7/3 TUXIE AMPS-284; +2-295; +4-112; +5-79; +6-121; PMPS 155; +2-110 ; +3-68 ; +4-56 Reduction earned

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
ALPHA TRAK 2 PET METER READS HIGHER THAN HUMAN METER

Yesterday:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-326-3-427-6-356-bounce-as-expected.140352/

RECAP:

AMPS -482; +3-369; +4-291; +7-160; +10- 266;
PMPS -326; +3-427; +6-356 +7-365

Tuxie had his big bounce yesterday after 1 1/2 of good numbers. He looked like he was trying to break the bounce in the morning, but still ended up high and flat. This morning's PS was in a better range...unless it was a bad reading. I was sooooo tired this morning (tested and shot him with only one eye half open :blackeye:) and didn't think of doing a second test until after I had fed him already. With any luck the number is correct and maybe Tuxie will stop playing on the trampoline today.
 
It looks like Tuxie has decided to quit playing with the trampoline and is now deciding whether diving looks like more fun. He has dropped 183 points from +2 to +4 so this could be an active cycle.

Gave a few drops of syrup with reg food to slow down the drop and try to prevent another big bounce.
 
Tuxie seems determined to keep me dancing around in circles. His +5 is down again even with syrup at +4. Gave tsp reg food, tsp MC food and a few more drops of syrup. All this dropping will for sure cause him to bounce again.
 
+6 and Tuxie has levelled out. Gave a tsp reg food and bone broth. Since he seems to have slowed down, I think it is time for a nap! :)
 
Tuxie had a good PMPS so I gave him him shot. Tuxie unfortunately decided to head butt the hand that was doing the shot and when I finished the shot there was a drop of blood and what seemed to be a drop of insulin that came out. I hope this does not throw off his decent run today :(
 
With him being at a fairly large dose, hopefully one little drop won't be a big deal for just one cycle. Fingers crossed!


I hope so. This is the first time in over 7 months that this has happened, so I was "WTH". I have never had a drop of blood after doing an injection.

Fingers crossed that this does not affect his nice recovery from the bounce and the acceptable numbers he has been having today. :eek:
 
Sometimes you can nick a capillary with the syringe. He should be OK. Paws crossed you'll see a nice surf tonight.

Thanks Wendy..I think I was less worried about the drop of blood than the drop of insulin that seeped out. Tuxie on the other hand could not have cared less...he still got his snacky after the shot so he was happy. Unfortunately Tuxie likes to head butt at test and shot time, but this time he did a good one.
 
In spite of the "off" shot this evening Tuxie is already showing signs of dropping at +2. He even had a snack of wild boar and tuna at +1. Hoping that Tuxie may actually earn a reduction...5.50 units is so much easier to measure than 5.75 units. :D

Gave tsp reg and tsp MC
 
I've had that happen before, and it looked like blood mixed with insulin (more clear than blood). It was probably more blood than insulin in my case, our brains have a funny way of making blood appear more significant or larger than it really is. You could use a syringe and push out a similar sized "bubble" of liquid to see how much it compares to if you are curious.
 
I've had that happen before, and it looked like blood mixed with insulin (more clear than blood). It was probably more blood than insulin in my case, our brains have a funny way of making blood appear more significant or larger than it really is. You could use a syringe and push out a similar sized "bubble" of liquid to see how much it compares to if you are curious.


I would guesstimate at about 1 drop blood and 1 drop insulin right after. I blotted the blood drop then there was an insulin drop right after. Tuxie's +2 is dropping so hopefully this will not affect his numbers tonight.
 
In spite of the off shot at PM Tuxie is still doing a dive tonight. At +3 he is 68 which for AT2 meter is an earned reduction. Considering how much I have had to syrup/food him up today to keep his numbers from falling too much I think I should take the reduction in the morning??

I wonder if I hit a muscle when I shot him tonite????? That might explain how quickly he is reacting to the insulin??

Gave 1 tsp MC and few drops of syrup
 
Last edited:
If he doesn't go below 68, I wouldn't reduce. I think the protocol says to decrease if the cat goes below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. In general, the idea is to get as much insulin in a cat that one safely can. That's one way to help the cycles flatten out. If he were mine, I'd hold the 5.75u. He's looking so much better with less bouncing that I would want that to continue.
 
If he doesn't go below 68, I wouldn't reduce. I think the protocol says to decrease if the cat goes below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. In general, the idea is to get as much insulin in a cat that one safely can. That's one way to help the cycles flatten out. If he were mine, I'd hold the 5.75u. He's looking so much better with less bouncing that I would want that to continue.


OK Thanks for the advice. It is still early in his cycle and I really don't want him to drop much more. If I have to sugar and carb him to keep him surfing, then I will revisit lowering the dose. If a bit a syrup and higher carbs gets him up then I will hold the dose. Considering that the PM dose was potentially not a full dose, does this make sense??
 
absolutely makes sense. You might try low carb first, because if low carb will keep him over the reduction point there's no need to pull out the big guns.


I give a spot of LC every time I test..maybe just a small taste but that is my usual "treat". Tuxie also had boar and tuna at +1 even though I didn't test then. There was no way I could eat the boar without giving him a taste unless I went outside. So he has already had LC food at shot time and +1 and +2, then MC and syrup at +3. I find I do better with a titch of syrup and some reg food if he is not dropping too much. Otherwise I do a titch of MC (about 8%) and a few drops of syrup.
 
OK..+4 is 56 ( on AT2 meter) after MC with few drops of syrup in food at +3. Gave 1/2 tsp reg food 1/2 tsp MC and 3 drops of syrup in food. I think Tuxie really wants that reduction!!! :smuggrin:
 
That is definitely a reduction! Tuxie, you don't have to compete with Shiloh! Really!


This has just thrown me especially after the "messed up" PM shot. Tuxie better not try to catch up with Shiloh. I will be in a white straight=-jacket if he tries to go that fast.
 
+5 and holding at 68 which is the dose reduction for AT2 meter.

On the other side I feel so bad for posting my Tuxie's "progress" when there are others out there who have lost their beloved furkids today. RIP Marshmellow and Tigger..you were so much loved and cared for. Hugs to both sets of parents. Remember that your love and care is what gave your furkids some quality of life up until now. Nothing can ease the pain, but know that you did all that was possible and gave that extra bit of quality time for your beloved furkids. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top