Chuck's bouncy journey, part 12.

Status
Not open for further replies.
+5 1/16 cup Stella & Chewy's with 1/4 pepcid and extra water... Puked a little before his snack. Looked like mostly water so I added the pepcid.
+6 294
 
Last edited:
+10 466
AMPS (+11): 465
Fed 4.5oz chicken pate
Gave 5.6 units
.9oz snack at +2.25
+1.25 438
 
+4 323
PMPS (+13): HI :banghead:
Fed 4.5oz chicken pate
Gave 6 units R Flank
+1 HI
+3.5 516 1/16th cup stella and chewy's with extra water.

Hopefully this isn't a sign the insulin is damaged/no good. He usually drops quicker than this. Will try to test for ketones.
 
+8 362 1/16 cup stella & chewy's with extra water.
+10 339
AMPS (+11): 317
Fed 4.5oz chicken pate
Gave 5.4 units R flank
.8oz pate snack at +2.25
 
+1.5 330! :banghead::nailbiting:
.75oz pate snack
I'm afraid he's diving too quick again but it's a lowered dose. One that he did just fine on before. Maybe the shot an hour early is making him not go up from his meal.
 
Steph, Chuck's spreadsheet makes my head spin. :)
Mine too! We were kinda doing good for a couple days... Hoping to get back there. And get closer to regulation. We started shooting in the flank for quicker absorption since he seemed to be having a late onset.
 
Trying very hard not to over react. Keep looking for similar doses and trends to see how much more he might drop. I'd be happy with a surf from now on. I'm sure he'll bounce again. I'm exhausted. I need a solid 8 hours of sleep or more!! DH is going to be on duty this evening.
 
OMG! Too much excitement, Steph. He's obviously more insulin sensitive now and the flank injection might be affecting absorption. You should be getter to nadir range soon.
 
Hope so! I just hope it's not all getting used up at once. Wondered if that's why he's been HI for pmps. Maybe I'll have to do half in flank and half in scruff! Haha I really hope not but I'll do whatever it takes to get him better!
 
Hope so! I just hope it's not all getting used up at once. Wondered if that's why he's been HI for pmps. Maybe I'll have to do half in flank and half in scruff! Haha I really hope not but I'll do whatever it takes to get him better!
I don't think that more rapid absorption should necessarily affect a dose's duration. Who knows with Chuck, though?! He's a special kitty for sure. o_O
 
1st picture: So sleepy...
2nd picture: JUST KIDDING!
Little turd! Don't mind the mess on my table!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170212_083241.jpg
    IMG_20170212_083241.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_20170212_083439.jpg
    IMG_20170212_083439.jpg
    82.3 KB · Views: 111
+10.25 453
PMPS (+13): 465
Fed 4.5 oz chicken & tuna pate
Gave 5.5 units R flank. Needle bent when DH gave shot and Chuck tried biting me. Was really only trying to get free but my hand ended up in his mouth. Lucky for me he realized it was a no no and didn't chomp down.
 
Last edited:
AMPS (+11): 402
Fed 4.5oz chicken & tuna pate
Gave fat 5.4 units R flank- he hates it there.
.85oz pate snack at +2.5
 
AMPS (+11): 402
Fed 4.5oz chicken & tuna pate
Gave fat 5.4 units R flank- he hates it there.
.85oz pate snack at +2.5
Are you convinced that the flank gives better response, Steph? If it's not clearly better and he hates it, why not go back to scruff?
 
Are you convinced that the flank gives better response, Steph? If it's not clearly better and he hates it, why not go back to scruff?
I think it does but I was talking with DH. I wondered if we tried the back end of his scruff, towards his butt off that would work. I saw a pic showing injection sites all along the back two inches down from the spine. Anyone know if that works?
He also has developed a sight limp on his front left leg... Doesn't limp much just after jumping. Going to start the glucosamine/chondroitin tonight.
 
I think it does but I was talking with DH. I wondered if we tried the back end of his scruff, towards his butt off that would work. I saw a pic showing injection sites all along the back two inches down from the spine. Anyone know if that works?
He also has developed a sight limp on his front left leg... Doesn't limp much just after jumping. Going to start the glucosamine/chondroitin tonight.
Try that rear scruff area to see if he tolerates it.
 
I shoot Colin on either side of his shoulder area as well as the flanks. He used to hate the flanks, so I quit for awhile then when I went back to it he's ok with it now. Maybe start desensitizing the flanks by rubbing, pinching the flank area, then giving a treat.
 
I was thinking 4.8 ish but idk. That's a big jump from 184-255... Wonder if he found something to eat... He's stressed/annoyed by his itchy ears. I'm treating his ears for infection and the medicine irritates them for about 30 minutes. Then he calms down and stops trying to rip them off his head.
 
PMPS 255
Fed 4.5 oz super supper
Gave 4.8 units back end of scruff. He panicked a little when I grabbed his scruff but I pointed out the food he left behind and he went back to eating and didn't seem to feel the poke. We will see how it absorbs.
(haha hope you don't mind my autocorrect mistakes)
 
Last edited:
+.5 397
+1.5 335 .35oz pate at +2.5
+5 304 .35oz pate at +5.5
+8 313
Looks like he could have handled 5units. But I'm sure if he got 5units he would have kept me running! Or maybe it's the beginning of a bounce? I have no idea how low he went to only be 185 at +11.5. I'm going to try to feed and shoot him an hour early. I have to leave tomorrow after his PM shot and I'd like to be able to get a +2 reading in before I go.
 
+11 338
PMPS (+11): 338
Fed 4.5oz super supper pate. .4oz pate snack at +2.5 and +5
Gave 5.2 units in rear scruff. Abbreviated to R Sc on my ss.
Paws crossed for no nose dive.

+1 384
 
+3 192 gave about 10 pieces of HC dry kibble. Checking again in 5 minutes.

I understand HC food is not necessary at this point but I needed to get him to stop dropping so fast quicker than I usually do. I have to get some sleep. It sounds very selfish to me but I'll be taking care of small children and can not do it on zero sleep!
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top