? 7-21 Gizmo AMPS=292; +3=295; +5=140; +6=113; +7=128; +9=122; PMPS=149; +1=229; +2=261 Vet Results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...8-vet-pmps-275-2-279-vet-visit-update.180970/

PMPS = 275
+2 = 279
+6 = 177

AMPS = 292

Gizmo ate all of his breakfast this morning. No more throw up since +4 of yesterday's AM cycle. Seems to be feeling better.

Vet info from yesterday (edited to add info in bold):
Gizmo's sugar was 268 at the vets at +6. So pretty flat today. When we got there the receptionist said you are just here for a Glucose check. I said no I want all of his bloodwork redone. So the vet knew nothing about my request to have the IAA and IGF-1 tests. He was in agreement that Gizmo is on a high enough dose of insulin to be insulin resistant, but knew of no tests to tell for sure. He said that the test for acromegaly is very precise in how you handle the blood so he would have to check into all that before doing the bloodwork. Based on my constipation concerns, he wanted to do bloodwork and recheck his values compared to where we started at. That's one of the reasons we went anyways, so I agreed. My poor Gizmo returned with the whole underside of his chin shaved. :( I've never seen them take blood from his neck before. It was discovered that he is running a fever (103.something) and his white blood count was high. So they asked if they could run the T4 Thyroid test. We agreed. It came back 3.4 which is in the normal range. The vet said that you could actually get a lower result in dogs when they aren't feeling well, but he has never known that to happen with cats. Does any know anything about this? So we think his thyroid is ok. His kidneys, liver, and pancreas values all came back normal. I am now wondering if his pancreas value is normal, wouldn't that mean it is working and producing insulin? After I got home that confused me. The vet is going to check into the test for acromegaly. I emailed him the information on both tests last tonight. He also prescribed an antibiotic: zenequin 25mg - half a tablet once a day for 14 days. This is Gizmo's 3rd time on antibiotics since his diagnosis. Thinking that an underlying infection may be why his numbers have stayed high? He is only on them for short periods of time though (14 days this time). He seemed slightly concerned that Gizmo lost a little weight. He is 13.63 pounds ... down from 13.8. He said to let him eat as much as he will eat. Not sure about that as Gizmo normally will eat a lot, but will probably start giving him a little more.

Looking for any advice on feeding and the test results .... thanks.
 
I don't have any answers but I do have a question - Have they given Gizmo different AB's or has it always been the zenequin?

You might find this thread interesting:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pancreatitis-diabetes-in-an-acrocat.178857/
He has been on zenequin twice the first time and this time. The middle time was a liquid that started with a "c". I have the name with his vet papers, but don't remember off the top of my head. Something drops I think. Could be completely wrong. It was supposed to be a stronger antibiotic, but he was only on it for about 5 days. I did notice his numbers went up slightly when he finished it, but the vet wasn't concerned. :blackeye:

I hope your Gizmo surfs and stays safe for you today!
 
No answers, just hugs for you and Gizmo. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Glad to hear he is feeling better, and hope the additional tests will set you on course for the right medications to make Gizmo feel even better.
 
I am now wondering if his pancreas value is normal, wouldn't that mean it is working and producing insulin? After I got home that confused me. The vet is going to check into the test for acromegaly
I'm likely not saying this entirely accurate but I do understand it that if a kitty has Acromegaly they do have a working pancreas. It's the tumor that affects the need for insulin.

It's helpful for those looking at labs for you to enter all the values into the Labs tab on his SS. Be sure to edit the ranges according to the lab that was used.
 
He has been on zenequin twice the first time and this time. The middle time was a liquid that started with a "c". I have the name with his vet papers, but don't remember off the top of my head. Something drops I think. Could be completely wrong. It was supposed to be a stronger antibiotic, but he was only on it for about 5 days. I did notice his numbers went up slightly when he finished it, but the vet wasn't concerned. :blackeye:

I hope your Gizmo surfs and stays safe for you today!
Guessing that other one was Clavamox? Think one of my Vet's mentioned it :bookworm:
 
I'm likely not saying this entirely accurate but I do understand it that if a kitty has Acromegaly they do have a working pancreas. It's the tumor that affects the need for insulin.
That's exactly what I am thinking. Seems to point towards acro.

It's helpful for those looking at labs for you to enter all the values into the Labs tab on his SS. Be sure to edit the ranges according to the lab that was used.

I didn't get a copy of any of the bloodwork. Was thinking about emailing and asking them to send me a copy. Wish I would have thought to ask when I was there.
 
Guessing that other one was Clavamox? Think one of my Vet's mentioned it :bookworm:
Yes, clavamox drops. That sounded right, but I just doubled checked to make sure. He only had them for 4 or 5 days though, it wasn't long at all.
 
Just emailed and asked for bloodwork results. Hopefully, I can get the labs section updated soon.

+3 = 295 (another flat day ... at least we saw blue last night)
Ketones = neg/trace (I have such a hard time distinguishing :()
 
Yes, clavamox drops. That sounded right, but I just doubled checked to make sure.
did notice his numbers went up slightly when he finished it, but the vet wasn't concerned.
Sometimes vets give you antibiotics with a sugar base. :rolleyes: Cats have no taste bud receptors for sweet (dogs do), and it can impact the BG.
The vet said that you could actually get a lower result in dogs when they aren't feeling well, but he has never known that to happen with cats. Does any know anything about this?
It's called euthyroid sick syndrome. From the Merck Veterinary Manual. Neko had it a couple of times, but her numbers went up on retest.

My poor Gizmo returned with the whole underside of his chin shaved. :( I've never seen them take blood from his neck before.
I've heard that taking blood from there is what happens if you have a less talented vet tech. They should be able to take it from the inner hind leg. Neko was not vain, but I was for her sake, and usually requested they do blood without shaving. Techs could do that too.
He said that the test for acromegaly is very precise in how you handle the blood so he would have to check into all that before doing the bloodwork.
Did vetty not take blood for this test? Does that mean Gizmo (and you) will have to go back again? :arghh: :banghead: Hope he doesn't charge you for blood draw the second time.
 
It's called euthyroid sick syndrome. From the Merck Veterinary Manual. Neko had it a couple of times, but her numbers went up on retest.
Hmm ... interesting.

Neko was not vain, but I was for her sake, and usually requested they do blood without shaving.
Now I know for next time. Lesson learned. Although it isn't as bad as I originally thought.

Did vetty not take blood for this test? Does that mean Gizmo (and you) will have to go back again? :arghh: :banghead: Hope he doesn't charge you for blood draw the second time.
No, IAA and IGF-1 tests not done. $200 visit and didn't get the tests I requested. I wasn't very happy when I left.
 
+5 = 140 :woot:
That was quite a drop in 2 hours. He was really pestering for food. So I checked him and then gave him a little LC. Hopefully, he will hold blues for a while and not bounce to high.
 
:eek::cool:

This will probably result in a bounce (that large of a drop). Well, now you know what to look for with falling numbers! Gizmo is the same, though it isn't as pronounced now with him riding primarily in the blues but the "hunting' was a typical signal to me that I needed to check him. :smuggrin:
 
Here is the link to print out the order forms for Acromegaly and IAA.

You need to click the the link foe endocrinology order form. The acro test (IGF-1) is listed under pituitary function, and the IAA (insulin antibodies) is listed under pancreatic funtion.

You need to read about packaging and handling the sample, it is quite specific. It does take time to get results. I think it took 10-12 days to get back my results.

https://animalhealth.msu.edu/Sections/Endocrinology/
 
The IGF-1 tests are run once a week, so it can take longer to get the results if the blood gets there on the wrong day. You want to time it so that it gets there by Tuesday if possible. Or like me, you get to wait almost two weeks. :rolleyes:
 
Here is the link to print out the order forms for Acromegaly and IAA.

You need to click the the link foe endocrinology order form. The acro test (IGF-1) is listed under pituitary function, and the IAA (insulin antibodies) is listed under pancreatic funtion.

You need to read about packaging and handling the sample, it is quite specific. It does take time to get results. I think it took 10-12 days to get back my results.

https://animalhealth.msu.edu/Sections/Endocrinology/
Thanks. I sent the my vet links to both tests last night. Hopefully if the antibiotic doesn't help, he will be on board with the testing.
 
Having an infection is not an explanation for the size of dose that Gizmo is on. My vet was the same, wanted to run all the tests under the sun, except what I wanted. She said we had to get up to 10 units first. Never did, maxed out at 8.75 and positive for both. I had to ask my vet to humour me. In the mean time, I paid for a lot of other tests that came back negative. :rolleyes:
 
+7 = 128

Enjoying this while it lasts!:cool:

ETA - vet is unable to email the lab results to me (can't get it to work), but is sending me a copy in the mail. Will complete the lab spreadsheet when I get them early next week.
 
Having an infection is not an explanation for the size of dose that Gizmo is on. My vet was the same, wanted to run all the tests under the sun, except what I wanted. She said we had to get up to 10 units first. Never did, maxed out at 8.75 and positive for both. I had to ask my vet to humour me. In the mean time, I paid for a lot of other tests that came back negative. :rolleyes:
:banghead:
 
Gave shot. Going to get +1 and +2. We keep getting these lowest PM reading a lot lately!

At what number should I stall, skip shot, or give reduced dose? I'm not sure since I am using an alphatrak meter.
 
You have enough data and that was a shootable number. Like you said, get a +1 and if the number is the same or lower then it could be an active cycle.

Really nice cycle! But since Gizmo isn't use to being in all those blues, he will probably bounce and then you'll be really glad you shot and didn't lose momentum. If he were to be the same at +1 or lower, give a little food to steer. Depending on the number will depend on whether it is LC or MC food. Post if you need help.
 
You have enough data and that was a shootable number. Like you said, get a +1 and if the number is the same or lower then it could be an active cycle.

Really nice cycle! But since Gizmo isn't use to being in all those blues, he will probably bounce and then you'll be really glad you shot and didn't lose momentum. If he were to be the same at +1 or lower, give a little food to steer. Depending on the number will depend on whether it is LC or MC food. Post if you need help.
Thank you. I will post his +1 number in 30 minutes. I keep waiting for the bounce, but so far it has been amazing.
 
Gave shot. Going to get +1 and +2. We keep getting these lowest PM reading a lot lately!

At what number should I stall, skip shot, or give reduced dose? I'm not sure since I am using an alphatrak meter.
With the Alpha track you are not going to want to shoot anything under a 68. If lower than that, stall without feeding and post for help.
 
Well, there's the bounce but oh, what a nice ride while it happened!

Get a before you go to bed test just for the sake of more data.

Nice cycle today. Try not to be discouraged with this much expected bounce. The more he gets use to being in better number, the less he'll bounce.
 
Well, there's the bounce but oh, what a nice ride while it happened!

Get a before you go to bed test just for the sake of more data.

Nice cycle today. Try not to be discouraged with this much expected bounce. The more he gets use to being in better number, the less he'll bounce.
I was holding out hope that this higher number might just be the food. Although I know that is very unlikely ... just hate to give up the nice stretch of blues. Hope the bounce doesn't last to long!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top