9/5 Hyde AMPS 448 +6 383 +8 303 PMPS 389 +6.5 284

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are back from the vets. He apologized for being terse on Wednesday voice message. His son had been in the hospital after a motorcycle accident and he was understandably distracted.

Hyde has gained about a pound since May (9.1 to 9.8 lbs). He also thinks 7.5u BID is too much insulin but I am not going to decrease the dose. I think she is doing better on this dose than she did at any lower dose.

They did the blood draw and will keep it frozen and ship it overnight on Tuesday (since Monday is a holiday in the US). I hope it gets there on Wednesday in time to be tested that day. I do not want to have to wait another week for results.:nailbiting::nailbiting:

As for Jekyll, I pushed him to make a referral to the diagnostic hospital and he said that there were still tests he could run (probably less expensively). He mentioned the specific tests but I am not familiar enough to remember what they were. I know pancreatitis is one of them. I did get copies of his blood work that I could post if anyone wanted to look at them.

Thanks for all the support at this stressful time. It really means a lot to me.
 
I hope it's ok to freeze the blood. I haven't heard of anyone doing that, but hopefully the vet knows it's all right.

Sending lots of support your way. You are smart to hold her dose. One of the beauties of following the Tight Reg Protocol and increasing the dose methodically per its directions, is that you can be confident that you have not overdosed your cat. If his dose had been raised by 1u increments, then there would be room for doubt. But you have removed that doubt, and can clearly see that this is what she needs. You have the advantage of being on this site and seeing that dosing needs vary from a couple of drops to a big dose. The vet likely has never seen cats that need 60+ units of insulin.

by the way, no worries about last night. I would just keep a mental question mark there and think it's possible she cleared the bounce in one day. Might not have - sometimes it's iffy to be able to tell. You may be able to tell by what she does tonight; if she heads for blues again or not. In any case, people have to sleep, so it was totally fine. I don't think she was in any danger of going too low last night. The speed at which she was dropping had slowed considerably. When I was deciding when to test next, I looked at the current test and compared it to the last one, mentally calculated if punkin kept that rate up, would he go below 50 by his typical nadir? Cats don't drop at a consistent rate, but there is a pattern to each cat and some logic to it.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hugs for you today Anne. :bighug::bighug::bighug: It's hard when both your kitties have issues. I'm glad there was an explanation for your vet's comments on Wednesday and hope his son is OK.

Scritches to your kitties - stressful day for all three of you. The pancreatitis test the vet mentioned may have been the Spec fPL test.
 
Reviewed the symptoms of pancreatitis and I don't think they fit but will test anyway!

DH and I went out to a concert tonight at a small place, max about 500 people (not sold out) and who do we see? The vet. Don't think he saw us and probably would not have recognized us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top