Susan G & Jimmy G
Member Since 2017
Is anyone available to give me a run down of how, when, etc to adjusted Novolin R for Jimmy today? I just picked it up and would like to get started. TIA.
Thanks...it is up to date.Let's see if @Sandy and Black Kitty or @Wendy&Neko or @julie & punkin (ga) are around to help you with the R dosing. Can you update your spreadsheet while you are waiting?
Are this weeks numbers not showing up?? I tested a +4 just this morning.Hi there
Please update the ss with this past weeks data so we know where Jimmy stands BG and dose wise.
I'm busy today but will check in later this afternoon and provide you with important information you need to know before you start adding R to the picture.
Hang in there![]()
Thank you! I appreciate your help and your time!!
I'm busy today but will check in later this afternoon and provide you with important information you need to know before you start adding R to the picture.
Hang in there![]()

August 23rd is the last date showing up.Are this weeks numbers not showing up?? I tested a +4 just this morning.
Thanks! Just corrected it. I mostly use my phone - and somehow I manage to screw up the dates each month. *sigh* I must feel as if I'm in a time warp! lolYour dates are off. Looks like the error started on 7/22...
Thanks Wendy. Will do. We are EST (Boston). Preshot is at 5-5:15. His onset is typically +3 and his nadir between +5 and +7.First off, what time zone are you in and when is preshot time? We like to have someone "sit" with you the first couple of times. Usually we start with dosing 0.25 units of R, so go ahead and practice getting 0.25 units consistently with coloured liquid and a used syringe.
When we start out with R, we test hourly for at least four hours after the shot. Typical R onset is +2 and lasts until+4. Of course Neko never liked to be typical about anything.You never want the R nadir and the L nadir to be at the same time. What is Jimmy's onset and nadir with Lantus? You want to know the L action really well as you layer the R action on top. You never want the R to drop things more than 100 points as you can set up a bounce from that. And sometimes you'll see more action the cycle after using R, so you have to be able to monitor the following cycle too. Knowing whether he was IAA or not would be helpful, as the antibodies can play games with the R insulin too. That's it for now.
Yes. EST I know it's early - should I look for a certain number tomorrow morning? Anything above 300 or 350? To use the R?Hi there
The IAA results will be good to know as IAA has it's own quirks to add to the mix. I recommend that you stick with 13u Lantus while you do your first trial as increasing will just add another moving part to the picture. Like Wendy said, you will want to start your first trial at preshot time and test every hour for at least 4 hours. The idea is to arrive at Lantus onset with a lower number, so that the Lantus has an easier time for the balance of the cycle. Then you evaluate and proceed from there with further trials. It takes time and patience; luckily you have the luxury of not being in a crisis situation.
Please note - when you are drawing and shooting 2 different insulins at once you must be fully present in the moment. Extreme care must be taken so that you don't fall into 'autopilot' mode. No multitasking. The last thing you want to do is get twisted around and later realize you shot 13u R and .25u Lantus instead of the other way around. It has happened more than once in the years I've been here. Develop a cross-check system of some sort before you shoot.
As always have plenty of supplies for testing and guiding numbers up on hand.
So, you shoot at 5:00-515 am/pm eastern?




Lol. I hope you'll be sound asleep too!! I'll be OK. I have the R in the vial as well and the Lantus in the pen. My husband usually is up with me...so I'll have someone to talk it through with. He seemed to perk up tonight...was playing and seemed more alert. I tested him and he is at 264. Very good for him at this hour. This is going to be a long road...grateful for all your support.I am on the west coast. I hope to be sound asleep at your AMPS. Let's see if Sandy will be up. Anything above 300 should be OK for the experiment.
I had Lev in cartridges and R in a vial. The R was in a different part of the fridge well behind the Lev so I had to dig to get it out. I always drew the Lev first (if I was giving it at shot time) and R second.
I stopped asking my vet for dosing advice after about 2.5 units. I just handed her the protocol and periodically gave her the spreadsheet. After a while I stopped that and she would just ask me Neko's dose when I saw her.
Thank you!! Thank you!! I hope this does help him out.Susan, just wanted to stop in and say good luck with the R. It really helped Bubba a lot and with out Jill et al., helping me, I couldn't have done it. We will all be looking in with much cheering for you and Jimmy.![]()


BKs vet (#3) looked at my ss, saw that I was shooting 13u Lantus with anywhere from 1-5u R every 6 hours and and flipped out. She threatened to not renew his Lantus rx. Fortunately his rx lasted long enough for the IAA to break. By that time she figured out I knew my cat and what I was doing.I'm trying to stay confident. I'm not working with a vet on trying to manage his diabetes. I've talked with three different ones....I'd still be at 2 u twice a day if I were. Plus none of them believed 6.5 was a high dose when I asked about the Acro/IAA tests. Sooo...![]()