? 9/5/17 - Jones -Need help with numbers VCA GRRRRR

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Ok, numbers are out of control.

No changes in food choices over the last week. If anything the introduction of the raw and Rawz food has done wonders on the IBD front. No loose stool or tummy upset.

But his BG's are crazy! I did test during the night to see if he was going low and bouncing but that isn't it. He has been on the same 5mg pred dose for awhile now. I did try doing the whole dose at night but ended going back to 2.5mg BID, thinking maybe that is why I was getting those high AMPS plus he decided to stop eating the food I was using to steer. Being IBD it isn't easy finding replacements.

So...I am thinking 1) dose is too low but it seemed to be getting some low numbers last week. 2) He has an infection somewhere but he is not using the litter box more than I would expect with these numbers. His water intake is slightly increased but not out of control. Maybe a dental issue? Was mentioned he did have some gingivitis last vet visit. 3) Insulin has gone bad. It is clear but I dropped it the other day and now it has bubbles in it. Plus DH placed some frozen meat beside the cup in the fridge.

I did increase his dose last night and got I reduced +3 number but it was right back up there this morning.
 
Last edited:
He looks a bit wobbly to me with some possible bouncing.
- AM 9/1 may have triggered a delayed bounce. Not sure if he went lower before the 76@ +7 or if he had a sizeable drop all at once. Triggered bounce AM- 9/2
- PM 9/2 - 200 @ PMPS and a drop to 119 @+2 may or may not have created a bit of wobblies as I call it.
- PM 9/4 - he dropped 140 pts by +3 and not sure what he did later

Just observations that may or may not have any merit. Since you increased just keep doing what you're doing. Glad to hear the new fuds are helping. I did pick up some Rawz food myself for the kitten but haven't tried it yet.
 
Remember, you may not see much change until the depot catches up with the increased dose.

I'd put my money on the dental issues messing with Jones' numbers. Gingivitis can throw an OTJ kitty out of remission. If the vet saw 'some' gingivitis, there's likely more than what you'd expect given how hard it can be to inspect a cat's teeth when the kitty is awake.
 
Since you increased just keep doing what you're doing

I may have jumped the gun on the increase but with the pred - I don't want to get too far behind.

It could be bounce, it is hard as the pred seems to be pushing the numbers up. I tried to give 9% tsp for the shot food - but he will only take a few licks and leave it. I guess I can keep trying or maybe give a whiskas treat to help.
 
I'd put my money on the dental issues messing with Jones' numbers


Have a appt on the 30th for a check and blood work. I am worried about that as well. It was deemed more important to get the IBD under firm control then a dental but I am wondering if it is now time to just bite the bullet and get it done.

Ordered a new pen just in case. I can at least eliminate that if it is that.
 
How long since you opened your last one? Can't you just walk into a people pharmacy and buy a pack of cartridges? Where do you get your pens from?

I tried that last night and they wanted a prescription from the vet at the pharmacy where I get everything else. Called vet and just ordered it. When in on the 30th was going to ask if I could get a script so I could take it to Costco and save some money.

Ever since they got bought by VCA they are really sticky with prescriptions.

I got it about 2 months ago. It is about 1/2 ways empty.

ETA - if it isn't the insulin I still have the pen which will be good for a while.
 
When my vet got bought out by VCA they started charging for prescriptions too. :rolleyes: Did you ask Costco if they need a prescription for a cat? Insulin should still be good after 2 months, I had cartridges go until almost three months, but that was using it to the last drop.
 
Did you ask Costco if they need a prescription for a cat
Not yet. Was going to drop by this weekend when I had some shopping and find out.

My old vet was so easy - we talked, we discussed what I was doing and she just made it happen. Now I don't have her - using her replacement and have an IM vet in between that is just dealing with the IBD and it is just.......frustrating. Every time I call, there are questions and then they are not up to date with the IM....it is driving me crazy.

I really am beginning to think it is a dental thing/pred thing. I been chasing good numbers ever since that switch to 5mg on July 1st. Also we had a few screw ups while I was dealing with my own health issues and being in the ER etc. I feel so bad right now for him.
 
They now want to move him to pro zinc. They feel that I am not giving him anything.

Questioning my dosing. Want my curve data.. Sheesh.
 
Just go into a different pharmacy and ask for Lantus. Spout all sort of information about your cat and diabetes so that the pharmacist knows that you know your stuff.
From http://www.staffordpharmacy.com/pharmacy/rx-pad/rx-center/do-i-need-a-prescription-for-insulin/
In Alberta, insulin can be sold to a patient without a prescription. Insulin is in the Schedule 2 drug class. Schedule 2 medications can only be sold in a pharmacy, and they must be kept behind the pharmacy counter. In order to sell a schedule 2 medication, the pharmacist must set up a complete patient profile and ensure the medication is appropriate for the patient.
 
Last edited:
No hoops in BC. They just need to know it's for a cat so not paid by Pharmacare. We have had other Alberta members buy insulin at Costco or other pharmacies without any issue.
 
Going to Costco this weekend to check it out. Will take the label with me from one of the pens.

Came home very upset...like they don't know me anymore and what I go through for my pets.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top