8/2 SHEBA AMPS 311; +3 248; +4 151; +5 95;+6 70; +7 65;+8 67; +9 83; PMPS 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Very Active Member
Last thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-29-sheba-amps-227.141726/

AMPS 311
This is the 6th cycle without green, so looks like an increase is on the horizon Sheba.
She has had blue once, otherwise her numbers have been awful. I suppose it is a bounce??

I'm not sure that the tramadol is completely managing the arthritis. Sheba has been fairly quiet and sleeping a lot......thought it might be the Tramadol making her drowsy. She just doesn't have her usual bounce. Maybe it is the higher numbers making her feel yuk.

The gelcaps arrived and I have started using them. First couple went down well but last night she spat it out twice and it was melting and she ended up a bit frothy in the mouth.......I felt awful. She is so good and cooperative........she will just put up one paw as if to say....please stop. I watched a utube video on pilling last night. This morning I was more successful and it went down without incident, thank goodness. It is the thing I hate doing the most by far. Any other tablets I can crush in her food and she eats them. This pill is obviously very bitter.

Her weight is steady at 6 kgms .....has been this for about 9 or 10 months. No change in the chin acne. Still trying to keep it clean and dry. Actually I suppose it could be a bit better because the black spots seem to have stopped and it is just discoloured now. Very slow though......

A lovely sunny winter's day here in Sydney. We are expecting a top of 26 degrees! Two weeks ago it was snowing everywhere (not in Sydney, but in the mountains behind us, an hours drive west)
 
Maybe you should ask the vet if there are alternative treatments besides the Tramadol. I know there are some other things that people on here give their kitties. I like the Gabapentin better for Cinco. It doesn't seem to make him as sleepy.

No advice on the dosing. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Gelcaps take a little practice, as does pilling in general. I do a LOT of it, and have for a while now, and I still have my share of failures! Amy freehands, and she has bad days, too. Welcome to the club!
 
I hope you see some better numbers for Sheba soon. I don't know anything about Tramadol, so I don't know what the side effects are. I'm glad the gel caps seem to be working. Hopefully the acne clears up soon.
 
Bron, I'm stilll dealing with Michael's chin acne. It isn't worse. It looks a little better as if it might be healing. You are right. It is very slow. I hope Sheba's is better soon.:)
 
Neko tried gabapentin for a while for her arthritis - it just made her sleepy. I think it's ECID on what works for pain relief for your cat. The one nice thing about the gaba is that I could hide it in a bit of pill pocket and it went down easily - they are small pills. Some people use pill poppers others toss in the pill "free hand" without a tool. I prefer something I can hide in a pill pocket.

OK Sheba, time to shape up on the numbers today, or up you go! The greens she saw were 4 cycles after the reduction so could have been influenced by the 6.25U depot. If she doesn't see greens today, I'd call it a failed reduction.
 
+3 248
+4 151 that is too big a drop so I fear another bounce....it is so frustrating! Gave her honey to slow drop.
I am quite sure it is just the constant bouncing that is keeping her from being regulated and in green or blue numbers, because she always drops fast to low numbers once the influence of the bounce has gone. Am I being fanciful???

We have a bad bush fire in the Blue Mountains behind Sydney. No homes under threat but the loss of native animals is always terrible. Fires in winter are bad...there was snow there 2 weeks ago! Crazy.
 
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko
I tried hiding the pill in butter and chicken. I put the butter one straight down her throat and it was not too bad. The chicken one she refused to eat.
By pill poppers do you mean those things where you put the pill in and put that down the throat and press? I have one of those I used to use on Maxie....I hated it...found it hard to use. I can put it straight down free hand but sometimes she won't swollow and then she gets the frothy mouth....very distressing for us both!
Looks like she is dropping down today....I just gave honey to slow the drop as she was too fast. I hope I don't stuff up a green!
 
Some kitties are just bouncier than others!!

The key is to just TRY to keep them in those good blue and green numbers as long as possible and hope their liver gets the message that it's OK to be there!

We've seen kitties bounce all the way to OTJ too!
cat1.gif
 
Some kitties are just bouncier than others!!

The key is to just TRY to keep them in those good blue and green numbers as long as possible and hope their liver gets the message that it's OK to be there!

We've seen kitties bounce all the way to OTJ too!
cat1.gif
I was really really trying a couple of months ago to stay ahead of the drop and she did stay in green and blue for 3 weeks or more. But it is so so constant keeping ahead of the drop it was completely ruling my life and I had to back off a bit for a while.........I have a few things on in the next little while then I might try and do it again, and see if I can't keep her there. I am still trying now, just not as constantly. Thanks Chris.
 
This is a "pill popper" (also called a pill gun) They come in different shapes and sizes
View attachment 15865

Try blowing on her nose...it causes them to swallow whether they want to or not.
Yes, that is the thing I have....I find it hard to use.
I tried blowing on her nose this morning as I saw that in the video I watched last night....but she didn't swollow....maybe I was blowing too gently.
 
Hi Bron. I like what Chris said that some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ and when she said that a while ago too I relaxed quite a bit. I know how you must be feeling as you want to stop the bounces and achieve good glucose levels to maximise the chances of a second remission. You are so dedicated to Sheba and you are doing great. What you wrote about the intensity of the effort in trying to control Sheba's fast glucose level drops resonated with me as I worry a lot that I haven't maximised my Lucy's chances of remission of her diabetes because of my own health issues and exhaustion and other commitments too. Lately I have tried to change my thinking about all of this. I have been appreciating the lack of diabetes symptoms that Lucy has now even though her glucose levels are not perfect and I have been thinking if this is what we have to live with this is fine. My Lucy with her diabetes and me with my Crohn's disease. But then I think how wonderful it would be if we didn't have injections and blood tests every day and the anxiety of possible hypoglycemia whilst on insulin and I start to get anxious again and think I need to not miss the occasional insulin dose or I need to follow the protocol better than I am doing. But then I think I could be doing everything perfectly and remission may never come. I have also been thinking I need to take better care of myself by worrying less and by doing things that take my mind off the next glucose test or insulin dose because I can get very caught up in worrying. Part of what contributes to my quality of life is my volunteer work. I work with women and children who have been in domestic violence situations and I love this work. But it means sometimes skipping or delaying a dose if I am not home at the time an insulin dose is due. I worry that skipping or delaying doses is preventing Lucy's diabetes from going into remission. I need to remind myself more often that Lucy's good quality of life is linked to my quality of life and I need to also look after my well being too. If the love we have for our kitties could cause remission we would all be throwing out the insulin and the syringes and the test strips and glucometers right now. Anyway what you wrote made me want to share some of my thoughts with you. Hugs to you and pats to Sheba too.
 
yeah..needs to be a quick, hard blow...kind of like blowing out a candle

Oh I know you are trying hard to get Sheba to stop the crazy bouncing!! Sometimes you just have to have a life of your own though!
 
Hi Bron. I like what Chris said that some kitties bounce all the way to OTJ and when she said that a while ago too I relaxed quite a bit. I know how you must be feeling as you want to stop the bounces and achieve good glucose levels to maximise the chances of a second remission. You are so dedicated to Sheba and you are doing great. What you wrote about the intensity of the effort in trying to control Sheba's fast glucose level drops resonated with me as I worry a lot that I haven't maximised my Lucy's chances of remission of her diabetes because of my own health issues and exhaustion and other commitments too. Lately I have tried to change my thinking about all of this. I have been appreciating the lack of diabetes symptoms that Lucy has now even though her glucose levels are not perfect and I have been thinking if this is what we have to live with this is fine. My Lucy with her diabetes and me with my Crohn's disease. But then I think how wonderful it would be if we didn't have injections and blood tests every day and the anxiety of possible hypoglycemia whilst on insulin and I start to get anxious again and think I need to not miss the occasional insulin dose or I need to follow the protocol better than I am doing. But then I think I could be doing everything perfectly and remission may never come. I have also been thinking I need to take better care of myself by worrying less and by doing things that take my mind off the next glucose test or insulin dose because I can get very caught up in worrying. Part of what contributes to my quality of life is my volunteer work. I work with women and children who have been in domestic violence situations and I love this work. But it means sometimes skipping or delaying a dose if I am not home at the time an insulin dose is due. I worry that skipping or delaying doses is preventing Lucy's diabetes from going into remission. I need to remind myself more often that Lucy's good quality of life is linked to my quality of life and I need to also look after my well being too. If the love we have for our kitties could cause remission we would all be throwing out the insulin and the syringes and the test strips and glucometers right now. Anyway what you wrote made me want to share some of my thoughts with you. Hugs to you and pats to Sheba too.

What you wrote Voula is so true. I oscillate between thinking I need to try and control the drop more and needing to back off a bit. I have to say..since I have taken a step back, I have felt so much better in myself. I have been going out more and actually enjoying myself. My son texted me yesterday morning and said the kids were playing soccer at 10.45 if I wanted to go and watch. So I did and I really enjoyed it. I used to go and watch all their matches, now DH goes on his own. This one was local so it was easy. Most of them are 20 minutes away so that means a few hours away at "drop time" which can be difficult.
I think all we can do is do our best on the day. Some days are diamonds and some days are stone. We just have to roll with the punches. We need to take our chances...if Sheba is bouncing I try and go out and do something.
You are a wonderful carer of Lucy so never doubt that Voula.

+5 95 :D
 
What you wrote Voula is so true. I oscillate between thinking I need to try and control the drop more and needing to back off a bit. I have to say..since I have taken a step back, I have felt so much better in myself. I have been going out more and actually enjoying myself. My son texted me yesterday morning and said the kids were playing soccer at 10.45 if I wanted to go and watch. So I did and I really enjoyed it. I used to go and watch all their matches, now DH goes on his own. This one was local so it was easy. Most of them are 20 minutes away so that means a few hours away at "drop time" which can be difficult.
I think all we can do is do our best on the day. Some days are diamonds and some days are stone. We just have to roll with the punches. We need to take our chances...if Sheba is bouncing I try and go out and do something.
You are a wonderful carer of Lucy so never doubt that Voula.

+5 95 :D
Thank you Bron. My Lucy is so important to me and I thank you for saying that. I also try to take advantage of bounces and go out and do things. That green number looks good Bron. :bighug:
 
Try gently massaging her throat, with her head upright, to encourage Sheba to swallow the pill, I know what you mean, I hate giving bad taste meds to my furbabies. No trouble with the dog, he eats anything!

Glad to hear you are taking some time out for yourself Bron, and its making you feel better. Looks like you are on call today though, lovely greens :D
 
Try gently massaging her throat, with her head upright, to encourage Sheba to swallow the pill, I know what you mean, I hate giving bad taste meds to my furbabies. No trouble with the dog, he eats anything!

Glad to hear you are taking some time out for yourself Bron, and its making you feel better. Looks like you are on call today though, lovely greens :D
Thanks for the tip Suki. I will try that. A bit of a disaster tonight again....I just hate giving it to her.
She has been much more alert today with the lower BSLs.
I was staying at home today anyway so keeping an eye on the BSLs was easy. She is sure to bounce though as she had a big drop this morning.
 
Hi Bron. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. DH and I went out for dinner and cards with friends. Getting my herd fed, medicated and hydrated has occupied me since I got home.

I see Chris answered the question about freehanding. I use the popper quite successfully, but I know some people don't like it.

We give Cinco the Gabapentin for discomfort in his hindquarters that we (me and the vet) suspect is arthritis, and also for the itching that we assume caused his hotspots. He had a new spot just started when we first put him on the Gaba, and he never bothered it again (anti-jinx)! Also, since he's been on it, he lets me brush and touch his back legs and hips, which is something he has not been allowing for a while He's moving better and just seems more alert than he did on the Tramadol. Although the Tramadol did seem to give him pain relief, too.

I understand your frustration with the bouncing. I hope Sheba gets tired of the trampoline soon.
 
Hi Bron. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner. DH and I went out for dinner and cards with friends. Getting my herd fed, medicated and hydrated has occupied me since I got home.

I see Chris answered the question about freehanding. I use the popper quite successfully, but I know some people don't like it.

We give Cinco the Gabapentin for discomfort in his hindquarters that we (me and the vet) suspect is arthritis, and also for the itching that we assume caused his hotspots. He had a new spot just started when we first put him on the Gaba, and he never bothered it again (anti-jinx)! Also, since he's been on it, he lets me brush and touch his back legs and hips, which is something he has not been allowing for a while He's moving better and just seems more alert than he did on the Tramadol. Although the Tramadol did seem to give him pain relief, too.

I understand your frustration with the bouncing. I hope Sheba gets tired of the trampoline soon.

Thanks for getting back to me Tricia. I am really pleased the Gaba helps Cinco so much.
Today Sheba has been much more alert than she has been. Not sure why....her blood sugars have been low today...maybe that helped. Maybe the high BSLs made her dopey. I am at a loss to figure it out.
Nice you could get out for dinner and cards. What game do you play?
 
Well, she heeded the need for green. But, yikes, on the bouncy bouncy. So frustrating.

My Patch was the pill teacher in my household. First, just free hand shove the pill down his throat. Second, crush the pill between two spoons, add a drop of tuna water to the crushed pill on the spoon; he'd lap it up. That lasted a long time. Then, finally, I had to scruff, lift him off his front feet and pop the pill with a popper. He was long, lean and wiggly.

As for Tramadol. It made my dog dopey and/or agitated. I'd only use it at bed time 'cuz it did help him sleep comfortably. My current dog is on gabapentin; I can't really tell if it's doing much because he's on other stuff, too.

Lots of vines for the bouncy cat to become a not-so-bouncy cat.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top