8/8 SHEBA AMPS 437; +5.5 205; +7 167;+9 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Very Active Member
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-3-sheba-amps-441-4-302-8-205.141975/

AMPS 437
I had lowered the dose to 5 units for 4 doses as I was not going to be home much at all for 2 days because of medical appointments. I increased the dose back to 6 units last night. During that time she was bouncing so I am not sure where she is up to, but never mind. She seems well, eating and happy in front of her heater and I am sure she will get back on track.

Re the pilling saga.........I tried putting the pill into a piece of liver which she loves and I had high hopes it would be the answer. Unfortunately she doesn't just swollow her food ....she chews it...probably because I feed raw and the pieces are big enough that she needs to chew them a bit before swallowing. I tried to make it as small as possible, hoping she would just swollow. So she chomped into the liver, found the pill and spat it out! What a mess! So I don't think pill pockets would be the answer, even if I could get them. I tried everyone's suggestions but none worked, so I have gone back to the gelcap and blowing once on her nose, which Chris suggested and stroking her neck which Suki suggested. She is very cooperative when I do it and mostly we are successful but she can get that gelcap out of the back of her throat in one movement if she wants to!
She knows when it is pill time and she has started to run away:( and I feel bad about that. She didn't last night or this morning so hopefully she will settle down with it, now we are getting more successful with it.

OT. My DH is taking our 3 eldest granddaughters, DD and DIL to the Netball World Cup today which is being held in Sydney. He managed to get tickets for the last day and closing ceremony as well, so all very excited. They are going on 3 different days all up. I would have loved to have gone but too hard with Sheba as it is over the T/F/S times. So I will watch on TV. They all play netball and follow the NSW team (our state). One of the girls who is a reserve in the team sometimes babysits the girls at night( she lives locally) and often goes to the kids training sessions to help with the training.......She used to be trained by the current kids coach, so that makes it all the more interesting for the kids to watch the games.
 
I hope increasing the dose helps flatten Sheba out. Have you tried giving Sheba treats after you give the gelcap?
 
I hope increasing the dose helps flatten Sheba out. Have you tried giving Sheba treats after you give the gelcap?

Yes I always give her a treat and tell her she is a good girl. What I have found successful the last couple of days is put down some food, let her get a bit then pill her, then back to the food. That way she has a moist mouth, been swollowing and hopefully will swollow again...so far so good. Thanks Carla
 
I had a hard time figuring out how to pill Tiffany. Have you tried a pill wand? This is the one I used.

http://www.entirelypets.com/pillgun.html

I put the pill in the gelcap and used the wand. I followed with baby food as I didn't know about FD treats then.

Sorry you missed out on the game.
 
Hi Elise....yes I have a pill gun. I bought one when I used to have to give my Maxie prednisone. I find them hard to use though. I can get the pill in fine....she has just perfected the art of spitting it out in one movement.!
But the last couple of times we have been successful . So I live in hope! Thanks
 
I'm lucky that Noodle just swallows the pill pockets. They are her FAVORITE treat so she just inhales them.:joyful: If I had to try to pill her "normally," it would take hours out of my day. Hopefully Sheba's cooperation means she is resigning herself to it--or at least that the food is a good distraction!
 
I'm lucky that Noodle just swallows the pill pockets. They are her FAVORITE treat so she just inhales them.:joyful: If I had to try to pill her "normally," it would take hours out of my day. Hopefully Sheba's cooperation means she is resigning herself to it--or at least that the food is a good distraction!
Patricia....I think she is biding her time until the next opportunity:joyful: I wish she would just swollow but she likes to chew. Maybe Noodle can give her a lesson in how it is done!

+5.5 205 ........has been dropping fast in her usual fashion. I had to give her honey last hour as she dropped 74 at +4
 
I see she was in a hurry to get back to this dose. :rolleyes: Paws crossed she evens out a bit.

I've only tried popping a capsule once for Neko - I clearly need more practice. Epic fail, it was too big. Usually if I squirt water in right after a pill she'll swallow. Note to self, next time try chicken stock. Hmm.
 
The gelcap I use is small Wendy, a number 3. It is not that it is too big. She just hates the idea of it....and so do I ....I am always glad when it is over for the day. Then we do the same thing at night. She's like the little girl with the curl in the middle of her forehead.:rolleyes::joyful:
Maybe I could try a squirt of water after it.

Yes she is doing her classic dive to the bottom....always in a hurry....... she'll bounce again for sure with that big drop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top