Carbon 3/4 AMPS 371 PMPS 369 Question?

mialia

Member Since 2018
Trying to adjust his dose. He crashed at (the U40 equivalent of) 1.25 but at 1.00 he's staying steady around 3. Should I raise it again? Maybe I converted wrong.
 
Here is the link to your previous post, which we include for connectivity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/carbon2-28-amps-400-pmps-398-question.211328/

The depot should be full now. What you do next with the dose depends on whether you are following SLGS or Tight Regulation for dosing. Where possible, I would try to get a second test each cycle, so we can get a better idea of what is happening on this dose. If an increase is needed, it would be by no more than 0.25 units.
 
Not well. This is a shot my old roommate took when she got home last night. She’s destroying him. That and my house was full of marijuana smoke, and both me and my old roommate are drugtested regularly for work.... I’m so depressed I considered rehoming all my cats that Ive had for 14 years and just leaving everything. Hit after hit lately.
 

Attachments

  • EE62E773-0775-486F-A678-4FF9DD10E2B5.jpeg
    EE62E773-0775-486F-A678-4FF9DD10E2B5.jpeg
    41.8 KB · Views: 113
Is that bruising on his ears?
I'm sorry that it's just not working out. I wish I could do something to help.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's dried blood. She ripped his ear. Thanks. It will be okay. It can be hard starting out so maybe it was an honest mistake and she'll be great
 
It's dried blood. She ripped his ear. Thanks. It will be okay. It can be hard starting out so maybe it was an honest mistake and she'll be great
I certainly remember days at first where I caught him in the vein and the place ended up looking like a crime scene, a lot of blood everywhere, so she may just not be hitting the sweet spot and has nicked the vein.
Perhaps he moved about, I know my boy is usually good as gold for me, but when my friend looks after him he gives her a hard time at first, he won't sit still, he also scratched her really bad, blood everywhere, hers and his:eek:
Perhaps letting her do it while you are there to supervise, you can correct her technique.
Do you do the poke freehand or with a lancing device? :eek:
 
Butting in here :) I nicked Willow's ear in the beginning when I was trying freehand; I switched to the lancing device and neither I nor Willow ever looked back; we don't need to warm the ear, but I know many do. If Carbon is sensitive to the sound, he can be desensitized by starting clicking near him and immediately treating; repeat over and over;, slowly moving it closer to his ear until the noise just means "treat coming!" (over sessions) If you have a really food-driven cat it really shouldn't take long. So sorry to hear you're having so many problems finding a helper :(
HTH, with love, Nikki
 
It's hard when I'm away but I came home and he's looking good and she so sincerely felt awful and so sincerely wants to help him. He's fine with the clicker. I guess she watched a video and was doing the non-clicker which removes that safety of the spring loaded needle. She's back on using the clicker now. He's getting a shower tomorrow as i want to make sure his ear is clean and the blood in his coat has been hard to get out. My kitchen looked like a murder scene! Definitely crime scene! Ears bleed so much. The wound is bad but it's not more ugly than anything. He'll scar, but that will just get the ladies.

She's really learning fast though. And she's even willing to do his early (6 am) shots when she's waking up for work even though I'm home. She's so lovely and I really think this is going to work out well. She was terrified I would kick her out :( I get angry fast because I worry but I don't react with consequence fast. We'll all be ok! I shared your stories with her, too, so she knows she is far from alone.
 
She's really learning fast though. And she's even willing to do his early (6 am) shots when she's waking up for work even though I'm home. She's so lovely and I really think this is going to work out well. She was terrified I would kick her out :( I get angry fast because I worry but I don't react with consequence fast. We'll all be ok! I shared your stories with her, too, so she knows she is far from alone.
I'm glad you feel it's going to work out. It took us all time to learn.

I'm sure Carbon is going to look very handsome after his shower.:cat:
 
Back
Top