Bear 3-9/AMPS 206/+2 87/+3 48/+3.5 57/+4 48 /+4.25 47/+4.5 51/+5 55/+7 66/

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bear & Lora, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Previous Day

    Bear's BG data today is leading me to believe I might have been mistaken in my thoughts.
    Instead of needing an increase in insulin for the Carbs now that he is able to keep on board we might be heading for a decrease.
     
  2. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    +3 (48)
    Wow!
    I even fed him an ounce of 17% HC at +2.5! :eek:
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  3. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Oh my Bear! Glad he came up for you.

    The HC food will wear off in a few hours , so keep on monitoring. It could be that he feeling better now and when the pain went away, his BG's came down. Good catch on the 48 and congrats on the reduction. :cat:
     
  4. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    +4 48BG
    I'm confused now.
    The 57BG reading was false?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    @Bobbie And Bubba
    +4.25 47BG
    Used the other Meter for this test.
    The 57BG must have been false.
    I just gave him more 17% HC.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
  6. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    @Bobbie And Bubba
    His nadir in the past, majority of the time is between +4.5 & +5.
     
  7. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    With +5 55BG I think he is surfing.
     
  8. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    How is Bear feeling? Hope you are a little more rested.
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Surf it into the PMPS. When was the last food given? I think I would get another test soon even though his normal nadir is at +4.5 - +5. Something has changed with him.

    This is just my humble opinion, but when he is lower numbers like this, I would stay with the same meter. Your don't want to have differential between two meters to be a factor giving you a false sense of security. I personally think just using one brand meter is the way to go. The only way I would use another brand meter is if my main one was down.
     
  10. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Bear's appetite has drastically decreased since this morning the +5 & +7 test he didn't even want his testing treats.
    He took them out of my hand then spit them out. He is acting very lethargic.
    I am feeling stumped.
    I got six hours sleep last night which is the most at one time I have gotten in days but I still feel kind of like a Mac Truck hit me and I am on the mend but definitely not 100% UHhh.
    I am using only one meter but since I got a strange 57BG test reading I tested with the new one to see if it was in the same ball park as the old one, which it was. They are the same brand meter just different colors.
    +4 17%HC but he would only eat a little 0.3 oz
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  11. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Not eating well again sounds like the cerenia shot could be wearing off.
    Okay, then they are about the same number with 20% + or - differential.
     
  12. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Everything has changed with Bear except that he will eventually bounce.
    These new low green numbers that run way too long in his cycle are freaking me out a bit.
    I feel like I am on an alien planet without a clue as to what is going on with a feeling that danger is at my doorstep.
     
    Krystina & Nelli likes this.
  13. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Not trying to sound like a drama queen just telling you how I feel. o_O:nailbiting:
     
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That's okay, it was an honest feeling. As long as you have plenty of test strips, higher carb food, and the ability to monitor, you are in control :)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  15. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Yep. Got any pills left? I would get Cerenia and Ondan both on board ASAP.
     
  16. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    What the heck Lizzie I don't even have that post of Bobbie's.
    What number is it?

    I gave him the Ondan at +7 an hour and half ago.
    You think I should give the Cerenia too.
    He can't OD on Cerenia can he?
     
  17. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    When did he get his shot again? What time? Once every 24 hours is fine.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  18. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Yesterday about 1PM.
    I guess the Vet gave me the wrong info she said it would last till Sunday.
     
  19. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Crista, Bear is ~15.5#. Vet prescribed 16mg. Opinion? Seems high to me.
     
  20. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Yeah I read that but didn't question it because that's what your vet said. I know from work that once every day up to 5 days is our standard protocol. Although I know some members here use cerenia every day without stopping and it's fine.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  21. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    There was a Chihauhau o our driveway when DH opened the door.
    Bear was in my lap for a test and his body went taut with stress but I went ahead and tested him.
    He tested 102BG @ 8.5
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  22. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Does it seem like it helped?
     
  23. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Well, now you know how to raise his BG :D

    b92e2b669971dfe6a99aa3839c0ecdc9--animal-funnies-funny-animals.jpg
     
    Bear & Lora and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  24. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That seems right.
     
  25. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Yes one 16 mg tab is okay. Ming gets 16 mg as well and he's ~17 lbs.

    [​IMG]

    For dogs but it's the same for cats.

    Other info I've retained from work: you should give cerenia injectable to cats SQ and not IV (dogs is ok with both) but also some vets at my hospital aren't too picky about that and will give cerenia IV and we haven't had problems with that. Zoetis also only seems to recommend tablets for dogs but everyone uses it for cats and dogs.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  26. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I was so distracted I didn't offer him a treat at test.
    Just gave him some and he is daintily eating them.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  27. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Daintily eating treats is far better than not eating them. The Chihuahua got Bear a little fluffed up. That's to be expected and it's a good sign he did react rather than being complacent about it.
    Those strings of green numbers are exactly what we all seek. They are, under normal circumstances, a delight to see but I understand your concern with Bear's appetite being off of late. The Ondansetron and Cerenia work on different nausea centres so hopefully the ondansetron will help keep his appetite up.
     
  28. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Well he just vomited up the treats so now we are behind the nausea.
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I am out of my league for how often cerenia dosing. @LizzieInTexas , can he have more?
     
  30. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Yes. Pill or shot every 24 hours. I would stick with just Ondan if it seems to be working but that can be debated. Really Lora's call.
     
  31. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I gave Bear another Cerenia pill 10 min ago and my husband found the Ondan on the couch that I had thought went down his throat.
    I gave that to him 5 min go.
    I hope with all my might both pills make it into his bloodstream before he vomits again.
    Does anyone know how long he needs to keep it on board to be effective?
     
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I am not sure but I think it is a 20 minute rule with most meds. That is what I go with when my civvie,Forest throws up his food with thyroid med with 20 minutes, then I give the med again. That is a good question for the vet next time you talk with him/her. I don't know if that 20 minute rule is for all meds.
     
  33. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I read it takes 2 hours for a tablet to work for dogs. We had a dog come in for vomiting, gave him a shot of cerenia and waited 2 hours before we offered food and watched him for the day to see if he would vomit again.
     
  34. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I've also been taught here that ondan every 8 hours if needed is safe so you might have to do that with Bear to keep up with the nausea.
     
  35. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Btw, I would stop offering food IF POSSIBLE just to settle his stomach. Are we about 3 hours from shot time? He seems safe so I wouldn't give food or he might develop an aversion to it.
     
  36. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Yes, 2.5 hrs away for PMPS. No food at all, but at this point we are also dealing with his extra stomach acid.
     
  37. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    5 min till Cerenia has stayed on board &10 min for pndan for 2 hours.
     
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I find ondansetron starts to work in 30-40 minutes, ECID. Are you giving the Cerenia in a gel cap. They are very bitter and need to be disguised.
    The five days in a row is old school. My IM vet (Canada West) recommended every day dosing.
    What are Bear’s signs of stomach acid? Have you been giving him anything for it?

    And BTW, congrats on the reduction. Sometimes cats are persistent in their love for low numbers. That’s when I would break out the big guns like syrup, or an HC like 21%. Are you still giving him the HC with wheat for carbs?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2019
    Reason for edit: low not high numbers
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  39. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    +12 (142)
    About 2 or 3 years ago Bear started throwing up when he went longer than 6 to 7 hours without food.
    We figured it out when we quit putting out kibble to free food because we were trying to help him to lose weight and portion his food.
    He would throe up slimy clear liquid sometimes with a little foam in it.
    I haven't been giving him anything for it because I give him meals & snacks and he never goes longer than 4 hours without something in his stomach. So problem seemed rectified.

    Yes I am still giving him the HC with wheat.
    DH went to the pet store and got timed feeder whule he was out running errands, I was going to get no wheat HC tomorrow.

    It is 20 min past shot time do you suggest 1.75u or do you think 1.5u because his food is still off?
     
  40. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko
    Bear's +11.5 is higher than his PMPS.
    He is dropping.
     
  41. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
  42. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I was putting some baby food on my finger with the Cerenia and putting it at the back of his tongue followed with a small syringe of water at the side of his mouth.
    I don't have gel capsules. I guess you would buy them at the pet store or the health food store?
     
  43. Bear & Lora

    Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    He only ate 0.2oz. :(
    I will try to give him more food in an hour.
     
  44. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I bought #4 gel caps from my local compounding pharmacy. Size 3,4 or 5 are good for cats. Smaller number equals larger gelcap. Most gel caps at health food stores are too large. You can by online, can even get meat flavoured ones, search for pet gelcaps. Or just buy plain unflavoured.

    Bear, be different and please eat tonight. Sorry I can’t stay with you. My eyelids are slamming shut.
     
  45. Kelly and Buddy

    Kelly and Buddy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Keep in mind that all meters can vary as much as 20% on their readings so, technically, a 57 and 48 could show up from the same drop of blood. I've taken different readings from the same sample and gotten a 10 point difference from low readings. It's frustrating and concerning but it does happen.
     

Share This Page