Sorry, I don't understand what it means.+6.75 = 172 / 444 / 421
DO you have anything to trick him to eat? Parmesan cheese? Maybe a different flavor will do the trick?Gizmo is refusing to eat his +6. This is not like him at all.
On the human meter?the 172 shocked me.
I could try that, but with him eating the dog food last night. I'm worried his stomach may be very upset and not sure if I should try to get him to eat now or not. He did eat 1/2 can (5.5oz) this morning.DO you have anything to trick him to eat? Parmesan cheese? Maybe a different flavor will do the trick?
I use alphatrak 2 meter. Just saw you edited. I wasn't worried about the number, just didn't trust it because he was in the 300s an hour before that.On the human meter?
If so the number is safe.
ETA: just saw you are using pet specific meter, sorry.
Was the 172 its human numbers equivalent?
Sounds like good size brekkie to me. Mine eats about that much in the entire cycle.He did eat 1/2 can (5.5oz) this morning.
Just that he wasn't eating at his usual food time. Plus with everything else that is going on today. I don't even think the 172 is accurate. I tested 2 more times within 5 minutes and both numbers were in the 400s.Sounds like good size brekkie to me. Mine eats about that much in the entire cycle.
Were you worrying about Gismo not eating @+6 because it is his usual feeding time, or because you wanted to feed the lower number?
I am clear about that.
The number doesn't required extra food.
If you worrying in general as to the change in eating habit - I'd try another flavor. Sometimes they grow tired of the same old, same old and offering something different might help. I understand you are under stress right now observing the hind leg issue + not eating...
I see..Just that he wasn't eating at his usual food time. Plus with everything else that is going on today. I don't even think the 172 is accurate. I tested 2 more times within 5 minutes and both numbers were in the 400s.
I will try the Parmesan cheese in a little bit. It is warmer here today - mid 80s, but we always run our AC. So the house is always a content temp. I think he just doesn't feel well because of eating the dog food, but he ate breakfast this morning so who knows.I see..
Keep offering foods to make up for the calories for the day. You have time before the pre-shot when you really need him to eat.
Is it hot where you at today? My cat doesn't eat well when we are above 90F.
Sprinkling Parmesan on his pate might trick him to eat.
I really think it is a bit early to worry about the pre-shot. See how the cycle goes, offer foods - but let the 2 hours to pre-shot be fasting ones.I'm worried about PM shot. If he doesn't eat, I shouldn't give insulin
Dog food - if dry will linger in his system for a while, if dry and HC- then up to several cycles.
What sweet, sweet boy he is!At least when I checked on him a few minutes ago, he started purring. I think he knows mom is kinda freaking out.
Yep, defiantly what was happening! LolWhat sweet, sweet boy he is!
Easier said than done - but please do not freak out, not yet. If you are anyone like me then perhaps you letting your worse case scenario imaginings to cloud your view.. Don't.
Thanks!
He did get up and went to the litter box. TMI ... 2 really big piles of diarrhea. Then back to rest. I called his vet. They confirmed that it is probably just the dog food. Said I could give half dose of insulin even if he isn't eating that much. And will be on call tomorrow if I need them. So I am feeling much better about the situation now. I still feel terrible that I left the dog food bag out, but nothing I can do about that now. Just have to focus on getting Gizmo better.
OK Lucky charms had me giggling.Believe me, I know how it feels when your cat eats some contraband. My Osha is famous for eating food that she shouldn't. Gizmo will come back down. It usually took a few days after Osha ate things like bread, cheetos or lucky charms to get out of her system. I don't know with the dog food how long it will take. Hang in there!!!
Is it about the next test? What is it?Update: Gizmo got into dog food last night, not sure how much he ate.
AMPS = 511 and 431 (ate normal breakfast - 2.75oz)
+5 = 310 (difficulty jumping off chair)
+6 - refusal to eat snack
+6.75 = 172 (1st test); 444 (2nd test); 421 (3rd test) - I didn't believe the first test and then wanted to make sure.
+8 - 2 poops back to back (diarrhea)
+7.5 - drank water for 6-7 minutes straight
Called vet after diarrhea. Said to give half dose of insulin tonight if still not eating. Hoping he will eat in 30 minutes, so I can give full dose of insulin. Advice?
I've never had a problem with him refusing food before. So I have never tried baby food. I have never tried syringe feeding either. I think I am to scared to shoot th full dose not knowing if I can get him to eat.Hi. Does he have a favorite food, baby food maybe should he drop too much. Looking at yours I doubt you need to worry about that though. With these numbers I'd hate for you to skip. Can you syringe feed if necessary?
Perhaps then you can take the 911 sign down when you feel comfortable ?So I think I am just going to shoot half of his dose and pray that it doesn't screw him up to much and that he is eating by tomorrow morning.
No other health issues. No vomiting. Just diarrhea. I am 30 minutes past normal shot time. Just gave him 2.75 units (half his dose).Does he have any health issues other than diabetes? Has he vomited? Does he appear to be nauseous? Have far from shot time are you?
I tried to finger feed him .. it didn't work. I do have syringes (not specifically for pets) in my hypo kit. I will try to pick up baby food tomorrow (not sure if anywhere is open on the fourth). If not I will definitely get some wed morning.I'd test in an hour as the depot is in play. I don't expect a big drop though but he's a cat after all. I hope he gets hungry but for now small amounts often is a good idea. He knows that instinctively. If he's not eating you might want to get a few jars of baby food just in case. You can try finger feeding or pick up a few syringes at the pet store. Mine have always liked Gerbers 2nds. They are all meat, no garlic or onion.
Wow. I will continue to keep a close eye on him. I would just feel so much better if he was eating.Here's hoping for a quiet night. Neko once got into bread starter,msoared to black for the AM, and hit green that night.She did get diarrhea from the wheat. Might want to check the ingredients in the dog food.
Here's hoping for a quiet night. Neko once got into bread starter,msoared to black for the AM, and hit green that night.She did get diarrhea from the wheat. Might want to check the ingredients in the dog food.