Dax PMPS-73.8 (4.1 mmol)

Kaitlyn

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone I just tested Dax again after he ate pre his shot supper. His levels were 4.1 mmol/l or 73.8 for you Americans :) which is down from earlier as he was about 13.1 mmol/L (235.8) at 2:30. i gave him his nightly dose of 2 units. Will check again in a few hours. Is this being done right? Sorry I am new and am learning the process of this forum. I will be tackling the spreadsheet learning how to tonight.
 
Hello and welcome to you and sweet Dax. It'll really help us help you if you can put together a spreadsheet with your test data. The instructions are here.

We really need to know when that 235 and 74 were in relation to the shot times. Sounds like that 74 might have been close to shot time? That's quite a low number for a new caregiver to shoot. I would test again in an hour. You don't want him going below 50 on a human meter. Do you have any high carb wet food around? If he goes low, you will have to give him carbs to get him up.

The 2.0 units is also a rather large starting dose. With dry food in the picture, we would have started at 1.0 units.
 
Yes the two units was recommended by the vet but I did feel it was rather high. I do have some high carb food. I will give it to him!
 
235 was midday as I had just gotten my strips at about 2:20 pm.
74 was just after eating pre shot 8:21 pm
 
Have you tested since? If not, you can grab your +3 now, in case he is dropping fast.
 
Last edited:
He's back up at 10.4 or 187.2 I just tested him, I tried earlier but he got annoyed with me so I thought it best to leave it.
 
Ok great :) doesn't sound like it's a pj party for you tonight.

I see you have your spreadsheet started. In case you didn't notice it, if you fill out the world page, it auto fills the american. No more calculator!

Have a good night :)
 
Ok great :) doesn't sound like it's a pj party for you tonight.

I see you have your spreadsheet started. In case you didn't notice it, if you fill out the world page, it auto fills the american. No more calculator!

Have a good night :)


Yes I just started filling it out. I hope I am doing it correctly. I am trying to learn as much as I can to help keep him healthy. I am trying to slowly transition him onto a wet food that he enjoys that is also low carb that is not the vet food but that will probably be a bit hard as he tends to be picky. But I am learning so much from this message board! It has really helped to relieve some of my stress.
 
I am a night owl on weekends so I tested him again just a bit ago and now he's up to 219.6. Now that I have this spread sheet figured out I find it a bit easier to keep track.
 
Great job on getting that spreadsheet going. :) If you have any data from previous days in the last week or so, that will also help us get a good picture on what is happening.

Since Dax is still eating some dry food, that means following our Start Low Go Slow method for dosing. And with SLGS, that 74 last night earned him a dose reduction down to 1.75 units. Are you using the BD syringes to inject the insulin?
 
Great job on getting that spreadsheet going. :) If you have any data from previous days in the last week or so, that will also help us get a good picture on what is happening.

Since Dax is still eating some dry food, that means following our Start Low Go Slow method for dosing. And with SLGS, that 74 last night earned him a dose reduction down to 1.75 units. Are you using the BD syringes to inject the insulin?


Yes I am using the BD Ultra-Fine II Insulin syringe. I do not have any more data from previous days as I just got my strips yesterday! However I am trying to test him periodically when he is sleepy so I dont agitate him.
 
Great, you've got the right syringes. If you take a look at the Sticky Note that talks about fine dosing, you will see how to eyeball the 1.75 units.

On the spreadsheet, it would still be good to show that he got 2 units for a couple of days, even though there wasn't testing. That tells us the depot is being built and you didn't get that 74 on the first day of insulin. With SLGS, you hold the initial dose 7 days, unless you get an under 90, which you did.
 
Great, you've got the right syringes. If you take a look at the Sticky Note that talks about fine dosing, you will see how to eyeball the 1.75 units.

On the spreadsheet, it would still be good to show that he got 2 units for a couple of days, even though there wasn't testing. That tells us the depot is being built and you didn't get that 74 on the first day of insulin. With SLGS, you hold the initial dose 7 days, unless you get an under 90, which you did.


Okay I will edit it to add all that info as well!
 
Back
Top