? 7/4 Michael amps 96 +4.25 51 +9 79 pmps 101 +2 83 Chin Acne Sore on chin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...low-with-a-new-reduction.140410/#post-1448882
Good Morning & Happy 4th!:coffee::coffee:
Day 41 of good #'s. Nice:)
Michael has a sore under his chin. The vet said it is chin acne. I put perixode on for 2 wks bid (as per her instructions)and it formed a black scab. The scab came off. Now it is bigger and looks raw. (although it doesn't seem to bother him .sometimes he scratches it) I dabbed it with a little cotton ball with a little bit of water. There was a little bit of blood. I have a vet appt on Fri 7/10/15
What can I put on this so it can start to heal? I'm worried it might be skin cancer. Has anyone had this problem?
Appreciate thoughts.
Thanks a bunch!
Yo, All,
Dipping in the lagoon (amps 96):D
 
Last edited:
I doubt that it's cancer. The scab may have come off prematurely due to Michael's scratching. If you have a zit, sometimes the area around it is red and oozy until it fully heals. Just keep an eye on it and make sure he doesn't get it infected.

Also, if you are using plastic bowls, you may want to switch them out to ceramic or stainless steel.
 
My first kitty got those a lot later in life. They are entirely benign. The vet I saw at the time would put her on Baytril and a short 5-10 days of prednisolone but I learned later that there are other ways to treat it. I can't remember how though. If you use plastic dishes stop because that can cause it.
 
When Mikey was being shown, he had a problem with chin acne. One of the judges suggested using witch hazel on it. It seemed to help. The other thing is to not only use bowls that are not plastic, but to run the through the dishwasher daily.

We've had several cats through the years with chin acne, and it's not dangerous at all. It never turns into anything dangerous either. Sure is a pain to deal with, though.
 
Most of what I've seen seems to discourage being too aggressive. Using a warm compress, making sure you clean Michael's chin, peroxide or witch hazel are fine. I didn't see anything that was suggesting a topical antibiotic. If the area gets infected, that may be a different issue. Keep an eye out though since peroxide can be drying.

 
you just have to be careful that you don't leave anything on that they might lick ( paw transfer)
if you have something like the stridex pads, that can help.....
i like witch hazel....

but I also have a clindamyacin topical for my own occasional breakouts, it's a liquid much like the stridex stuff that evaporates off quickly. The clindamyacin works like a charm.

Shadow developed this problem with her auto feeder.... ( plastic trays)
I found glass dishes that fit and medicated the problem and it went away.
It can also be because of them dragging their chin in the food.....
 
you just have to be careful that you don't leave anything on that they might lick ( paw transfer)
if you have something like the stridex pads, that can help.....
i like witch hazel....

but I also have a clindamyacin topical for my own occasional breakouts, it's a liquid much like the stridex stuff that evaporates off quickly. The clindamyacin works like a charm.

Shadow developed this problem with her auto feeder.... ( plastic trays)
I found glass dishes that fit and medicated the problem and it went away.
It can also be because of them dragging their chin in the food.....
Thanks, Rhiannon
Where did you find glass dishes that fit into an auto feeder? What kind of auto feeder do you have?
 
I think I'm dipping a little to much in the Lagoon. (amps 96 +4.25 51):D Trying to be careful:D
 
Up a bit, Michael. Please.

My Patch had chin acne outbreaks on occasion. I'd dab with peroxide or witch hazel. Then I started cleaning his chin after he ate. Toothless so he'd mash his chin on the plate to get at the food. Getting those post meal dribbles off his chin seemed to help.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Tons of good info here. Sasha has had chin acne all her life, but it doesn't seem to bother her at all.

Michael, you appear to be on a mission. You go, buddy! :D:D:D
Thanks, Tricia
Michael's acne looks red & awful. but doesn't seem to bother him. Hope it starts looking better soon.
I have to pill M bid for his hyperT and sometimes he won't eat the pill pocket, so have to manually give it to him. I hope I haven't irritated the acne.
 
Looks like a good cycle for michael, i would have gotten another test after the 51 @+4.25 with still almost 2 hrs of insulin power left, he may have dipped below 50 and earned a reduction, just a thought for next time he is that close to 50
QUOTE="Paula, post: 1449033, member: 10488"]I think I'm dipping a little to much in the Lagoon. (amps 96 +4.25 51):D Trying to be careful:D[/QUOTE]
 
The vet should be able to give you Pyoben for the bad sore. Chin acne can get pretty ugly sores sometimes. That is what I have gotten when one of our cats have gotten the big ugly sore. It for treating deep sores/infections so it will treat the sore and its acne source.
 
Still at the lagoon. A little closer to shore in my green suit (amps 96 +4.25 51 +9 79):D
 
You may have tried this already. My GA civvie Emmy would take her methimazole for hyper-T dissolved in a bit of canned food. It was nice because I didn't have to wrestle her or use a pill shooter, and since it was wet, no issues with pill esophagitis (when the pill sticks in the throat and causes irritation).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top