? 8/21 Chase Should I Switch to Levemir AMPS:142;+1/154;+2.75/112,PMPS:182,+1/209,+2/158,+3/94,+4/97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi & Chase in AZ

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-215-2-5-221-5-5-65-5-75-84-6-5-101.182683/

HAS ANYONE EVER CHANGED FROM LANTUS TO A DIFFERENT INSULIN WHEN YOU COULDN'T GET NUMBERS TO FLATTEN OUT, OR IS THIS SOMETHING I MUST TRY TO ACCOMPLISH WITH DIET ONLY?

These numbers are much better. I've fed him the same way as I've been feeding him. He usually has a +3 nose dive but this morning he didn't.

It's been suggested that I try him on a higher carb food (10%), in the hopes that I can safely increase his dose in order to get him flattened out. It's been hard to figure out since his AMPS and PMPS are over the preferred number of 120, but then at the a.m. +3, his BG usually drops too much. I've been giving him low carb food for his very 1st feeding, but then medium carb for his 2nd and 3rd feeding of the day since I'm at work and he has a habit of dropping too low. It's the only I feel like he is safe. This typically happens in the mornings when I'm at work but NOT in the evenings when I'm home. LOL. :banghead:

I'm very grateful that his numbers aren't higher. I had hoped he would go into remission, again, but I get the feeling that won't happen, again. :(

Now... to find a 10% carb food that I can actually get here, in Sierra Vista, that doesn't have beef or fish in it. :)
 
Last edited:
I'm afraid I can't afford anything other than Fancy Feast, for Chase, and none of them are 10% carbs. I haven't the foggiest idea of how to mix the foods to get the desired result. :(

May I ask if someone here could look at Chase's SS and tell me if they think he'd be a good candidate for using Levimir? From what I've read, people who've had cats that bounce and dive a lot (like Chase) had better results with Levemir, rather than Lantus. My vile of Lantus expires at the end of next month so if I'm going to try something different, now would be the time. Any thoughts?
 
I don't know the details of switching to Levemir, but I do know some people have had success in getting flatter numbers with their cats. I hope you can figure out something that works for Chase. Sending prayers.
 
If I mix 1 teaspoon of FF Grilled 15% carbs with 1 teaspoon of FF Classic Pate 3% I used to think it makes up to 2 tsp 9% each. Does it make any sense? :) I might be wrong as I am total rubbish with numbers. I often need high-ish carbs to prevent early in the cycle dives.
 
I'll run out of Lantus in almost 30 days, and I'm planning to ask Chino's vet for a Levemir prescription for the same reason. @Osha recently switched and has much flatter cycles now.
Thank you, Adrian. It's hard to know if what we plan to do will be the right decision. But I don't think that Chase's bouncing and diving is good for him. Chase is extremely sensitive and it's been very hard to try and figure out how to get his numbers to flatten out. I"m not convinced that mixing foods is going to be the answer, although I'm going to try in the weeks to come. It's so stressful to leave Chase in the morning knowing that he will most likely do his nose dive at +3. Maybe changing to Levemir will change things.
 
Have you tried some of the Friskies flavours? I think some of them are slightly higher LC and economical. I never tried them myself though.

As for switching to Lev, who knows. It's very ECID on whether cats get flatter. I would try the higher carb LC food first. That's a much cheaper solution than switching insulins. Neko got a bit flatter, but I waited until I was almost out of Lantus before switching.
 
Have you tried some of the Friskies flavours? I think some of them are slightly higher LC and economical. I never tried them myself though.

As for switching to Lev, who knows. It's very ECID on whether cats get flatter. I would try the higher carb LC food first. That's a much cheaper solution than switching insulins. Neko got a bit flatter, but I waited until I was almost out of Lantus before switching.

Yep.... and I said,
" My vile of Lantus expires at the end of next month so if I'm going to try something different, now would be the time. Any thoughts?"

I just bought some different kinds of FF. I will mess around with mixing them to see what happens. :)

I haven't tried any Friskies. But I will if I can't find a good mixture with FF.
 
I switched to Levemir in late June to try and flatten out Osha's cycles. I have been very pleased with the results so far.

That is what I really like about Lev, I can shoot and go to work knowing his nadir won't happen until I get home but Wendy is correct...ECID

This is another reason I like Lev. I feel much more comfortable shooting and going to work than I did on Lantus.

Good luck with whatever you decide! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top