AMPS 72 skipping

Patty and Smoochie

Member Since 2020
Hi first time Smoochie has an AMPS number of 4....what do I do please do I give him less insulin? He is still on 1 unit Lantus twice daily. Do I give him 0.75unit from now on? Thank you

(I slept in accidentally so have only just checked him which is an hour later than normal!):banghead:
 
Hi Patty, as long as there are no ketones in the picture, I think I would skip the dose this morning because the AMPS is much lower than any other preshot BG you have shot and you need to work your way down to that number. You are still very early on in the FD journey and you don't have a lot of data yet.
I would stay with 1 unit when you give the dose tonight as Smoochie hasn't earned a reduction yet. But he is getting closer with that 58. He might be dropping lower at night so I would get some more tests in overnight if you can
 
Ok thank you so much I will skip it this morning and just do the regular 1 unit tonight again. Thank you for the reply!

I just gave him like a teaspoon of food because he was really hungry and being an hour later already I felt bad for him but at least I can give him some more food now phew!

I just tested him 30 mins later and his BG was 4.2
 
Feed him as morning now. I would get a test in this cycle just to see what it is with the skip.
He is responding really well to the insulin for a newly diagnosed cat which is great.

Cats often drop lower at night, so always get a before bed test in.
If the before bed test is lower than the preshot number than he will probably drop lower during the night.
So I would be setting the alarm around the lowest point in the cycle (nadir)...looks like his is around +5 or +6 but it can change, and checking him again.
Always check again if you get a lower number because you need to make sure he is on the way back up.
Smoochie could well have dropped quite low last night as he was only at 4 (72) an hour after AMPS.

Are you leaving him out any food overnight?
A lot of us use an automatic feeder which opens at set times and is a great asset for FD cats.

What time do you give the insulin doses? Because you are skipping, this is a good time for you to move it to an earlier time slot if that suits you better.
 
Feed him as morning now. I would get a test in this cycle just to see what it is with the skip.
He is responding really well to the insulin for a newly diagnosed cat which is great.

Cats often drop lower at night, so always get a before bed test in.
If the before bed test is lower than the preshot number than he will probably drop lower during the night.
So I would be setting the alarm around the lowest point in the cycle (nadir)...looks like his is around +5 or +6 but it can change, and checking him again.
Always check again if you get a lower number because you need to make sure he is on the way back up.
Smoochie could well have dropped quite low last night as he was only at 4 (72) an hour after AMPS.

Are you leaving him out any food overnight?
A lot of us use an automatic feeder which opens at set times and is a great asset for FD cats.

What time do you give the insulin doses? Because you are skipping, this is a good time for you to move it to an earlier time slot if that suits you better.

Yes he seems to be going in the right direction luckily but like you said he is very new to all this but I'm thinking positive and hoping for the best!
True I see what you mean, ok I will definitely do some tests late tonight/early morning times (as well as the usual ones I do throughout the day) and set my alarm and get out of bed this time haha!

I haven't been, I only fill up the food bowls with food right before I go to bed around 11pm (I give the insulin at 8am and 8pm) I have 3 cats and they all sleep on my bed with my 2 toddlers all night and feel like they never move haha (the cats that is!) but you are right I will look into an automatic feeder for them.

Thank you again
 
On a blood ketone meter the ketones start to show up at 2.4
If you were testing the urine, you would be concerned with anything above a trace of ketones.
If the vet didn't mention them, Smoochis probably didn't have them.

Can you take down the ? now in your subject line and change it to something else like 'AMPS 72 skipping' or something similar as you don't need help now thanks.
 
Hahaha that's funny and I'm sure he'd catch on but unfortunately Smoochie is the absolute laziest (so are the other 2) but in a race to who wins with food Smoochie would always be last :( Even the other 2 don't run for food...spoilt much?! I think I'll have to just get up throughout the night and put some more food out when I get up during the night to give my daughter a bottle...otherwise I wouldn't know which cat got the food and likely not Smoochie.
 
Back
Top