9/10 Figaro AMPS 334 +2:30 363 (bouncing); Question about carbs and homemade/novel protein diets

Figaro's Liz

Member Since 2019
Previous condo

Hey fellow cat fans. I've been exhausted, so sorry to have done lots of lurking rather than posting on the board lately.

Things have been rather... inconsistent. Work is really intense and I've started taking reductions at 60 for my own sanity. Despite that, and despite a variety of other weirdness like skips and fur shots, and trying to shoot outside the scruff whenever possible, Fig is throwing out occasional greens at PS. I finally shot the green (73) last night, he surfed a little, and it seems he bounced (?) up around PM+4 (so weird, he jumped up at +4:30 and ran for food, so I was panicking thinking he'd be low--I was surprised by the 211 that I retested and got ~196 :confused:). In the back of my mind I keep second guessing whether I FS, but I'm trying to just roll with it as we go along and accept things don't always go how I anticipate they will. :woot: He has a dental on Friday, so who knows how things might change in the near future.

Also in the back of my mind I've been wondering if Figaro has a food allergy. He seems to have mild GI issues (I am giving him famotidine once daily for stomach acid and that seems to help a little), and seems itchy around his face/neck. I already cut out turkey, which I suspected was an issue, but I'm wondering if the chicken or beef he eats now are problematic. It seems worth a try with a novel protein, can't hurt really. I am also doing research about homemade diets to decide what might work for us.

My question is--for novel protein trials or for cats on a raw/homemade diet, what can I do to add carbs for feeding the curve? I know I can use Karo for emergencies. For a novel protein trial (using canned), I'm not sure that I'll be able to get higher carb recipes without the ingredients I'm trying to eliminate (chicken and turkey are everywhere!). For homemade, could I add something like potato starch? I think I can do some calculations to figure out appropriate ratios for MC/HC. Any ideas?
 
Hi Liz,
I hope all the work stress subsides. Any hope?
Fig does looking like he's fighting those greens!
One small thing - I tried some kangaroo for civvies and it had lots of gravy. So if its higher carb, that might work. They didn't eat the meat though. What a rough thought - allergic to chicken and turkey.
Maybe you can find some rabbit with different carb contents, with gravy. Talking canned instead of raw though.
Hugs to Leo!
 
Hi Liz,
I hope all the work stress subsides. Any hope?
Fig does looking like he's fighting those greens!
One small thing - I tried some kangaroo for civvies and it had lots of gravy. So if its higher carb, that might work. They didn't eat the meat though. What a rough thought - allergic to chicken and turkey.
Maybe you can find some rabbit with different carb contents, with gravy. Talking canned instead of raw though.
Hugs to Leo!
Hi Jan! Figaro doesn't really like the chunks either. Unless he is super hungry, he eats around them :p
I believe the gravies are carby because of starches, generally, used to thicken up the liquid. So it would make sense to me that adding a controlled amount of a starch, such as potato, would be a simple way to boost carbs with something a little more complex than straight sugar. But I'm not sure, and wonder if anyone has experience :)

The rabbit idea is good! Several brands make rabbit recipes so there must be some options out there.
 
At least the bounce was the result of something good. :D Nice shooting last night.:)

Chicken and beef are common allergies, more so than turkey. Canned options include rabbit, venison, duck, kangaroo, but you really have to read the labels. Natures Variety Instinct rabbit includes pork, their limited ingredient diet includes pea protein which has all paws down here. Koha has lid rabbit, but also green lipped mussels which some are allergic to. I have had more luck with raw. Some of the raw premixes (FoodFurLife and Alnutrin) can also be used with cooked. The ibdkitties website has some suggestions on figuring out what proteins to use,

As for HC, we have had some people make their own “gravy” with rice or potato flour. But not anyone current that I know of. Of course you can use Karo or honey or maple syrup. We had one cat here allergic to corn, so Karo was a no no. Neko got raw, I tried feeding FF gravy, but she reacted to the wheat. I originally used Merrick Cowboy Cookout (no wheat), then they changed to formula to be high phosphorus,.:arghh: After that it was syrup or Weruva. She was Ok with chunks. It had lot of gravy so you could feed just that.
 
Back
Top