Bron and Sheba (GA)
Very Active Member
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-3-sheba-amps-441-4-302-8-205.141975/
AMPS 437
I had lowered the dose to 5 units for 4 doses as I was not going to be home much at all for 2 days because of medical appointments. I increased the dose back to 6 units last night. During that time she was bouncing so I am not sure where she is up to, but never mind. She seems well, eating and happy in front of her heater and I am sure she will get back on track.
Re the pilling saga.........I tried putting the pill into a piece of liver which she loves and I had high hopes it would be the answer. Unfortunately she doesn't just swollow her food ....she chews it...probably because I feed raw and the pieces are big enough that she needs to chew them a bit before swallowing. I tried to make it as small as possible, hoping she would just swollow. So she chomped into the liver, found the pill and spat it out! What a mess! So I don't think pill pockets would be the answer, even if I could get them. I tried everyone's suggestions but none worked, so I have gone back to the gelcap and blowing once on her nose, which Chris suggested and stroking her neck which Suki suggested. She is very cooperative when I do it and mostly we are successful but she can get that gelcap out of the back of her throat in one movement if she wants to!
She knows when it is pill time and she has started to run away
and I feel bad about that. She didn't last night or this morning so hopefully she will settle down with it, now we are getting more successful with it.
OT. My DH is taking our 3 eldest granddaughters, DD and DIL to the Netball World Cup today which is being held in Sydney. He managed to get tickets for the last day and closing ceremony as well, so all very excited. They are going on 3 different days all up. I would have loved to have gone but too hard with Sheba as it is over the T/F/S times. So I will watch on TV. They all play netball and follow the NSW team (our state). One of the girls who is a reserve in the team sometimes babysits the girls at night( she lives locally) and often goes to the kids training sessions to help with the training.......She used to be trained by the current kids coach, so that makes it all the more interesting for the kids to watch the games.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-3-sheba-amps-441-4-302-8-205.141975/
AMPS 437
I had lowered the dose to 5 units for 4 doses as I was not going to be home much at all for 2 days because of medical appointments. I increased the dose back to 6 units last night. During that time she was bouncing so I am not sure where she is up to, but never mind. She seems well, eating and happy in front of her heater and I am sure she will get back on track.
Re the pilling saga.........I tried putting the pill into a piece of liver which she loves and I had high hopes it would be the answer. Unfortunately she doesn't just swollow her food ....she chews it...probably because I feed raw and the pieces are big enough that she needs to chew them a bit before swallowing. I tried to make it as small as possible, hoping she would just swollow. So she chomped into the liver, found the pill and spat it out! What a mess! So I don't think pill pockets would be the answer, even if I could get them. I tried everyone's suggestions but none worked, so I have gone back to the gelcap and blowing once on her nose, which Chris suggested and stroking her neck which Suki suggested. She is very cooperative when I do it and mostly we are successful but she can get that gelcap out of the back of her throat in one movement if she wants to!
She knows when it is pill time and she has started to run away

OT. My DH is taking our 3 eldest granddaughters, DD and DIL to the Netball World Cup today which is being held in Sydney. He managed to get tickets for the last day and closing ceremony as well, so all very excited. They are going on 3 different days all up. I would have loved to have gone but too hard with Sheba as it is over the T/F/S times. So I will watch on TV. They all play netball and follow the NSW team (our state). One of the girls who is a reserve in the team sometimes babysits the girls at night( she lives locally) and often goes to the kids training sessions to help with the training.......She used to be trained by the current kids coach, so that makes it all the more interesting for the kids to watch the games.