7/8 Lulu AMPS-297,+4-117,+5.5-137,PMPS-272,+3-272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori & Lulu

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...mps-failed-1-5-196-4-256.140640/#post-1451110

@Wendy&Neko - thanks for your response last night. I didn't smell or feel Lantus, but presumed the fur shot based on her rising numbers. Thanks for the advice re the SS - done, and will do so in future. I'm currently using 28 g lancets, I have two boxes of them. They worked just fine for Lulu until recently. She's getting feisty and crotchety as she ages (just like her Mama). I put the Polysporin on after the poke. If you have any suggestions as to changes I should make, they are more than welcome, and much appreciated.

I went to the pharmacy today because I'd forgotten when I purchased the vial of Lantus. End of April :banghead::banghead::banghead: Time flies as one gets older. From what I've read on here, Lantus loses its efficacy about 28 days after the rubber seal has been pierced. Anyway, I asked them to throw out what was left (more than half a vial) and purchased the pens I've been reading about. I just hate to waste Lantus, knowing how costly it is for our American friends. So Lulu's PM tonight will be fresh Lantus.

Hope everyone is having a great and wonderful day. Prayers and vines to those in need.
 
Last edited:
FWIW, Lantus CAN lose it's efficacy 28 days after it's opened, but we have found here that if it's handled properly (not shaken; stored in a stable place such as a drawer in the fridge), it can last a lot longer than that. People have gotten up to 4-6 months out of a vial.

But, with a lower-dose kitty, the pens usually are more cost-effective than the vial. Likewise, though, they can last much longer than 28 days with proper care....there usually isn't a reason to toss them at 28 days - unless you are seeing very wonky patterns....then I would question the efficacy.

That is quite a drop for Lulu today.... would try to grab another test soon (ie, a +5) to see if she has slowed down.

Have a great day, Lori!!
 
Nice slide for Lulu today. I use each pen until it is empty. Like Amy said, as long as it is taken care of properly, and the numbers aren't wonky, it should be fine.
 
Thanks, Amy and Carla. I was probably too hasty in asking the pharmacy to toss that vial, obviously it's working as evidenced by her falling BG. I keep it refrigerated in a mug, it is never moved unless I am preparing an injection, and I never shake it. So I learned something again today. Thanks, guys.

Amy, by the time I saw your message it was +5.5 and she's coming up.
 
I used my first vial around 3-4 months, but then Neko was a high doser. I do like the flexibility of the cartridges better. You can use cartridges instead of pens in Canada. Cartridges are just like pen refills, might even cost less cause there is less "stuff" you are buying. Keep the pens/cartridges in the fridge, and you can use them to the last drop. I've only seen issues with them timing out a couple of times, once after a cartridge went traveling on the road with us in hot weather, the other when some frozen meat was placed right beside it. :rolleyes:

As for lancets, I am currently using the OneTouch Delica - they come in 31 or 33 gauge. But there are lots of 30 or 31 gauge options out there. I didn't have a OneTouch lancing device, but managed to get one free from London Drugs when I bought some lancets there. Often the drug stores will have demo kits they don't use, that contain the lancing device, if you use that instead of free handing.
 
Oh Geez, the pharmacist gave me cartridges at first, but I said no, I wanted pens (as if I knew wth I was talking about :rolleyes:). And you're right, cartridges were less $. Oh well, live and learn. Last sample I took from Lulu, I put the Polysporin on before poking, hoping it's pain-killing ingredients would make the poke easier for her to take. Seemed to work.
I free hand. The click of the device does not impress Lulu at all, tried it when I was a raw beginner trying all means to get blood. I might have to get some of those larger gauge lancets if we keep having problems with getting sufficient blood.
Thanks Wendy :)
 
The larger number on the lancets lancets are actually smaller diameter.
:oops:I think I might have known this once, but I've been spending an awful lot of time out in the sun lately. That's my story and I'm sticking to it :p
 
Last edited:
Okay, so I'm reading the directions on this Lantus pen and apparently you have to buy specific pen needles. The pharmacist I was dealing with had to keep consulting with one of her colleagues when I was asking questions (English is not her first language). I told her I had needles and syringes at home. She must have misunderstood me and thought I told her I had the needles needed for this pen. My question is, can I draw insulin out of this thing like I would a vial, or do I have to drive back over there? I'm rather cranky right now, so if I have to go over, that pharmacist better have finished her shift :mad::mad::mad:
 
Last edited:
Okay, so I'm reading the directions on this Lantus pen and apparently you have to buy specific pen needles
You don't need the needles that come with the pen. They are for human use. You can't measure small doses with them. You can use your syringes and draw the insulin out of the rubber part of the pen just like you do a vial. Make sure you don't inject any air or insulin back into the pen. It is pressurized and that can mess the pen up.
 
Carla, thank you, thank you, thank you so much! I did notice that you cannot draw up less than 1u and Lulu is at .75u.
I just watched the video and I recall having watched it before shortly after Lulu's dx. Forgot all about it. I am so grateful for your response.
 
No idea why Lulu's +3 reading is exactly the same as her AMPS reading. Oh well, I'm going to bed....

G'night all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top