? AMPS 75, 153 past two days, PMPS 175,144,166,113 Past 4 days

AnneforMarley

Member Since 2020
Good evening, cat lovers and protectors! First time posting on the Lantus Support Group. I have skipped the lantus insulin the last 7 of 8 checks. I am of course relieved that Marley is normalizing blood sugars, and a bit surprised. He has had only one session of hypoglycemia readings treated with a higher carb. From your experience is this unusual to decrease insulin so quickly? Will he revert to higher levels in a few days, and was this just a glimmer of hope of how good his levels could be? Please review his SS and tell me if on the right track?

I am slightly confused as read this:

”Good glycemic control soon after diagnosis reverses glucose toxicity and many newly-diagnosed diabetic cats can have their insulin dose gradually reduced and many can have their insulin completely withdrawn. It is suggested that insulin not be withdrawn completely for at least two weeks after starting insulin therapy to ensure adequate time for beta cells to recover from glucose toxicity.”

Marley started at one unit on February 21 evening, and has been titrations down to 0.25 due to lowering numbers. No concerning signs, he is so much better then a few months ago. This is Day 18 of starting lantus twice daily regime.
 
Hi Anne and Marley
Are you still feeding DM dry? Your SS says he ate 1 1/2 cups the other day. I see you say you keep it for rewards.
I would completely ditch the dry food. If you have it in the house, cats will find it. It is 13% carbs and is also low on moisture (7%). Canned is 78% moisture.
I found Sheba had bitten through the pkt of dry dog food I had foolishly left out for her to find.

Are you feeding several smaller meals throughout the day and night?

Marley is still in higher numbers than normal a lot of the time. To get a strong remission you need to have him in numbers under 100 most of the time and definitely under 120 on a human meter, that I see you are using.
I would try dropping the dose down to 0.1 units and give that to him when he is high enough to give it and when you can be there to test the BG levels. You may still have to skip some doses but I don’t think his pancreas is quite ready to go it alone yet. You may need to increase back to 0.25 but only time will tell.
I’ll look for the link on how to dose 0.1 and post it. I am on my iPhone at the moment. If you are unsure how to proceed, please post and ask for help.
 
Last edited:
Hi Anne and Marley
Are you still feeding DM dry? Your SS says he ate 1 1/2 cups the other day. I see you say you keep it for rewards.
I would completely ditch the dry food. If you have it in the house, cats will find it. It is 13% carbs and is also low on moisture (7%). Canned is 78% moisture.
I found Sheba had bitten through the pkt of dry dog food I had foolishly left out for her to find.

Are you feeding several smaller meals throughout the day and night?

Marley is still in higher numbers than normal a lot of the time. To get a strong remission you need to have him in numbers under 100 most of the time and definitely under 120 on a human meter, that I see you are using.
I would try dropping the dose down to 0.1 units and give that to him when he is high enough to give it and when you can be there to test the BG levels. You may still have to skip some doses but I don’t think his pancreas is quite ready to go it alone yet. You may need to increase back to 0.25 but only time will tell.
I’ll look for the link on how to dose 0.1 and post it. I am on my iPhone at the moment. If you are unsure how to proceed, please post and ask for help.
Regarding diet, 99 percent is soft canned low carb, so dry food tiny rewards til gone. It is now not accessible.
Marley gets frequent feedings during the day, but once I go to bed, he does not get more food. He weighs 15 pounds, and gets about 2 cans a day of soft food low carb high protein. His activity level is low during the winter- a couch potato often! I will try the 0.1 units.
Thank you. I agree the pancreas needs a wee bit of help still!
 
Please keep posting and updating the SS so we can see how Marley is going.
If you are unsure if you should give a dose (because the BG is too low) you can stall, don’t feed, and test again 20 mins later to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for help. If you are not comfortable shooting, then you can skip.
I would leave a small snack out for him at night.
 
Hi Anne and Marley
Are you still feeding DM dry? Your SS says he ate 1 1/2 cups the other day. I see you say you keep it for rewards.
I would completely ditch the dry food. If you have it in the house, cats will find it. It is 13% carbs and is also low on moisture (7%). Canned is 78% moisture.
I found Sheba had bitten through the pkt of dry dog food I had foolishly left out for her to find.

Are you feeding several smaller meals throughout the day and night?

Marley is still in higher numbers than normal a lot of the time. To get a strong remission you need to have him in numbers under 100 most of the time and definitely under 120 on a human meter, that I see you are using.
I would try dropping the dose down to 0.1 units and give that to him when he is high enough to give it and when you can be there to test the BG levels. You may still have to skip some doses but I don’t think his pancreas is quite ready to go it alone yet. You may need to increase back to 0.25 but only time will tell.
I’ll look for the link on how to dose 0.1 and post it. I am on my iPhone at the moment. If you are unsure how to proceed, please post and ask for help.
Please keep posting and updating the SS so we can see how Marley is going.
If you are unsure if you should give a dose (because the BG is too low) you can stall, don’t feed, and test again 20 mins later to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for help. If you are not comfortable shooting, then you can skip.
I would leave a small snack out for him at night.
 
Please keep posting and updating the SS so we can see how Marley is going.
If you are unsure if you should give a dose (because the BG is too low) you can stall, don’t feed, and test again 20 mins later to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for help. If you are not comfortable shooting, then you can skip.
I would leave a small snack out for him at night.
Yes I will start leaving a snack when I go to bed. I slept in today, which is like a “stall” as I was late to check Marley’s blood sugar and he had not eaten. It was 106 off insulin for 4th day.
 
Back
Top