8/14 Figaro AMPS=445 +2 404 +5 396 Identifying bounce vs high flat numbers? *pic*

Figaro's Liz

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-12-figaro-amps-451-2-453-11-389-pmps-464.218060/

I increased to 2.5 last night but I'm second guessing that decision now. So many numbers floating around in my brain.

Figaro remains high and flat and I'm trying to figure out how his bounces work. Whenever I have seen blue he seems to bounce and never come back down, which makes me wonder if I'm seeing bouncing or something else. A dip in the first few days of a dose, but high numbers otherwise?

I've also started double testing with a human meter and the AT. The difference is huge at higher numbers! When I got 509 on the Alphatrak and 306 on the relion prime I threw my hands up and walked away (not really, we went ahead with shooting!). That was a surprise, anyway, and the data is interesting to see.

Figaro is a happy cat right now. He still seems hungry but he's not quite as ravenous today or yesterday afternoon. So many toys and much much playtime. Several mice were killed :cat:

ETA pic!!
20190814_123140.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20190814_123140.jpg
    20190814_123140.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:
AT or Relion, those numbers still say not enough insulin. High and flat and safe increases so far means not enough insulin. Patterns become clearer as you get closer to a good dose. Just keep following the protocol, you will get there.
 
Figaro remains high and flat and I'm trying to figure out how his bounces work. Whenever I have seen blue he seems to bounce and never come back down, which makes me wonder if I'm seeing bouncing or something else. A dip in the first few days of a dose?
I feel the exact same way and wonder if we are going backwards instead of improving... The curves are all high and flat now. I smelled insulin on Macka's fur a few times now, not right after the shot, but during the day, and wondered if it could find its way back out of the skin? Or could scar tissue be forming, that keeps the insulin from being effective? I rotate shot location all the time but....?
 
AT or Relion, those numbers still say not enough insulin. High and flat and safe increases so far means not enough insulin. Patterns become clearer as you get closer to a good dose. Just keep following the protocol, you will get there.
Thanks Wendy, I completely agree, the numbers are way too high still. And I will continue to increase. The Relion numbers are helping me to benchmark better versus the protocol guideline numbers.
I'm just scratching my head over the blue streaks I have seen. But maybe there's no explanation other than he needs insulin and I need to be patient.
 
I feel the exact same way and wonder if we are going backwards instead of improving... The curves are all high and flat now. I smelled insulin on Macka's fur a few times now, not right after the shot, but during the day, and wondered if it could find its way back out of the skin? Or could scar tissue be forming, that keeps the insulin from being effective? I rotate shot location all the time but....?
I read a similar report on the main health forum at some point, but I can't remember whose post it was.. hmm... aha! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-smell-not-a-fur-shot.217239/
 
It was time for the increase. You give the bounce 3 days or 6 cycles to clear which you did. Sometimes they threw a lower number like the blue one and don’t repeat it on that same dose.

Keep on keeping on by following the protocol. :cat:
 
I read a similar report on the main health forum at some point, but I can't remember whose post it was.. hmm... aha!
Mmm, I never give pressure on the spot after the shot, he hates shots and can be aggressive if I am not quick enough to shoot. I really hope it's just a litter drop and not more that come out.
 
By the way, you do not need to wait for a bounce to clear before increasing. Just try not to increase on the cycle they are clearing the bounce because there can be added downward momentum on that cycle, For more reading http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1250113

As for odd blues, it helps to remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug. You don’t always add a little bit and see a little bit of improvement. You just need to reach that fitting dose. Nadirs aren’t where you want them to be yet.
 
What a handsome boy! He has the sweetest face!

He will get there, some just take a while. Scooter was one that took a while.
 
As for odd blues, it helps to remember that insulin is a hormone, not a drug. You don’t always add a little bit and see a little bit of improvement. You just need to reach that fitting dose. Nadirs aren’t where you want them to be yet.
These nuances can be very hard to understand, but the way you put this is very helpful to me at the moment!
It was time for the increase. You give the bounce 3 days or 6 cycles to clear which you did. Sometimes they threw a lower number like the blue one and don’t repeat it on that same dose.

Keep on keeping on by following the protocol. :cat:
Thank you for the reassurance, and encouragement! Gaining knowledge and confidence every day little by little... :smuggrin:
 
Back
Top