7/21 Boomer AMPS 362 +3 328 +6 281 PMPS 292 +3 200

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Judy and Boomer, Jul 21, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yesterday
    I can't even manage a good morning this morning. AMPS 362 shooting .75u
    He came down nicely yesterday so I'm doubting it's bad insulin.
    And if it's an infection.....I don't think he'd come down like he did yesterday?

    What do I do to help my baby?

    Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds; he left a bit of +3 and a bit of +9 despite getting me up at 5:00 (+9) to stir the remaining food in his dish :rolleyes:
    Allen ate very well last night.
    Weighing day....Boomer 16.0 lbs Allen 11.8 lbs. Both are holding steady.
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm sorry Boomer's numbers are so high. Maybe you should try going back to the dose he was on before the dental as long as you can monitor. :bighug::bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  3. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Is this a bounce because of the large drop yesterday?
    I'll be increasing to 1 u tomorrow morning.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I like Carla's advice, Judy. As upsetting as it is, he seems to have developed a need for more juice for now. I'd try getting him back down as quickly/safely as possible.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  5. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    So potentially I should increase to 1.25 tomorrow morning?
    Thoughts? I will be home all weekend to monitor.
    His numbers are making me ill.
     
  6. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :bighug:

    You have never mentioned it so I am sure it isn't an issue - is he constipated?
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  7. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I know how hard it is to see the numbers, but try to focus on how Boomer is feeling and acting....easier said that done, of course, but if he's feeling and eating well, that is more than half the battle.

    Do you think he could use a vetty visit again - new labs or anything like that?

    I could be wrong, but unfortunately I'm inclined to believe that restarting him at .25U after the dental may be why you're seeing these numbers now. We all hope that a dental will produce immediate BG improvement, but sometimes (I think more often than not) it just doesn't happen that way.

    Personally I'm not sure about fast-tracking him - I don't have any experience with increasing more frequently than every 6 cycles, so hopefully someone else with more experience will come along about that.

    You WILL get to a breakthrough dose....don't make yourself ill!!!
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  8. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm looking at it like a reduced dose for vacation. When you come back from vacation and the dose is not getting the cat into good numbers, you go back to the last good dose. I'm inclined to agree with Amy that the reduced dose after the dental didn't work and he needs more juice. Hang in there. You'll get him back to good numbers eventually. It just takes time. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  9. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I would not jump back to 1.25 but rather follow the protocol and increase every 6 cycles if warranted. He hit good numbers for 7 days on .25 so not sure you can say 1.25 was the last good dose IMHO. While he may need more insulin I'd do it safely. I believe NDW may have set in and could take the 6 cycles to see what he's doing on this dose. These numbers are out of the ordinary for Boomer and I feel for you Judy so hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  10. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I should have been clear when agreed with Carla's post. I meant moving the dose up following TR guidelines. Sorry for the confusion ... o_O
     
  11. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Fast tracking would be increasing every 4 cycles but personally I don't think it's a good approach for Boomer. Usually it's done with kitties who are clearly stuck, have a known or suspected high dose condition. When I look at the picture of Boomer, he saw green just 6 days ago. 6 cycle increases are safer...just my 2 cents.
     
  12. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    No, not at all. Pooping normally, peeing normally, maybe slightly hungrier than normal but that comes with high numbers.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  13. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Just a reminder that he has been on and off antibiotics since June 8
     
  14. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Well I've certainly been considering it. But....if he has an infection or if it's the tooth problem (possible lesions) would his levels have dropped like they did yesterday? He dropped over 100 points!
     
  15. Alicia & Maggie (GA)

    Alicia & Maggie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Sorry to hear about your frustrations... :bighug:
    Don't forget to take a deep breath and pull up your patience pants, hard as that is.
    Hoping for a quick, controlled slide into lower numbers for Boomer.
     
  16. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Hi there :cool:

    All 5 Ps in place?

    Did he have any extractions during the recent dental?

    Any chance he got into any contraband?

    I too think that, in the absence of ketones, it's best to increase as per TR. I know how hard it is to see pink and want to shoot it down.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  17. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Is there any chance something from his dental is acting up? I hope Boomer settles back down for you, Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  18. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    I have little experience with anitbiotics. Looking back to June 8th I only see some spotty yellows so not sure the relevance. Certainly see what others have to say. If you feel going back to 1.25 is the right thing to do that is your call :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  19. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    That has occurred to me too. Not sure if the vets use catheters when doing dentals but I understand they can introduce infection.
     
  20. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    I wish I knew!
     
  21. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Oh Boomer,can't you tell mama what's going on, it would be much easier. Judy I can only offer :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  22. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I honestly don't know, either...that's what can (of course) be so frustrating about FD. Trix used to occasionally fall out of beautiful perfectly green regulation for no apparent reason. One time I even had to take her from 1U to over 5U to get a break through, and there was no explanation that we could find behind it.

    I'm inclined to think he's got a combination of bouncing and not enough juice going on right now. It is hard, I know, but remember safety does come first, so you don't want to increase too sharply solely based on the stress of seeing these numbers. He's got his 5ps going, and that is very, very important. TR does allow for frequent increases done safely. As we've often said here....better to be high for a day than to low for a minute. Even with frequent monitoring, increasing too quickly/too much could put Boomer into a low-numbers situation that may be challenging to contend with. Just something to keep in mind.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  23. Squalliesmom

    Squalliesmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    I feel for you, Judy. Practically the whole time Squallie was on Vetsulin I was "chasing" his numbers. Lantus changed that picture dramatically! I think Boomer may have some NDW going on, or maybe an unseen result from the dental. Have patience, you will get him sorted out, it just might take a little bit longer. Many :bighug::bighug::bighug:!
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  24. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yes, I will go back to my original plan of increasing by .25 every 6 cycles :bighug::bighug:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  25. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yeah, it seemed like a good idea at the time. My thoughts at that time were that his numbers were still good (low blues) and I was certainly blaming the inflammation in his mouth for at least part of the reason for his higher BGs. sigh Well there are no do-overs so all I can do is carry on and increase him every 6 cycles and hope I can get a handle on this soon.
     
  26. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh, Judy, keeping you and sweet Boomer in thots and prayer..that answers are discerned and peace hugs you close:bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  27. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I know...hindsight is always 20/20 and we stuck without working crystal balls here in L&LL. It will be fine - Boomer will get back into the groove, I know he will! Just focus on the fact that he is feeling well.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  28. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
  29. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yes he is. I've even seen him playing 3 times in the last couple of days.....and Boomer doesn't play...or at least hasn't for a long time.
     
  30. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yes, he's pooping normally. Peeing normally. Playing a bit even though he hasn't played in many many months. Umm....the other two ps....preening? Yup. I don't remember what the other P is lol.
    No extractions. X-rays show the possibility of 2 teeth with absortive lesions; X-rays have been sent to a specialist and we haven't heard back yet but vet didn't think they would cause insulin resistance
    No, no contraband. The worse that could happen (unless he helps himself to people food) is that he eats Allen's food which, half the time, is exactly the same food Boomer eats but with p-binder on it. The other half of the time Allen gets a ff with gravy. But no Boomer has not had any of it.
     
  31. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Last P - Purring :cat:
     
  32. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    By any wild chance could he have fleas? Just grasping at straws with that...when we start a flea outbreak here, Doc's numbers fly to the moon and stay there until I give flea meds and kill the outbreak. He then dives to the rocks - have to call in the reserves to drag him out of the mud. :)
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  33. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    That's interesting. Never would think that.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  34. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    DUH. lol. yes he's purring
     
  35. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    I brush him every night so I just took a look at the hair in the brush and no there's no sign of flea dirt.
     
  36. MJW

    MJW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    I would be tempted to take him back in for blood work. And the vet could look at his teeth. Very upsetting to see those colors after a long run of greens.
    I think you do need to increase the dose to get him in the greens again, while you try to figure out the cause of the problem.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  37. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I suspect the reduction in dose post dental was premature. Boomer's little pancreas tried to keep up with the reduction in insulin, but just got pooped out. He's not quite ready to take the training wheels (insulin) off yet. Neko's dose often had to go up post dental - until the inflammation went down.

    Let's see what he's like when he gets back to his pre dental dose, and if necessary, replace the insulin. The remaining teeth that need to go could also be causing some issues.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  38. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yes, it hasn't been determined yet whether they need to go. Waiting for the expert that apparently takes her time since she's doing it as a favour to Dr Larry. :rolleyes:
     
  39. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey Judy, I think a call to the specialist is in order about the lesions. They could be the culprit and causing his numbers to rise. Poor Boomer if there are lesions will have to go back under again to have the teeth removed. :eek:

    Does he move his head side to side while eating? That is what Bubba did when he had a bad tooth. He would look like he was trying to get the food to the "good " side of his mouth to chew. Also, dropping the food from their mouth is another common sign of a tooth ache, and drooling.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  40. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
  41. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Hmmm...well they are on both sides of his mouth :rolleyes: I don't think he's eating any differently. But I will send Dr Larry a message and ask.
     
  42. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Sent a message to Dr Larry asking if the specialist had got back to him yet.
    Apparently he didn't initially send the X-rays; he just emailed the specialist asking if she would look at them. She just replied yesterday (almost 2 weeks later) and indicated that she would so he sent the X-rays yesterday.

    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  43. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    ugh.......I HATE with medical stuff falls through the cracks. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  44. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    PMPS 292 shooting .75u
     
  45. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    +3 200
    On the "world" ss 200 is blue so I'm celebrating the blue tonight (even though on the US ss it's still yellow)!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page