8-26 Gizmo AMPS=354; +3=307; +6=169; +10=240; PMPS=222 Failed Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Very Active Member
condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...207-pmps-136-2-200-3-210.182893/#post-2028918

PMPS = 136
+2 = 200
+3 = 210

AMPS = 354

I really liked all the steady blue Gizmo was seeing at the start of this reduction. However, it seems that the blues are getting less and less (and no greens). Depending on how today goes, the plan is to increase back to 9 units tomorrow morning.

. is he jumping when you insert the needle, or as you push the plunger/insulin in?
Most of the time it is when I insert the needle, but every once in a while he jumps when the insulin is going in.
I really hope the vet visit goes well, and Maverick and Gizmo need to sync up their visits to the lagoon, it seems lately they pass the baton to each other :p, then head in opposite directions lol. Glad Gizmo had a lovely blue PMPS :cool:
Thanks. Gizmo said he is tired of high fiving Maverick as they are passing each other. They need to plan a day visit to the lagoon together. :p:D
 
Hope that Gizmo settles into this dose. He is wobbling around a bit but, if you don't see some downward action at the end of today's cycle I would take him back up.

Most of the time it is when I insert the needle, but every once in a while he jumps when the insulin is going in.
Some kitties when on that size of a dose start being bothered by the sting of Lantus as it is acidic and then they switch to Levemir so that don't have that problem. B ut, if he is jerking and reacting to the needle go into his skin before you plunge, it might be worth changing the injection site to another area to see if that solves that problem. If the needle is put into muscle instead of just subcutaneous it will make them flinch.
 
+3 = 307
Soulistic chicken gets 4 paws up from both kitties again this morning. :smuggrin:
Hope that Gizmo settles into this dose. He is wobbling around a bit but, if you don't see some downward action at the end of today's cycle I would take him back up.
I'm hoping for some downward action, but I see him tending upwards. We shall see what happens, but I have a feeling we are going back to 9 units in the morning.

Some kitties when on that size of a dose start being bothered by the sting of Lantus as it is acidic and then they switch to Levemir so that don't have that problem. B ut, if he is jerking and reacting to the needle go into his skin before you plunge, it might be worth changing the injection site to another area to see if that solves that problem. If the needle is put into muscle instead of just subcutaneous it will make them flinch.
I've often wondered if I'm hitting muscle sometimes. Maybe I'll try a different site.
 
+10 = 240

Definately looking more and more like a failed reduction. I'm increasing back to 9 units at PMPS instead of waiting until tomorrow morning.
 
Good luck with the increase. Typically after a reduction you just wait to see where they land after the bounce has cleared to decide if the reduction has failed. If not green, then back up you go. He made a good effort yesterday, but not quite.

What size needles are they on the syringes you are using? Neko originally had 29g when she got Caninsulin and they bothered her a bit. The 31g she did not notice. Rotating the injection site is a good idea. I hope it helps Gizmo.
 
Soulistic chicken gets 4 paws up from both kitties again this morning.
My Gizmo seems to really like Soulietic too. His current mixture has the Pate and Shreds Chicken & Turkey. A bit higher in the phos but I can't stress too much about that.
 
Last edited:
I had a failed reduction too...that is so boring!! I'm threatening Girlie with dire consequences if she doesn't come down. She just looks blissfully at me and purrs, of course...sigh...

Girlie sometimes notices shots, too - other times, not. Once I think I hit muscle by accident, and she was REALLY mad at me! There's an injection site chart on here somewhere - here it is. They talk about rotating the site, etc. I always do Girlie's left side in the AM and right side at PM, and I try to be good at rotating the area. I find that the side of the belly and flank shots reduce the risk of hitting some muscle, for me. She also has what I call "older cat sag" right behind her front legs: it NEVER bothers her when I shoot into the saggy bits (poor old Girlie!). I also make sure the bevel is up, as that seems to make a difference sometimes. But who knows!

Somewhere else I saw mention of thinking of where you shoot as the face of a clock: do your first shot at noon, then go around the clock. That would help ensure rotation, I guess.

Oh yeah - and someone else (was it China?) mentioned sniffing their fur if you think you've done a fur shot. Lantus has an almighty smell, and whenever I think I might have missed, I smell her. The looks I get from her for that! :eek:

Be good for mom, now, Gizmo! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top