7-Aug Maverick AMPS 563 | +5 459

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
Friday condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...529-2-461-4-346-6-434-10-401-pmps-452.181735/

I took a few days off from posting, was just seeing so many high numbers, I really don't know why they have to be so high. I understand bouncing, but come on! I also tried to run a curve on Friday, with all those reds, frankly I just got tired of testing and not seeing anything to be happy about.

Then on Saturday evening, after 6 cycles from the lower yellow mid week, PMPS +4 was better...288. But now, I think Maverick's back on another bounce? Serves me right for trying to be happy for him that he got under 300 :(.
 
I understand how you feel, when Marvin first got dx his number just wouldn't budged. Had me and my vet going crazy as we really didn't understand why especially when he got to a bit more insulin. This place really saved him, and I got the support I needed.

Take it one day at a time, and people here will help you see the patterns. Bouncing is very normal at the beginning since they are used to high BG so when they start going down they system isn't used to it. It gets better. It helps to feed them smalls meals spread out through out the day.

The important thing is you are testing, and gathering great data to learn where his onset and nadir is, which is good as will help you a lot once he gets into those lower numbers, as you will know when you should test to catch lows. It's a complicated dance, and more of a journey than a sprint. :)
 
I too remember those depressing early days of high numbers. :bighug: OK, for us it was months. But like Marvin, Neko had some secondary conditions going on that it took a while to discover.

Maverick is still on a relatively small dose, you just need to increase to get him to a good dose. If you don't see anything below 150 today or tonight, you can increase him to 1.25 units tomorrow. You are doing a great job testing to catch anything lower. Maverick's spreadsheet looks very much like a lot of other newly diagnosed kitties.
 
Thank you @Marvin's Mom - Nat and @Wendy&Neko, I appreciate it! It's so difficult when you feel like you are doing everything you should, but don't see the improvement. I know you have both been here. I just worry a lot! Seeing Mav hit his highest number since I began testing made me feel like I was doing something wrong. That said, he and my other kitty, Jester, were chasing each other up and down the hallway this morning (who needs an alarm :p), they sounded like a herd of elephants :smuggrin:, high numbers aside, Mav must be feeling pretty ok to be doing that :D. Thanks again for your input, it means a lot...I'll keep an eye on his numbers, but short of much change, then 1.25 here we go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top