AMPS 567, +3: >600, +4: 575, +5: >600 HELP!

Tucker's Mama CS

Member Since 2019
Okay, so Tucker has been on Levemir for a full week now, and I think he only had 1 or 2 days where it looked like the numbers were improving.

Two days last week (20th and 21st) I got stuck at work late, so his shots (and pre-shot test) came about an hour later than usual, could that have messed this up this bad?? I was hoping to have seen better numbers by now. Thankfully his ketones are still negative. Any thoughts on increasing to 1.5 or 2 units now? I have not spoken to his vet yet, but plan to do so tomorrow when he's in the office.

Also, do you all have terrible issues with getting bubbles in the syringe when you withdraw the Levemir from the pen?? I never had issues with bubbles with his Vetsulin, but I am having a heck of a time with the Levemir.
 
Hi Tucker's mom. I am not an expert, but I can offer my opinion.

I don't think an hour later should be responsible for these high numbers. I think your Lev starting dose was way too low. Usually we consider the dose you were on with the previous insulin and you were at 5 units on Vetsulin. And with DKA in the rear view mirror just 3 months ago, I would want to get him out of these higher numbers.

I am glad you are testing for ketones and should continue daily while he is in these high numbers.

He needs an increase of insulin, but I am not too sure how much. I would think at least to 1.5 or 2 units. Lets see what the others that were tagged think ( they are the experts)

As far as the bubbles , I use Lantus, but I have had pens that seemed to be more problematic than others. When I draw the insulin, I flick up any bubbles to the top. I think take the plunger and pull down on it a few units and then slowly plunge it back up so the bubbles leave. That usually helps me.
 
As I said on your previous post, you started Ticker on too low a dose of Levemir. Typically we take the dose of the previous insulin into mind. I would jump much higher, 3-4 units, as you we’re doing 5 on Vetsulin, maybe 3 if you want to be conservative.

Last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-day-on-levemir.212066/#post-2350912

There was that one day (the 19th) where it looked like the depot was building and his numbers were improving, and then I was late on his PM stuff the next 2 days after getting stuck at work, and that seemed to make things worse. Thanks for your help.
 
Hi Tucker's mom. I am not an expert, but I can offer my opinion.

I don't think an hour later should be responsible for these high numbers. I think your Lev starting dose was way too low. Usually we consider the dose you were on with the previous insulin and you were at 5 units on Vetsulin. And with DKA in the rear view mirror just 3 months ago, I would want to get him out of these higher numbers.

I am glad you are testing for ketones and should continue daily while he is in these high numbers.

He needs an increase of insulin, but I am not too sure how much. I would think at least to 1.5 or 2 units. Lets see what the others that were tagged think ( they are the experts)

As far as the bubbles , I use Lantus, but I have had pens that seemed to be more problematic than others. When I draw the insulin, I flick up any bubbles to the top. I think take the plunger and pull down on it a few units and then slowly plunge it back up so the bubbles leave. That usually helps me.

Thank you! I have been hesitant to make changes without speaking with the vet, but I want him out of these high numbers so I am going to increase his dose starting tonight, thanks to you and @Wendy&Neko
 
I see you shot 2 units tonight. I was hoping you would go higher. With recent history of DKA, you've been lucky so far with negative ketones. Good to see you are testing those regularly. I would continue every day while he is stuck in these high numbers.
 
I see you shot 2 units tonight. I was hoping you would go higher. With recent history of DKA, you've been lucky so far with negative ketones. Good to see you are testing those regularly. I would continue every day while he is stuck in these high numbers.
I did, at least until I speak with the vet on Monday. I don't know if I have it in his spreadsheet or not yet (I've been off my laptop for many hours) but his +2 was 500 and his +4 was 260 @Wendy&Neko
 
Back
Top