down the scale. I think that's the basics, haha. I will definitely post more when I know more.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sorry about the IAA diagnosis. :bighug::bighug::bighug: But happy for you on the acromegaly results. Getting the IAA number would be interesting. IAA is supposed to be self limiting after around a year. Neko's broke after 9 months. Having IAA by itself is less common, though @Sandy and Black Kitty and @Doodles & Karen were two such. Does Lou have any other conditions other than the crystals? How are his teeth?

    We don't really have a sticky note for IAA, but this post has a link to a bunch of other posts.
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg likes this.
  9. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Hi there :cool:

    I was just looking over Loudoggs ss and feel that the resistance is not too strong--lots of blues and greens :D
    Like Wendy said, it will be interesting to see what the percentage number is.
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg likes this.
  10. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Thank you Wendy! I'll be reviewing that information. I sent an email to the vet since I still haven't received that report (just in case she noted my email wrong). Hopefully they'll get back to me soon (I find myself rather antsy to know the number myself). He doesn't have any other conditions that I'm aware of. We were going to get a dental last month, but the vet really didn't think it was necessary. She thought his teeth were outwardly really good. We were still planning on getting a dental this year, just to rule that out as a reason why he seemed to try to stay at high numbers... I guess we have a reason now, don't we? Just crazy!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  11. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Hiya ladies! @Wendy&Neko @Sandy and Black Kitty

    Just got the report from my vet and the results are as follows:

    IGF-1 = 77 (Ref range 12-92)
    IAA = 84%

    Since he's not on a huge dose right now, I thought that number would be lower. :confused: Not that I have any experience to know that, haha!
     
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    That IAA is higher than I expected. His score ties with Black Kitty!

    Good plan on the dental. So much can linger below the gum line. Twice Neko had dentals where she looked fine on visual inspection, but the x-rays showed otherwise.
     
  13. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    So sorry about the diagnosis. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    That was the same for Osha's last dental. Everything looked ok on the surface and after the x-rays she ended up with 5 teeth removed.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  14. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    I too expected it would be lowero_O
    It may have already run it's course. Even after IAA breaks it's hold, as long as kitty is using insulin the result will read the same. Only after BK was well off the juice did the test result return to normal.

    Get the dental. It can make a huge difference. For BK addressing his teeth and gums was key - without it he would have never made it to the Falls.

    First dental was early December 2008, the second was late May 2009

    BK insulin graph (600x337).jpg
    (click to expand)
     
  15. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Thanks ladies. I think we will plan on still doing a dental for him this summer or fall (I know this is the vet's busy season for surgeries).

    I cannot believe it!! The day I get the news that Lou is officially an IAA kitty is the day he goes a full cycle in the greens and blues!! :cool::D How absolutely amazing would it be if his IAA has already broken?? What's strange is Lou almost went into remission not long after he was diagnosed and failed on the last day. His numbers shot up (for him) and it seemed like insulin wasn't really doing the job. It took me a long time to realize he wasn't reacting the same to the insulin and it was like whatever I did, his body wanted to be at those higher numbers. I hesitated to raise his insulin dose too much until I finally realized (probably with @Wendy&Neko's help :p) that he needs what he needs. Only then did I start to see some blues. He was up to 4u on the Vetsulin, and he's gone down to 3u now on Basaglar.

    That would be so awesome to not have to increase like I've seen other acro and/or IAA kitties (like your BK Sandy). If not, then I guess I'll be prepared to rev up to keep him from going too out of control. Would it be best to switch to TR do you think? Or do those rules go out the window with a diagnosed high-dose kitty??
     
    Amanda & Shmee and Wendy&Neko like this.
  16. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    It's always amazing what they can do to you, huh? :nailbiting: We'll keep our fingers and paws crossed that it could possibly be that the discovery of the IAA just happened to be a bit late in the game and he's already turning the corner to getting better...and responding to the insulin so he can spend more time healing his little pancreas in the lagoon:rolleyes: - I always think of it that way when Luci has me running to the testing station all day - I try to visualize her little pancreas revving itself up:D...healing beta cells growing in there...and although it's crazy for me...I hope it's calm and relaxing for her:D...and that's what I hope is going on inside Lou's body:D...get into that healing lagoon Lou! Take it easy on mama...:D

    Shall we dance (the sugar dance that is)...:kiss:
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    High dose kitties can still follow the dosing methods here. Though we usually like the faster increases of TR if kitty is stuck in high numbers. With IAA, it seems to be better to keep at a dose with some green in the picture. And if these kitties are coming down dose fast, as can happen with IAA breaking or acro tumour changes, I usually suggest being more cautious with regards to reductions, especially if a large depot is in play.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page