8-4 Gizmo AMPS=231; +2=237; +6=353; PMPS=350

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-4-5-272-pmps-357-2-297.181672/#post-2013879

PMPS = 357
+2 = 297
+5.5 = 221

AMPS = 231

lolcats_pogostick_by_flygongs87.jpg


Yep, this looks very familiar ... Gizmo must dream of pogo sticks too! :p
 
I know the feeling lol I need to get a pillow pad for my :banghead:
. Lol:p

hope Gizmo gets back with the program :)
Me too. Maverick will get there also. You just started and are very lucky to have found this site. Gizmo was on vetsulin for several months and then lantus before I found and became active on the site. Whenever I get frustrated, I just look back over the past two months to see how much progress he has made.
 
PMPS = 350

Ok, I don't know what to think anymore. He could just be bouncing (probably most likely). However with the past 2 cycles, his preshot numbers have been the same as +6. I'm wondering if his nadir has moved to later in the cycle. This has happened before around +9. I'm going to have to check around that time tonight or tomorrow. Also, he finished his antibiotics 2 nights ago. And to top it all off, I accidentally left his insulin in the camper fridge as we were traveling home. Not sure how bouncy that would have been, but I'm thinking it probably wasn't good. Patience pants on and waiting for 6 cycles from that amps of 117 to see what happens.
 
Did you have the Acro/AAI tests done? I can't remember or I missed that condo.

Gizmo, come hang out with your friend Gizmo for a while. :cat:

ETA-insulin is probably fine. The pens are carried around in pockets and purses for days.
 
You don't need to wait 6 cycles after that 117 to decide what to do next with his dose. TR says to hold 6-10 cycles if nadirs are blue (or green) before increasing. At the moment, his nadirs at this dose are not where you want them to be. Since this is cycle 7, you could hold 3 more cycles. Or not.

I also wouldn't worry too much about when his nadir was today. He's in the middle of a bounce, and the numbers can wobble around unpredictably during a bounce.

Paws crossed the insulin is OK. We've had people drop pens/vials and still had them be OK. I once had insulin go bad after a three day trip with temps in the 90's and the insulin just in a insulated bag. But it took a couple weeks after I got back before it lost potency.
 
Did you have the Acro/AAI tests done? I can't remember or I missed that condo.

Gizmo, come hang out with your friend Gizmo for a while. :cat:
No, the vet wanted to hold off on even testing for hyperthyroidism since Gizmo had better numbers recently on 7.5 units. He said we would wait and see what happened when he was off the antibiotic. I still want to get the those tests and the hyperthyroidism tests done ... especially if his numbers start creeping back up.

Gizmo hasn't been doing much of anything today. He has been hiding in the closet all day. Not used to these high numbers anymore. Hopefully he will listen to you and visit Gizmo soon.
 
You don't need to wait 6 cycles after that 117 to decide what to do next with his dose. TR says to hold 6-10 cycles if nadirs are blue (or green) before increasing. At the moment, his nadirs at this dose are not where you want them to be. Since this is cycle 7, you could hold 3 more cycles. Or not.

I also wouldn't worry too much about when his nadir was today. He's in the middle of a bounce, and the numbers can wobble around unpredictably during a bounce.

Paws crossed the insulin is OK. We've had people drop pens/vials and still had them be OK. I once had insulin go bad after a three day trip with temps in the 90's and the insulin just in a insulated bag. But it took a couple weeks after I got back before it lost potency.
Should I wait until he clears this bounce to increase or just increase in the morning? I want to stay ahead of the possible insulin resistance, but also want him to stay safe. When would you increase?
 
You don't need to wait for the bounce to clear. You just don't want to increase on the same cycle as he clears the bounce as that can be extra downwards momentum. Timing would depend on your ability to monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top