? 9/19 Jenn'sCrew- NEED HELP WITH ABBY PMPS 160

Status
Not open for further replies.
What would you think about 9u or 9.5u?

I want to tag @Wendy&Neko as well because I haven’t been following along on Abby. I know there is some thought she might be acro/IAA. Normally a reduction would be 0.5u and she is on her way up but she’s been low for two cycles.
 
I'm not of much use on those high doses, but I'd think you could give at least 9U tonight.....she's starting to head up on her own now and she's been draining her depot for 2 cycles
 
We typically do 1 unit changes at 10 units and .5 unit changes below that. To be conservative, I might go with 9 units as it seems something has changed in Abby.
 
We typically do 1 unit changes at 10 units and .5 unit changes below that. To be conservative, I might go with 9 units as it seems something has changed in Abby.
I am so freaked out by shooting 9u at a 160 BG.
I'm having a panic attack i think
 
You have shot blue on that dose before. Maybe stall 1/2 hour to see if she's more in your comfort zone?
here may be the issue. i opened another lantus pen and didn't realize it's different until just now. It's green and white not purple and gray like they usually are. I thought it was from another company. Something you said about "something changed in Abby" made me look again at that pen. It's U-300, not U-100 what's THAT??? I thought all pens were the same.
 
It says ""Toujeo solostar" instead of "Lantus solostar, so I just thought it was a different company. but this Toujeo says DO NOT remove with a syringe. I was having trouble withdrawing so that's what made me look at it. I started using it on 9/15 PM SHOT
 
Oops, Toujeo is three times more potent than Lantus. Don't think she needs 30 units. Do you have any regular Lantus around? Not sure I would want to experiment with a new insulin.
 
Oops, Toujeo is three times more potent than Lantus. Don't think she needs 30 units. Do you have any regular Lantus around? Not sure I would want to experiment with a new insulin.
oh, that's just wonderful. Good thing she's not at the shelter getting it. So is it ok to give her 9u of the regular lantus???
 
Oops, Toujeo is three times more potent than Lantus. Don't think she needs 30 units. Do you have any regular Lantus around? Not sure I would want to experiment with a new insulin.
But wow, it meant it took 30u to get her down that far???
 
Did you use the Toujeo for her last shot? That would explain why she went so low
She got it for all shots that she was 10u except the first one. The shelter gave it to me so I figured I would use what they gave rather that my own since she was going into such a high dose.
 
I think 9u of regular Lantus would be OK. How long has she gotten the Toujeo? Maybe put a note in the remarks for the day you started the new pen, 10 u of Toujeo was too much but I don't know if the depot was full.

I have heard of an acrokitty mom trying Toujeo, but I think I personally wouldn't like to be the one experimenting. It may eventually be a good solution for high doses, but is rather new.
 
I wonder if she has some IAA and the insulin switch confused it. No way of knowing of course until she is tested for high dose conditions.
 
It's an hour past regular shot time so I'm going to skip tonight. It's too hard with the others to have different shot times.
I will add to her SS the times she got Toujeo.
 
The shelter gave it to me so I figured I would use what they gave rather that my own since she was going into such a high dose.

I'd make sure the shelter understands the difference between the two insulins too....if they're giving Toujeo thinking it's the same as Lantus, they could really have some big problems
 
I'd make sure the shelter understands the difference between the two insulins too....if they're giving Toujeo thinking it's the same as Lantus, they could really have some big problems
I did. We get donations of insulin and supplies all the time. Like the u-40 needles don't go with the u-100 insulin. I just never knew there were more options than these two. So learning experience all around. Just glad nothing happened to Abby.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top