8/20 DAVIDSON PMPS 47, +.5-56, +.75-83, +2-51, + 3-49, +3.5-46, +4-55, +5-60

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Shawna & Davidson (GA), Aug 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Sonia & Leo and LizzieInTexas like this.
  2. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Work that new dose Davidson :cat:.

    He is looking so great!
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Congrats on the reducie. :D
     
  4. Rebecca.garfie

    Rebecca.garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Glad you got a reduce Davidson. Hope your feeling good
     
  5. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Congrats on the reduction :cat: I see that 50 - surf safe today Davidson!
     
  6. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Good job Davidson.
     
  7. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Gave some MC food at +3 as had to leave for a bit and didn't want Davidson to drop..........so his +3.25 was up and I left.........
     
  8. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    OH OH........Davidson just got a 47 for his PMPS and I just fed him his normal food for now............I can stall but DON'T THINK I SHOULD SHOOT, as this will clearly drop him more. He was to get a reducie to 2.5u

    Not shooting............monitoring closely to make sure no hypo.......

    If you think I should give him a drop or two of insulin let me know asap before 18:00 which is 30 min past shot time.


    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
    Reason for edit: added text
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When below 50 at shot time, next time do NOT feed. Then wait 15 minutes and retest to see if he's going up. Check out the Sticky Note on handling low preshots, there is a section that covers this. For now, don't feed more, do not shoot yet. Test again in 30 and see if he's coming up. If he starts to zoom up, ou may yet get a shot in tonight, though you could have to wait a while. Worst case, and it's not so bad, ou skip.
     
  10. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Shoot, I forgot about that....been 4 yrs, lol. Dumb ass I am.....ok, test again in a bit and he gets a reducie tomorrow morning and hopefully he doesn’t bounce too much tonight.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    But next time you will remember. :) Every cycle is a do over.
     
  12. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If your schedule will permit, I would test again 30 minutes after he ate and if he came up, I would shoot to keep the momentum. The higher depot could still be at play here so you might want to shoot 2.5 again since you have given him 3 reductions in a row although they were only by 0.1 unit. It's your call, the worse case scenario is that you will have to go back up a bit if another reduction fails.
     
  13. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Ok, just tested 30 min. later and he's 56 but ate close to a half can of reg. LC food............I am OKAY to shoot if you think he's okay as I am home and handle low numbers well and have my HC food an dkit here.

    Should I shoot?
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I would shoot.
     
  15. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Yes, I think so as Davidson handles low numbers well. I'm only 30 min. past normal time so he'll be okay.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  16. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
  17. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    QUESTION: Davidson is on a reduced dose of 2.5 today due to going under 40 yesterday.............if he goes under 40 tonight do I do another reduction or perhaps I should hold this dose a few day and NOT RUSH the decrease. It might be better to let him get used to this dose and then reduce in a couple of days. He's making great progress right now and would not want to affect the depot and start bouncing............

    Thoughts?? Remember I can be here 24/7 to watch him if need be......
     
  18. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Some kitties go racing down the dose ladder and you have to take back to back reductions. What I would use as your barometer whether to do that would be if he goes under 40 tonight, how hard was it to get him to go back over 50 ? How much HC did you have to give him? If it was hard and a lot of HC food then I would give the reduction again. Otherwise, I would hold the 2.5 and let the depot get stable. The higher dose could still be talking at this point.
     
  19. Shawna & Davidson (GA)

    Shawna & Davidson (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Thanks Bobbie........so far tonight he only got LC food and still dropping...........yesterday when he went under 40 he got 1 tsp MC food (FF Turkey Feast in Gravy) and went up steadily within 30 min. and kept going up. Right now, he's pretty much done eating for the night and has food in his bowl but I will feed him the MC food if he drops below 40, which should be within a couple hours. In other words, not hard at all to get him over 50
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page