Beginner, need help with dosing!!!

Abby and Cassie

Member Since 2020
Hello! I use the lantus solostar pen. I give 2 units once in morning and once at night. I only have the pen needles right now, my syringes are arriving in the mail in a few days, hopefully tomorrow. I tested Cassie's blood sugar at +11 and it was 75. A bunch of folks advised me not to shoot tonight, mostly because I don't have enough strips to test and because I can only go down to one unit. My question is, I'm skipping tonight but in the morning should I start with 1 unit? We think that if it's just now 75 at +11 that it must've been lower throughout the day, which makes sense as Cassie has been very lethargic. I thought it was due to mouth pain from her big dental surgery, but now I believe she must've had low blood sugar.

So it seems 2 units must be a bit much for her, and that's why I wonder if it's okay for me to give one unit for now starting tomorrow morning?
 
Hey Abby! Welcome to the Lantus forum! Here's your last post from Health

One thing we do here is put the link to our previous thread in the body of the post so people can quickly go back and read what's been going on and what kind of advice you've already gotten.

As I said in the other thread, since you don't have syringes and are stuck giving whole unit doses only, I'd drop to 1U tomorrow if she's over 200 at AMPS.

You're also going to need more than 3 strips so hopefully your new meter will get there soon too! Can you drive to WalMart or do you only buy online?
 
Hey Abby! Welcome to the Lantus forum! Here's your last post from Health

One thing we do here is put the link to our previous thread in the body of the post so people can quickly go back and read what's been going on and what kind of advice you've already gotten.

As I said in the other thread, since you don't have syringes and are stuck giving whole unit doses only, I'd drop to 1U tomorrow if she's over 200 at AMPS.

You're also going to need more than 3 strips so hopefully your new meter will get there soon too! Can you drive to WalMart or do you only buy online?

Thank you Chris! I'll remember that for the future. :)
I can only do online right now, my car bit the dust a few months ago. :( Tracking says strips and meter will be here tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

You mentioned doing 1.25 doses too, I'm not sure my syringes come with the .25 marking. Can you direct me to a good syringe that includes that mark too? These are the syringes I got. I'm hoping to stick with 6mm needles, 4mm seems to short and 8mm seems scary long lol!
 
Thank you Chris! I'll remember that for the future. :)
I can only do online right now, my car bit the dust a few months ago. :( Tracking says strips and meter will be here tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

You mentioned doing 1.25 doses too, I'm not sure my syringes come with the .25 marking. Can you direct me to a good syringe that includes that mark too?
Just wondering if you bought the syringes with half unit markings, it make it much easier , we increase or decrease by 0.25 units
 
Can you direct me to a good syringe that includes that mark too?

Unfortunately, there's no such thing. The best we can do is syringes with half unit marks. It takes a little practice, but you will learn to get between the half unit and whole unit marks! (a pair or two of reading glasses can help! I'd wear 2 pair of 3X reading glasses on top of each other to get a 6x magnification)

Here's a picture of .25 and .75
.25 unit.PNG


.75.PNG
 

Attachments

  • .25 unit.PNG
    .25 unit.PNG
    68.5 KB · Views: 126
  • .75.PNG
    .75.PNG
    85.1 KB · Views: 138
Unfortunately, there's no such thing. The best we can do is syringes with half unit marks. It takes a little practice, but you will learn to get between the half unit and whole unit marks! (a pair or two of reading glasses can help! I'd wear 2 pair of 3X reading glasses on top of each other to get a 6x magnification)

Here's a picture of .25 and .75
View attachment 54187

View attachment 54188

Wow that's crazy!! Will definitely get reading glasses. I wear prescription glasses too, so I'm gonna look hilarious with 3 pairs on my head. LOL.

By the way, her preshot was 74!! So definitely skipping insulin tonight. Can't believe it went down one! She's chowing down now and seems content.
 
Back
Top