? 9 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 607 | Colitis (?); wouldn't eat; no shot; Miralax/Cisapride problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...1-205-2-113-3-106-food-carb-confusion.181899/

A long night and longer day for Girlie today. I woke up at 1:00 am to find a litter box disaster: too soft stool, really stinky. Girlie kept going back to the litter box every 30 minutes, straining mightily, her belly contracting in waves: then vomiting from straining so hard. I took her in to the emergency vet at 3:30 am. She seemed okay, so he gave me Cerenia 16 mg to help with the nausea/vomiting/sore tummy. She got 1/2 a tablet at 6:00 am but continued with the straining and now dry wretching as there was nothing to throw up. She wouldn't eat, so no shot this AM.

Back to the vet at +4:30. There could be many different causes, including the amounts of Cisapride and Miralax. Tentative diagnosis is Colitis. Vet checked for ketones: negative. Girlie is back home and I'm monitoring her and need to keep an eye out for any ketones.

The hope is that she'll eat a little bit tonight so I can give her some insulin. I'd like to give her the full 0.5 U of Lantus, but if she will only eat a tsp or two of food, should I make that 0.25?

I've only been giving her 1/8 tsp of Miralax am/pm mixed with her food, and 0.35 ml of Cisapride am/pm (compounded liquid). She was originally on 1/4 tsp of Miralax am/pm and 0.5 ml Cisapride am/pm, but that proved to be too much Miralax: stool too soft and stinky. Could the Miralax or the Cisapride have caused this? I know that when I had Miralax after surgery, my stomach wasn't very happy either...

Poor, poor miserable baby...:(

Oh good! She just went looking for food, so I gave her 2 tsps of Whiskas Pink: familiar, should be easy on her stomach, and has never given her any problems. Fingers crossed....
 
Poor kitty! Hope things quickly improve. Have you tried Slippery Elm bark? Probiotics and digestive enzymes? I buy SEB from Mountain Rose Herbs online in Oregon I buy at Walmart the renew life probiotics and Dr. Good pets feline digestive enzymes. You mix the SEB eith warm water and mix in good topp ed with freeze dried chicken or turkey or Bonita flakes
 
Paws crossed Girlie feels better soon. :bighug:

When Neko was off her food, I usually gave her full dose, unless she gave me a green preshot and was doing the reduction tango. But I knew I could get calories in with assist feeding and didn't have the vomit issue. Keep in mind that not all the insulin goes to combat the carbs in the food. Even kitties undergoing anesthesia and can't eat can do 1/2 dose. Of course, you have to be able to monitor.
 
For what's it's worth ... when Gizmo got into the bag of dog food and was really sick, his vet said I could give half a dose of insulin that night even though he wasn't eating.
 
I only give Marvin Lax a Day at PMPS 1/8 tsp. You may want to try just once a day with Miralax. The other supplements that folks mentioned here I see often on other post, it is definitively worth a try. It maybe more sensitive on her tummy. Hope Girlie is feeling better. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top