7-3 Gizmo AMPS=511/431; +5=310; +6.75=444/421; PMPS=377; +2=409

Status
Not open for further replies.
PMPS = 286
+2 = 338

AMPS = 511 / 431

I retested because I was shocked. Then I thought wow ... guess I shouldn't have slept all night ... wonder how low he went to cause the bounce. Then I briefly thought maybe a fur shot, but I really didn't think so. A few minutes later I found a chewed up piece of a dog food bag on the table. Sure enough he had chewed open the dog food bag. It had arrived a few days earlier but I never got around to opening the box. When I did last night, I realized the bag was cut open in several places. So I left the bag inside the box on the table to return. I never even gave it a thought that he would get into the box for the food. I should have known. I feel terrible. I am so mad. He was just starting to show some good progress and then this! :banghead: How long will it take for the dog food to get out of his system? Then to make matters worse, I smelled insulin after his shot this morning. It didn't seem like it would have even been possible to be a fur shot. So I am praying it wasn't.
 
:bighug::bighug:Believe me, I know how it feels when your cat eats some contraband. My Osha is famous for eating food that she shouldn't. Gizmo will come back down. It usually took a few days after Osha ate things like bread, cheetos or lucky charms to get out of her system. I don't know with the dog food how long it will take. Hang in there!!!
 
+5 = 310 (Negative ketones)

Noticeable weakness in back legs. I thought he was walking different today, but wasn't sure. He always jumps up on a kitchen chair to get tested. When he jumped back down, I didn't see what happened, but he landed with a bang. Any thoughts as to what is going on?
 
I tested 3 different times because of the 172 shocked me. Then I wasn't sure which was correct when I got 444. So I tried again to see.
 
DO you have anything to trick him to eat? Parmesan cheese? Maybe a different flavor will do the trick?
I could try that, but with him eating the dog food last night. I'm worried his stomach may be very upset and not sure if I should try to get him to eat now or not. He did eat 1/2 can (5.5oz) this morning.
 
He did eat 1/2 can (5.5oz) this morning.
Sounds like good size brekkie to me. Mine eats about that much in the entire cycle.
Were you worrying about Gismo not eating @+6 because it is his usual feeding time, or because you wanted to feed the lower number?
I am clear about that.
The number doesn't required extra food.
If you worrying in general as to the change in eating habit - I'd try another flavor. Sometimes they grow tired of the same old, same old and offering something different might help. I understand you are under stress right now observing the hind leg issue + not eating...
 
Sounds like good size brekkie to me. Mine eats about that much in the entire cycle.
Were you worrying about Gismo not eating @+6 because it is his usual feeding time, or because you wanted to feed the lower number?
I am clear about that.
The number doesn't required extra food.
If you worrying in general as to the change in eating habit - I'd try another flavor. Sometimes they grow tired of the same old, same old and offering something different might help. I understand you are under stress right now observing the hind leg issue + not eating...
Just that he wasn't eating at his usual food time. Plus with everything else that is going on today. I don't even think the 172 is accurate. I tested 2 more times within 5 minutes and both numbers were in the 400s.
 
Just that he wasn't eating at his usual food time. Plus with everything else that is going on today. I don't even think the 172 is accurate. I tested 2 more times within 5 minutes and both numbers were in the 400s.
I see..
Keep offering foods to make up for the calories for the day. You have time before the pre-shot when you really need him to eat.
Is it hot where you at today? My cat doesn't eat well when we are above 90F.
Sprinkling Parmesan on his pate might trick him to eat.
 
I see..
Keep offering foods to make up for the calories for the day. You have time before the pre-shot when you really need him to eat.
Is it hot where you at today? My cat doesn't eat well when we are above 90F.
Sprinkling Parmesan on his pate might trick him to eat.
I will try the Parmesan cheese in a little bit. It is warmer here today - mid 80s, but we always run our AC. So the house is always a content temp. I think he just doesn't feel well because of eating the dog food, but he ate breakfast this morning so who knows.

I'm worried about PM shot. If he doesn't eat, I shouldn't give insulin ... but he desperately needs the insulin right now with his numbers so high. How much food does he need to eat to be safe for his shot?
 
I'm worried about PM shot. If he doesn't eat, I shouldn't give insulin
I really think it is a bit early to worry about the pre-shot. See how the cycle goes, offer foods - but let the 2 hours to pre-shot be fasting ones.
Post for DOSAGE ADVISE @PMPS if he doesn't need. I doubt that there is any specific amount of food that has to be eaten prior to the injection. ECID. The main thing is that he will eat.

Dog food - if dry will linger in his system for a while, if dry and HC- then up to several cycles. That's might be the reason for not eating now. If so, then the objective is to keep him willing to eat at preshot - offer his reg amount, let him eat as much as he wants, post for advice on dose and keep in mind that Lantus gives you another hour and a half - two hours to fill his belly up before the onset. No need to eat it all at once even thou it his habit. His under special circumstance after the contraband meal.
 
Dog food - if dry will linger in his system for a while, if dry and HC- then up to several cycles.

I don't think my my nerves can take several cycles of this.:( At least when I checked on him a few minutes ago, he started purring. I think he knows mom is kinda freaking out.
 
At least when I checked on him a few minutes ago, he started purring. I think he knows mom is kinda freaking out.
What sweet, sweet boy he is!
Easier said than done - but please do not freak out, not yet. If you are anyone like me then perhaps you letting your worse case scenario imaginings to cloud your view.. Don't. You know well by now how many adverse situations ppl of this Board overcome, right? And so will you. :bighug: With their help and prayers and good wishes (which I send right now by tons your way, guys).
 
What sweet, sweet boy he is!
Easier said than done - but please do not freak out, not yet. If you are anyone like me then perhaps you letting your worse case scenario imaginings to cloud your view.. Don't.
Yep, defiantly what was happening! Lol

Thanks!

He did get up and went to the litter box. TMI ... 2 really big piles of diarrhea. Then back to rest. I called his vet. They confirmed that it is probably just the dog food. Said I could give half dose of insulin even if he isn't eating that much. And will be on call tomorrow if I need them. So I am feeling much better about the situation now. I still feel terrible that I left the dog food bag out, but nothing I can do about that now. Just have to focus on getting Gizmo better.
 
Thank you for that good update!

You said: "Said I could give half dose of insulin even if he isn't eating that much." I think let's keep watch as to how he behaves/eats and perhaps you can keep the current dose (only if you wish to, of course!).

You said: "I still feel terrible that I left the dog food bag out, but nothing I can do about that now."
I read so many many condos about illegal pantry raids, dog's food heists, other contraband - it is common.. Don't feel bad, truly.
Good to hear your vet is on board, but post on this Board, too :)
We tend to start worrying if we hear no updates...
 
:bighug::bighug:Believe me, I know how it feels when your cat eats some contraband. My Osha is famous for eating food that she shouldn't. Gizmo will come back down. It usually took a few days after Osha ate things like bread, cheetos or lucky charms to get out of her system. I don't know with the dog food how long it will take. Hang in there!!!
OK Lucky charms had me giggling.
 
I am hoping that he will feel like eating and I can give the full dose of insulin. He was just starting to make really good progress, so I really don't want to give a half dose. But I have to keep him safe. I will definitely post for advice about his PM shot and will update on his eating. About 3 hours till shot.
 
Still not eating. Shot time in a little more than 1 hour. I took a bowl of water back to where he is laying. He just drank for 6-7 minutes.

ETA - not sure about PM shot. Hoping he will eat so I can give full dose. If not vet said to give half dose.
 
Last edited:
can you re-phrase and raise the red 911 flag as to dosage?

Take it down once strategy is figured out.

Hold the shop up to 30 min=no consequence.
 
Update: Gizmo got into dog food last night, not sure how much he ate.
AMPS = 511 and 431 (ate normal breakfast - 2.75oz)
+5 = 310 (difficulty jumping off chair)
+6 - refusal to eat snack
+6.75 = 172 (1st test); 444 (2nd test); 421 (3rd test) - I didn't believe the first test and then wanted to make sure.
+8 - 2 poops back to back (diarrhea)
+7.5 - drank water for 6-7 minutes straight

Called vet after diarrhea. Said to give half dose of insulin tonight if still not eating. Hoping he will eat in 30 minutes, so I can give full dose of insulin. Advice?
 
Update: Gizmo got into dog food last night, not sure how much he ate.
AMPS = 511 and 431 (ate normal breakfast - 2.75oz)
+5 = 310 (difficulty jumping off chair)
+6 - refusal to eat snack
+6.75 = 172 (1st test); 444 (2nd test); 421 (3rd test) - I didn't believe the first test and then wanted to make sure.
+8 - 2 poops back to back (diarrhea)
+7.5 - drank water for 6-7 minutes straight

Called vet after diarrhea. Said to give half dose of insulin tonight if still not eating. Hoping he will eat in 30 minutes, so I can give full dose of insulin. Advice?
Is it about the next test? What is it?
I guess no one is online...
 
He ate about half of what I gave him. About 0.7 oz. he usually eats 2.75 oz at shots. Normally I would say I would have no problem getting him to eat, but to day I honestly don't know. I keep giving it back to him and he nibbles a little more.
 
I see...
OK, you have several options - stall without feeding by 30 increments and see where is he going - up or down and then decide on dosage;
shoot a reduced dose, shoot a full dose - in case you have supplies, want/able to monitor. It's your call.

With his high numbers I'd be hesitant to skip - if it were my cat.

He will need to eat more down the road - if you are not sure he will eat, it's another story.
 
Hi. Does he have a favorite food, baby food maybe should he drop too much. Looking at yours I doubt you need to worry about that though. With these numbers I'd hate for you to skip. Can you syringe feed if necessary?
 
I desperately want to shoot the full dose, but I'm afraid that he won't eat if need be. So I think I am just going to shoot half of his dose and pray that it doesn't screw him up to much and that he is eating by tomorrow morning. Thanks for all of your help today. It has been beyond nerve wracking for me.
 
Hi. Does he have a favorite food, baby food maybe should he drop too much. Looking at yours I doubt you need to worry about that though. With these numbers I'd hate for you to skip. Can you syringe feed if necessary?
I've never had a problem with him refusing food before. So I have never tried baby food. I have never tried syringe feeding either. I think I am to scared to shoot th full dose not knowing if I can get him to eat.
 
Does he have any health issues other than diabetes? Has he vomited? Does he appear to be nauseous? Have far from shot time are you?
 
Does he have any health issues other than diabetes? Has he vomited? Does he appear to be nauseous? Have far from shot time are you?
No other health issues. No vomiting. Just diarrhea. I am 30 minutes past normal shot time. Just gave him 2.75 units (half his dose).
 
I'd test in an hour as the depot is in play. I don't expect a big drop though but he's a cat after all. I hope he gets hungry but for now small amounts often is a good idea. He knows that instinctively. If he's not eating you might want to get a few jars of baby food just in case. You can try finger feeding or pick up a few syringes at the pet store. Mine have always liked Gerbers 2nds. They are all meat, no garlic or onion.
 
I'd test in an hour as the depot is in play. I don't expect a big drop though but he's a cat after all. I hope he gets hungry but for now small amounts often is a good idea. He knows that instinctively. If he's not eating you might want to get a few jars of baby food just in case. You can try finger feeding or pick up a few syringes at the pet store. Mine have always liked Gerbers 2nds. They are all meat, no garlic or onion.
I tried to finger feed him .. it didn't work. I do have syringes (not specifically for pets) in my hypo kit. I will try to pick up baby food tomorrow (not sure if anywhere is open on the fourth). If not I will definitely get some wed morning.

I will also continue to feed him in small amounts throughout the night. I have a feeling I'm not going to be asleep much anyways.
 
Here's hoping for a quiet night. Neko once got into bread starter,msoared to black for the AM, and hit green that night. :rolleyes: She did get diarrhea from the wheat. Might want to check the ingredients in the dog food.
 
Here's hoping for a quiet night. Neko once got into bread starter,msoared to black for the AM, and hit green that night. :rolleyes: She did get diarrhea from the wheat. Might want to check the ingredients in the dog food.
Wow. I will continue to keep a close eye on him. I would just feel so much better if he was eating.
 
Here's hoping for a quiet night. Neko once got into bread starter,msoared to black for the AM, and hit green that night. :rolleyes: She did get diarrhea from the wheat. Might want to check the ingredients in the dog food.

Here are the ingredients in the dog food.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0203.JPG
    IMG_0203.JPG
    21.2 KB · Views: 61
Hope Gizmo starts to eat for you. Bubba usually will always eat baby food when he is off his feed from a GI issues. I always have a few jars of it on hand just in case and then use it up before it expires. I like Beechnut because there is no corn starch in it and corn is carbs. But, I would get a few jars of each Gerbers and Beechnut and getting him to eat is all that matters.

Most grocery stores are opened on the 4th.
 
Checked on him around +1.5 to find that he finished the food I was trying to get him to eat at PMPS. :)
Woke him up at +2 for a test. He was 409. Not thrilled about that, but he left the closet and went out to the kitchen on his own. He peed ... no diarrhea so far! Then he ASKED for food as I was filling up their autofeeders. He ate another 1/8 of a can (less than an ounce, but he's eating!). So since PMPS, I have gotten almost half of a 5.5 ounce can of food in him. I think things are getting better here ... thank goodness. I really want to be able to give him his full dose of insulin tomorrow morning. Should I start the cycle count over with this dose now? Not sure how that works since I only shot half a dose tonight.

Thank you to everyone who offered support, kinds words of encouragement, thoughts and prayers! They are very much appreciated. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top