8/9/Ravan+5 58/+6 92/+9 204/pmps462/+4 428/+8 317

Status
Not open for further replies.
FYI - it's helpful if you let people know how many hours it is until your shot time or what +time is is when you're posting.

Given how long it is until your shot time, how about posting with Raven's numbers at +11 or +11.5? A lot can happen in a couple of hours.
 
The reason I suggesting not trying to anticipate what will happen is that Raven's numbers could be on the rise by shot time. If they are still dropping, you will have to decide whether to skip. Depending on your schedule, you could also stall a bit and see if numbers are heading back up.

At the moment, the PM cycle looks like it was flat. In 4 hrs, the effects of the PM shot will be wearing off so numbers could be going up. When we think in terms of a bounce breaking, numbers are heading down at shot time. Between the downward trend and the potential effect of a dose increase, it adds a good deal of momentum to that downward movement. It's not "forbidden" to shoot a dropping number. It's more a matter of your confidence in managing the curve given the momentum behind the drop. I've done it and it can be nerve wracking so it's more a matter of being prepared.
 
I was surprised to see a blue #. I did not increase to .5 but I did add a bit more insulin
I'm again confused. If he starts a bounce or goes to green do I still increase to .5?
 
I know this is difficult to wait but let’s see what he does this cycle. If the lowest he gets today is the 183, I’d increase if he were mine....but you have a lot of cycle ahead with another nadir before PMPS.
 
@Marje and Gracie

I just got back from the Vet. Ravan's urinalysis is Fine, Dr.said it was common for older dogs to leak urine but not so much with cats. He felt it was just from his age.
He examined Ravan throughly & said his Bladder feels good, no abnormalities. His weight was good.
He said he felt a bit of arthritis in his hips ,that's why he's walking slow & laying down.
He recommended Adequan. I told him about the video with Dr. Becker & giving calcitriol & he said as far as he knows it's not recommended for cats. He said he was just too busy to watch the video.

I so wish there was a holistic vet around here!

I mentioned about maybe the Cystocentesis (poked 3 times in the bladder) might have damaged his bladder & he avoided my question & changed the subject.

This is his own practice & he's well liked so his clinic was jammed today I felt he wanted to get on to the next client.

So $200 later I have a bottle of Adequan & still really don't know for sure why he leaking urine? Or why he lays down right after he pees ,like he's in pain?

I'm happy Ravan's BG is finally down. His +2 is a bit lower so not sure how low he'll go today. I'll be home checking. Now I'll be waiting to see if he's going to bounce again into Black!

If his Nadir goes lower then I should not Increase dose?
 
Vet Printed on my receipt "There is an emerging problem with certain "Grain Free diets." Do some reading on the Internet.At this time we recommend you switch to a NON-GRAIN FREE DIET.
The issue is Heart Muscle Problems."

Most of what I read on the internet points out that Grain Free may still be high in Carbs.
 
Last edited:
Oh wow that sounds very frustrating... I can't imagine how you feel. So weird they would write that on the receipt, but not tell you any of that?! He basically wants you to give him carbs again? The amount of senseless vets (or just ones that don't have time?) around here make me so sad. One step at a time, I am glad you got some meds to help him feel better. I hope some others here with experience in this area will be able to help. :bighug:
Maybe add a question mark to you title now that you are back from the vet with some concerns, so you will get more eyes.
 
@Amanda & Shmee

Did you read the message? It's printed on every ones receipt to notify people there's a problem with feeding Grain Free. From what I read on the Internet it's because Grain free doesn't mean it's not high in carbs.
 
Last edited:
I believe grain free dry food led to Rex's diabetes. I found out later that grains could be replaced with potatoes or other higher carbohydrate food. I no longer get grain free foods.
 
Vet Printed on my receipt "There is an emerging problem with certain "Grain Free diets." Do some reading on the Internet.At this time we recommend you switch to a NON-GRAIN FREE DIET.
The issue is Heart Muscle Problems."
Cross-posted on Health:

Check it out for yourself, but at this time it appears the concern is with canine diets. Even the last link (from PetMD) regarding feline cat food states, "High protein, low carbohydrate diets do have their place, particularly in the feeding of diabetic cats."
 
http://vetnutrition.tufts.edu/2017/07/research-update-new-insight-into-grain-free-cat-diets/

Interesting article about Cats & Grain Free Diet.

Perhaps my vet felt it was a good precaution for cats also?
Yes it's an interesting article about a study done on dry food. It lists common misconceptions when assessing dry cat food ingredients, but has nothing to do with your original post
Vet Printed on my receipt "There is an emerging problem with certain "Grain Free diets." Do some reading on the Internet.At this time we recommend you switch to a NON-GRAIN FREE DIET.
The issue is Heart Muscle Problems."
noting a relationship between grain free diets and heart muscle problems in both canine and feline diets..
 
My Bad! I was trying to be helpful. Just got back from the vet & wanted to share the info he gave me. Next time I'll try to read all the info before i post anything!
 
@LizzieInTexas

How come you guys are posting on my old post from 8/7??? I almost missed it.

If you scroll up to Marje & Gracie I wrote what happened today at the vet. Thanks to all of you for checking on Us. :):bighug:

Did you see Ravan's recent BG! I'm glad I didn't increase to .5 yet! He ate quite a bit of food an hour & a half ago I wonder if he'd be swimmin with the sharks if he hadn't :eek:

I'm afraid he's gonna bounce to Mars with that 58 !! Always something! :)
 
Maybe just that little bit of insulin you added will do the trick. At one point I had suggested trying to find a dose between 0.25 and 0.5 units. Will he eat another spoonful of LC food now?

Surf time Ravan! :D
 
@Wendy&Neko

Did you read my post above about what happened at the vet today?

I do remember you saying to tweak the dose .That's why I did increase a tiny bit. I always thought we weren't supposed to do that. Thanks for suggesting it :)

Yes,I did give Ravan a spoon of food when I saw that 58. I'll be checking him again in a few mins.
 
Last edited:
What dose of Adequan do you start with & how many ml ? The vet tech wrote down 0.12 ml I don't think that's correct. I think she said 1.2ml .
How long did it take to work? Are there any side effects? (I can call them tomorrow but I'd like to give the shot tonight.)
 
Vet Printed on my receipt "There is an emerging problem with certain "Grain Free diets." Do some reading on the Internet.At this time we recommend you switch to a NON-GRAIN FREE DIET.
The issue is Heart Muscle Problems."

Most of what I read on the internet points out that Grain Free may still be high in Carbs.
Cross-posted on Health:

Check it out for yourself, but at this time it appears the concern is with canine diets. Even the last link (from PetMD) regarding feline cat food states, "High protein, low carbohydrate diets do have their place, particularly in the feeding of diabetic cats."
Update:
 
@Jill & Alex (GA)

They do mention that 7 cats were in the study but I didn't see any other reference to "Cats" ( It does seem that most studies are on dogs & not cats?)

Legumes ,Peas & Potatoes are used in canned cat food. I wonder if it's something we should avoid feeding our cats?
 
Legumes ,Peas & Potatoes are used in canned cat food. I wonder if it's something we should avoid feeding our cats?
  • Taurine is added to cat food, but not dog food.
  • "Legumes ,Peas & Potatoes are used in canned cat food" - Just my opinion, I don't think any of these ingredients are a problem when used sparingly. However, if one has doubts, do your own research and talk to your vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top