7/7 Cooper AMPS 108, +3 95 AT2 meter comparison with Relion

Status
Not open for further replies.

Millie and Cooper

Member Since 2015
Cooper's last condo

Cooper has been surfing nicely for us the last several days. Hope he keeps it up. The hubby is still off on vaca through tomorrow, so I don't have to worry about him at work...for now. But then there's Thursday and Friday. If he needs another reduction, I hope he lets us know by tomorrow night!

Before I saw Jill's comment on my last condo pointing me to a discussion about the Accucheck Aviva meter, we went and bought a Relion Micro meter at Walmart and have done a few side by side comparisons with out AT2. Holy cow! There is quite a difference. I don't think we can switch to this one just yet, as I think it will just confuse us about when we need to make dose adjustments. Here are the few spot checks:

AT2 / Relion
111 / 63
83 / 48
79 / 44

According to the Relion meter, Cooper might have needed a dose reduction because he fell below 50. But on our AT2 meter, he was perfectly safe.

I think we're going to get an Accucheck as well and do some comparisons with that, since it's supposed to be closer to lab readings.

Have a great day everyone!
 
All meters are different but the AT2 does read higher than the human meters. Here are some examples I did using AT2 and FS Lite on the same drop of blood: Everyone's results can be different but this gives you a bit of an idea of MY own findings with a different meter.


AT2 9.9 FS Lite 6.8
AT2 6.3 FS Lite 4.2
AT2 23.1 FS Lite 16.2
AT2 16.1 FS Lite 11.6
AT2 7.1 FS Lite 4.8
AT2 22.1 FS Lite 13.4
AT2 3.5 FS Lite 2.0
AT2 17.8 FS Lite 12.2
AT2 25.8 FS Lite 18.3
AT2 5.6 FS Lite 3.6
AT2 12.8 FS Lite 8.3
AT2 13.8 FS Lite 9.7
AT2 23.1 FS Lite 15.2
AT2 14.9 FS Lite 10.9
AT2 8.2 FS Lite 5.3
AT2 21.4 FS Lite 15.9
AT2 19.9 FS Lite 14.2
AT2 27.2 FS Lite 18.6
AT2 17.2 FS Lite 10.7
AT2 6.1 FS Lite 4.3
AT2 3.6 FS Lite 2.4


EDITED TO ADD:

Sorry the numbers are in mmol/l since I am in Canada and that is what the meters read.
 
Last edited:
I think we're going to get an Accucheck as well and do some comparisons with that, since it's supposed to be closer to lab readings.


I will be interested to see your results. I am getting a free meter with 10 free strips coming by mail in the next few weeks, so I will also be doing comparisons.
 
All meters are different but the AT2 does read higher than the human meters. Here are some examples I did using AT2 and FS Lite on the same drop of blood: Everyone's results can be different but this gives you a bit of an idea of MY own findings with a different meter.


AT2 9.9 FS Lite 6.8
AT2 6.3 FS Lite 4.2
AT2 23.1 FS Lite 16.2
AT2 16.1 FS Lite 11.6
AT2 7.1 FS Lite 4.8
AT2 22.1 FS Lite 13.4
AT2 3.5 FS Lite 2.0
AT2 17.8 FS Lite 12.2
AT2 25.8 FS Lite 18.3
AT2 5.6 FS Lite 3.6
AT2 12.8 FS Lite 8.3
AT2 13.8 FS Lite 9.7
AT2 23.1 FS Lite 15.2
AT2 14.9 FS Lite 10.9
AT2 8.2 FS Lite 5.3
AT2 21.4 FS Lite 15.9
AT2 19.9 FS Lite 14.2
AT2 27.2 FS Lite 18.6
AT2 17.2 FS Lite 10.7
AT2 6.1 FS Lite 4.3
AT2 3.6 FS Lite 2.4

Right! I knew the human meters run a good bit lower. I'd love to switch to one to save a little moola. But the Relion may not be good for us as newbies and finally figuring things out on the AT2 meter.
 
Right! I knew the human meters run a good bit lower. I'd love to switch to one to save a little moola. But the Relion may not be good for us as newbies and finally figuring things out on the AT2 meter.


I don't know which meter would be "best". I have read consumer reports on human meters and one year one meter is rated very high and the next year it is rated lower. Even a "good" meter can change in quality. I have my AT2 which I have used from the start and I am comfortable with the readings and what they mean for Tuxie. I also have a FS Lite human meter I use as a second test and as a backup if the AT2 ever fails. I want to get a couple more meters and do comparisons, so if I find a manufacturer offer for a free meter with some free strips I am ordering it. In Canada the human meter strips all cost around the same price, so trying to find a consistent meter is my only concern
 
The meter variance had been a real concern of mine for the past few months. It makes me wonder if and when to take reductions. I also think it might be why Max is so bouncy. With so much testing I just can't justify paying for the AT strips. Maybe it's time for me to get the Accucheck. I can't wait to see your results. I wish I could get a free meter but it's really the strips that are the issue. I won't change meters now.
 
Last edited:
The meter variance had been a real concern of mine for the past few months. It makes me wonder if and when to take reductions. I also think it might be why Max is so bouncy. With so much testing I just can't justify paying for the AT strips. Maybe it's time for me to get the Accucheck. I can't wait to see your results. I wish I could get a free meter.


You can try this site. They offer a free meter, but I don't know what countries it is good for:

https://www.accu-chek.com/microsites/accuracy/offer.html
 
I have always used Accuchek Aviva meters. With Cecil I did some comparisons because I had the shelter's meter too and I wanted to show the vet how my home meter tested compared to theirs. His spreadsheet is linked in my profile because there isn't room in my siggy for all of my FDs SSs but here were the comparisons I got with the Aviva:

Aviva/AlphaTrak (I am not sure if it was I or II, I believe II)

174/191
65/77
85/100
76/93
79/91

I didn't test any really low numbers with both meters. He came down so fast we had very little sleep or work for weeks; if he had something in the 40s we weren't looking for meter variance we were just looking to get him up and get to bed or to work!

Over the years on the board I've noticed that Relions can run lower. I don't think it matters. Only one of the numbers you got would you make a different decision on the ReliOn vs the AT and the protocol is written for human meters, the guidelines for the AT are just guestimated. Take your reduction and be safe and don't worry about this elusive "real" BG number. The meter you hold in your hand is giving you the real BG at the time, pick one and go with it.
 
So far the AT
I have always used Accuchek Aviva meters. With Cecil I did some comparisons because I had the shelter's meter too and I wanted to show the vet how my home meter tested compared to theirs. His spreadsheet is linked in my profile because there isn't room in my siggy for all of my FDs SSs but here were the comparisons I got with the Aviva:

Aviva/AlphaTrak (I am not sure if it was I or II, I believe II)

174/191
65/77
85/100
76/93
79/91

I didn't test any really low numbers with both meters. He came down so fast we had very little sleep or work for weeks; if he had something in the 40s we weren't looking for meter variance we were just looking to get him up and get to bed or to work!

Over the years on the board I've noticed that Relions can run lower. I don't think it matters. Only one of the numbers you got would you make a different decision on the ReliOn vs the AT and the protocol is written for human meters, the guidelines for the AT are just guestimated. Take your reduction and be safe and don't worry about this elusive "real" BG number. The meter you hold in your hand is giving you the real BG at the time, pick one and go with it.

So far the guestimates for the AT meter have been working for us, so I'm hesitant to change meters right now even based on cost. With our Relion comparison, we would have taken a reduction based on the protocol for human meters but wouldn't have even considered it based on the AT2 meter reading.
 
I have often thought that it could make a person insane to focus too much on comparing meters. I picked one and went with it. It's obvious that with so many variations, that it probably doesn't matter that much which meter you use.

The reasons I stuck with a human glucometer were
1) the strips cost a fraction of the cost of the ATs,
2) the human glucometer strips are widely available,
3) the documents on FDMB are all written using human meters and
4) people helping me on FDMB were all familiar with human meters and all used them - and when I wanted help I didn't want people to pass me by because i was using an AT.

Obviously human glucometers are good enough and there is a huge cost savings.

edited to add - enough people have done multiple AT:human glucometer comparisons that we can know that we can't know exactly what the percentage difference is. You can't just add a particular percentage to figure out a comparison. The constant is that the reduction point if one is using Tight Reg is 68AT or 50 human glucometer.
 
I really do understand the concern on going from a pet meter to a human meter. I have been using the AT2 as my primary meter for 7 months. Even though I will do side by side "double checks" with my FS Lite meter, I have become accustomed to the AT2 numbers and would really struggle going to a human meter. Nothing is perfect but once you have been using AT2 for a long time you feel like you have been thrown in the middle of a lake to learn how to swim when you are switching to a human meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top