? 7/6 Purrdy AMPS 227 +3 171 PMPS 155 +3 65 +4 41 +4.5 65 +5.25 83 +6 77 - REDUCE AGAIN???

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Recap
AMPS 140 +3 94 :D +6 88 :D
PMPS 139 +2.5 122 +4 121

This is the 4th cycle since Purrdy's last reduction and with that drop at +3 I'm expecting that he'll probably drop under 50 again this cycle.

I am wondering if I should reduce again if he does? I'm happy not to, I thought it was 6 cycles I should wait (unless under 40 etc), but I read somewhere here yesterday someone saying it was 3 cycles after a reduction that it wasn't recommended to reduce again.

I'm also wondering if that yellow he threw me this morning is an indicator that I should reduce if he goes under 50. Sounds odd you say - if you look back to just before he came over on 6/20 he had started throwing up quite a few yellows and even his first pink (very odd for him). Then he got two heavily reduced doses for travel and bang started earning reductions, Other than tonight he's only had one yellow for me and that was a couple of cycles before he earned a reduction too.

On the other hand, generally I'd want to see a kitty a lot more green before taking close reductions, on the other other hand at 5 units I guess he's still considered high dose - should that be taken into account too? As you can see I'm a little unsure about the best thing to do!

I don't want to chance ruining his run by rushing reductions, I know I can always go back up but he's only here for a limited time and Mum would not be able to cope with the last few weeks without skipping so if, per chance, anti jinx etc, he is having a try for remission I don't have time to mess around. I only want to take it if people consider that it's the right thing to do in his circumstances :confused:
 
Well, what is the worst that could happen if you take another reduction?
- You might need to raise it again.
What is the worst that could happen if you don't take the reduction?
- He could go low and you'd need to intervene with extra testing and feeding to keep his glucose at safe levels.

What is going to be least stressful for both you?
 
Neither of us mind extra testing - he is very food driven ;) Also since he has to camp out in the laundry while he's staying here he loves the extra opportunities to come out - I test him in another room. I just don't want to be silly about not giving it to him if people think that he does need it.
 
Here is what the protocol says about reductions:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
The way I am reading this, it sounds you could either shave the dose or wait for one more drop below 50 since it is so close to the reduction you just took. Since you are able to test so much it won't hurt to wait because you'll catch a low number and be able to keep him safe.
 
Hmmmm with that 41 I was thinking better take it but he seems to have come back up rather easily so now I'm thinking maybe not :confused::confused::confused:

A shave isn't really possible, we don't have half unit marked syringes so that would be too difficult to measure. I guess I'm leaning towards make him do it again, just want to make sure I'm not being too aggressive by doing that.
 
Hi Serryn :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Wow, look at Purrdy go! :D:D:D Hmmmmm on the reduction. It sure seems like he needs it, and I have seen other kitties go down the dosing scale at warp speed. Maybe give it to him, worst case scenario, you'll have to take the dose back up if it doesn't hold. On the the hand, one more day f this dose wouldn't hurt much either, sounds like you can test and feed as need be. Good luck with your decision.

Bummer on the no half marking type syringes. that does make it tough.
 
I wish his spreadsheet would open for me.
I keep getting this message: "Google Docs encountered an error." and I have tried several times.
 
Interesting that he was in CD. So was Max for over ten years. I don't know what I'd do as far as a reduction as Max doesn't hold them well. Good luck with whatever you decide.
 
The depot takes four to six cycles to deplete, so an argument could be made for reduction as this is the fourth cycle, especially with that 41. The other thing to consider is the size of the dose. When kitties are above 5U we suggest .5U increases. The same works on the way down, especially if kitty seems to be in a hurry and holding reductions. I have seen a few kitties, including Neko and Cooper, who seemed to need larger reductions until they got in the 3 to 3.5u neighbourhood.
 
Looks like you decided to take the reduction, that's what I would have done. It looks like Purrdy is making his move! Go Purrdy!

You my hero Purrdster! ~Tiger:cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top