8-16-19 Bear Update

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bear & Lora, Aug 16, 2019.

  1. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Bear has been doing well on Levemir with less large BG number fluctuations.

    I have been trying to follow TR to the best of my ability through an awful upper respiratory virus and my mother having to be hospitalized before I was over my virus.

    Yuck, no fun at all.

    I am going to continue to follow TR but I am considering SLGS if life throws out a lot more complications.

    I believe today is Bear's one year anniversary -diagnosed Diabetic.
    I know TR procedures are a bit different for long term diabetic Kittys and I would appreciate any input or info.

    I have really missed being on the board and all the wonderful people here.
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I hope your virus has cleared up and your mom is doing well.
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  3. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Nice to meet you and welcome back!
     
  4. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    My virus is gone with just a little tweak in my voice at times.
    I had full laryngitis for about a week.
    Lol, it was kind of funny trying to talk to multiple Doctors with that problem and at the hospital all the staff's eyes got larger when i tried to communicate.
    I am sure there was some concern I would infect others.
    My mother is doing so much better after 2 blood and an iron transfusion.
    Once she is fully diagnosed after a GI Camera capsule Procedure she will be able to get blood transfusions on a regular basis.
     
  5. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thanks, you too!
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  6. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    You too have been missed by me :)
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  7. Idjit's mom

    Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Glad to see you and Bear back. I'm sorry you and Mom have been so sick. No, not fun at all. Healing energies for Bear's Granny and some for you just to wipe out any residual effect.
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  8. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I missed you too.
    It is really nice to see all the familiar beautiful kitty faces and talk with their caregiver momma's. :D
     
    Krystina & Nelli likes this.
  9. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Bear is doing good?
     
  10. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Bear is definitely doing the best on Levemir out of the three different insulins he has been on.
    He doesn't even seem to be the same cat that he was.
    He is happier, more playful, more loving, etc.
    Fingers and paws crossed but so far Bear hasn't had a pancreatitis flare since he has been on Levemir either.

    Hopefully I will hear from Wendy soon and get her opinion on Bear's progress.
    God certainly blessed her with amazing powers of deduction.
     
    Krystina & Nelli likes this.
  11. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Chut emoji.png
    So nice you're back with Bear ! :bighug:
    Happy for you that Bear feels better and hopefully you'll get over all this soon!
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  12. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Bear really does look like a black bear! :) hello, I'm a newbie as of this summer. Sorry to hear you have been having a rough time lately, but glad Bear is doing better.
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  13. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thanks Lyane!
    Ti-Mousse is looking great!
    I love to see that much green on a SS!
     
  14. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thanks!
    Hello, glad to meet you.
    Things are almost back to my household's normal. :rolleyes:
     
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    With a long term diabetic, the reduction point goes to 40 from 50. That 36 a couple nights ago earned a reducie. Some people with cats that don’t hold reductions well use three between 40 and 49 on separate days, or once below 40.

    Scritches and low carb annifursary cake for Bear. These for you :bighug::bighug:
     
  16. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    So at this point two days after a 36 BG would you reduce?
    Testing has been pretty sporadic but my eyes see so much room to go lower.
    With Bear we have never gotten him leveled out to blue or green for any length of time though.
    Is this a reduce and be patient for Bear to adjust more to Levemir?
     
  17. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Plus thank you Wendy from both of us. :bighug::bighug:
     
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I would reduce. Curious to see what follows today’s flat yellow cycle. Some cats take a few months to learn how to really work Levemir, so you may yet see improvements. Or not, up to Bear really.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  19. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Sounds good.
    I got a +3.5 and he was going down.
    I will go test him now he is a little past +5.
     
  20. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Looks like food at +3.5 stalled his drop +3.5 251BG, +5 283BG.
    I will test one more time before bed at +7, he might surprise me.
    I'll reduce tomorrow morning.
    Thanks again Wendy.
    Have a good night.
     
  21. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    it was never determined where my father is bleeding from. He needed transfusions every couple of months. He was sent to a hematologist and it was decided not to put him through anymore colonoscopy, gi scoping. He now gets iron infusions every couple of months instead of blood. In fact he gets one on Monday. This has been working for him.
     
  22. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hi Debra! Good to see you and Bear and that Lev seems to be agreeing with him! I’m glad you are feeling better and that your mom is doing okay too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
  23. Jill & Scooter

    Jill & Scooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Glad to hear Bear is doing well! Glad also that you and your mom are doing better! Nothing like having everything hit at once.
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  24. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    They found an AVM-Arterial Venous Malformation in her lower stomach and cauterized it while she was in the hospital. The GI Dr thinks she has multiple in the 26 feet of intestine they couldn't see with the two scopes.
    It has become more difficult to make decisions on what is necessary and her quality of life for what time she may have left. Thanks for sharing what your father is going through. PM me if you have anymore possible insights.
     
  25. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Hi Bobbie! Debra and Lora think Caregiver responsibility has become very heavy for Bobbie too. I am fantasizing about Caribbean Cruises quite frequently. :banghead:
    Thank you for the well wishes. :)
     
  26. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thanks Jill!
     
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    OMG! I’m so sorry Lora! Can we book a cruise together???
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  28. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    No worries Bobbie. :bighug:
    If I could possibly go on a Cruise at this point I would in a New York minute. Lol!
    I hope things aren't too heavy and your Uncle is faring better than my mom recently.
    Thank God Bear behaved well during all the life drama.
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Nothing going on with my Uncle. He is alive and well in Memphis, TN. ;)
     
  30. Krystina & Nelli

    Krystina & Nelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    That is excellent! I’m soooo happy to hear :). A blessing to be aware of? :bighug:
     
    Bear & Lora likes this.
  31. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Opps, I meant your mother.
    So I have already seen Cozumel where do you want to go?
     

Share This Page