That 600 last night was the high before the break. He cleared the bounce today. I’m really glad he didn’t do anything too dramatic.SS Updated.
Went back to 4.5u, seems he didn't like 4.25u right now.
That 600 last night was the high before the break. He cleared the bounce today. I’m really glad he didn’t do anything too dramatic.
Great job with the curve! Let’s hope he will flatten out a bit in high 90s.
AMPS are often the last to come down so even cats about ready to go into remission might have a higher AMPS (e.g. lower blue) but we have ways to address that. However, his AMPS and PMPS are most likely higher because he’s so bouncy. So until he stops bouncing so much, you’re likely to continue to see higher preshot numbers.I'm glad he didn't do anything too dramatic also. He seems to like 4.5u right now.
Looking at the SS, when do AMPS and PMPS numbers start to get better on a regular basis, or will they? He's only had a few yellows and blues at those times.
AMPS are often the last to come down so even cats about ready to go into remission might have a higher AMPS (e.g. lower blue) but we have ways to address that. However, his AMPS and PMPS are most likely higher because he’s so bouncy. So until he stops bouncing so much, you’re likely to continue to see higher preshot numbers.
You’re welcome!SS Updated.
Thanks for the explanation.
You’re welcome!
Let’s see if he clears the bounce soon.SS Updated. Yellows and such....
Let’s see if he clears the bounce soon.
Yes...definitely high before the break. Great job identifying it. But when you see that and suspect it, you might want to test a bit earlier to catch that drop.SS Updated.
497 point drop this morning...
583 this am, (high before break?) followed by some blues and greens. Did Not reduce to 4.25u today, he seems more stable at 4.5u? Thoughts?
Yes...definitely high before the break. Great job identifying it. But when you see that and suspect it, you might want to test a bit earlier to catch that drop.
I’d hold the dose, too. We’ve been using 70 but the lowest he got was 69 and he came right up.
Great you are checking ketones. He’s just back in a dive/ bounce cycle.SS Updated. Black amps again. We are holding the dose at 4.5u.
That drop of 497 was between amps and +5, we did test at +4 @161. (on 2/13, @86 he had 1 spoonful of FF Gravy, some food, it popped him up to 123, he fell to 69 and we gave him FF Gravy, and 15 temptations, then up to 130.)
Ketone still negative.
Great you are checking ketones. He’s just back in a dive/ bounce cycle.
If it were me, I’d increase the dose to 4.75u and watch the BG. Sometimes it just takes a swift kick in the pants for one cycle to get things improving.SS Updated.
3rd morning amps in a row for Blacks. In your opinion, will this dive/bounce cycle work itself out soon, or should the insulin be adjusted?
We've been checking for Ketones since a member here recommended we do in October. We've been doing so twice a week since, and luckily he's still negative.
If it were me, I’d increase the dose to 4.75u and watch the BG. Sometimes it just takes a swift kick in the pants for one cycle to get things improving.
I’m glad you took the ketone testing seriously.
Ok. We'll increase tomorrow to 4.75u amps/pmps and see what happens. We have taken the Ketone testing seriously.
If it were me, I’d increase the dose to 4.75u and watch the BG. Sometimes it just takes a swift kick in the pants for one cycle to get things improving.
I’m glad you took the ketone testing seriously.
It takes up to six cycles for a bounce to clear. I would not change the dose, unless he drops below 70, until he’s completed six cycles after the blues he had.SS Updated.
4.75u doesn't seem to be helping, I think that 4.5u did a better job.
May go back to 4.5u depending on tomorrows amps numbers......
Thoughts?
It takes up to six cycles for a bounce to clear. I would not change the dose, unless he drops below 70, until he’s completed six cycles after the blues he had.
I understand but you don’t want to lower the dose. He does not look overdose.Ok, it just seems as though no progress is being made and the numbers are remaining high.
So we should hold the course another 4 days @ 4.75u unless a drop below 70 occurs. Thanks!
I understand but you don’t want to lower the dose. He does not look overdose.
I understand but you don’t want to lower the dose. He does not look overdose.
You might want to think about increasing the dose. His bounce cleared but only to blue.SS Updated.
Blues today aside from amps/pmps. Managed well +4 thru +6 with food.
You might want to think about increasing the dose. His bounce cleared but only to blue.
Well isn’t he the little trickster? They read their condos and when a dose increase threat is made, they drop.SS Updated.
Greens +4 thru +7.
We held the 4.75u dose even though he hit a 64. Should we reduce tomorrow even though when we reduced from 4.5u to 4.25u he seemed to be bouncy for a couple of days?
Well isn’t he the little trickster? They read their condos and when a dose increase threat is made, they drop.
On whether to reduce or not, it depends on how comfortable you are feeling with testing and controlling the lows. Often after getting experienced with both, members might decide to lower the reduction number a bit...say to 60. So, it’s up to you.
I know you know this but just a reminder that we want to be sure we don’t use any high carb food, gravy, or treats after +10 to bump the BG up enough to shoot. Of course, if he’s in the 30s, you gotta do what you gotta do but then you need to stall the shot without feeding more so you know you aren’t shooting a food spike.until +8 or +9 and that has been known to happen and he may be too low to shoot at +12.
It would allow you to hold a dose that’s working longer. For more experienced PZ users, they will often use below 50 as a reduction point and if the cat has been diabetic for over a year, they will use below 40 while perhaps “shaving the dose” a little bit if the BG drops between 40 and 50.How would lowering it to 60 help?
Is there some information about reduction points like this you could mention or point me to so I can read more?
- If your cat is in the first 3-6 months of diagnosis, reduce the dose by 0.25u anytime you see a BG below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter.
- If your cat is between six months to a year of diagnosis, look at the overall picture of your data to determine if a 0.25u reduction is warranted on a single number below 50.
- Prozinc can be a little volatile at times, and there will be the occasional random drop. If you have a consistent body of mid-cycle tests that indicate the low number is unusual, you may consider holding the dose and continuing to monitor or you may choose to just shave a little off the dose.
- If the low number appears to indicate a general downward trend of numbers, then it may indicate that you should indeed lower the dose.
- If your cat is more than a year since diagnosis, a single number between 40-50 should not mean a full 0.25u reduction. You may shave a little off the next dose, or just hold the dose and continue to monitor.
- Additional numbers between 40-50 in the days following would indicate the dose should be reduced.
- Any cat, regardless of time since diagnosis should receive a reduction if there is a number below 40.
Cats bounce until they don’t and, when they are bouncing, your focus needs to be on when they clear it because that’s when they are most likely (and almost always do) do it with alot of fast action and dropping. But, again, and I know I’m a broken record, but if the BG drops with no control, then kitty will likely continue to bounce. A fast drop always equates to a hard bounce. You can see this any time he goes back up to black.There seems to be quite a bit of inconsistency in Do Daa's numbers on a semi-regular bases and whether we increase or decrease the insulin he seems to find some reason to not like it and bounce.
I know you know this but just a reminder that we want to be sure we don’t use any high carb food, gravy, or treats after +10 to bump the BG up enough to shoot. Of course, if he’s in the 30s, you gotta do what you gotta do but then you need to stall the shot without feeding more so you know you aren’t shooting a food spike.
The black comes from the drop from 439 to 94 in four hours. At first, we all tend to divide the drop by hours to get the drop per hour which, in this case, is pretty fast but what more likely happens is he takes a big drop at onset. Uncontrolled drops = big bounces.Hi.
SS Updated.
He was high all day after a good day yesterday with a black today at +6. Not a thing in his schedule, including food, has changed one bit from yesterday. This is the frustrating part for us, we're definitely not very experienced at this.
Yes, we definitely know not to give any food of any kind after +10. His amps/pmps are 9am and 9pm and he has no food after 630am and 630-7pm, 2hrs+ away from shooting.
Right now we are reducing at 70 and at 4.75u. Most of the recent numbers indicate that 4.75u is ok (a mix of blues and greens), other times, like todays 500 at +6 would say to me a need to increase to 5u if tomorrows numbers aren't better - or hold the course and wait it through... so confusing.
So say he hits 60 at 4.75u in a couple of days only once, do you reduce it just because he hit it once or wait another day to make sure he'll hit it again at the current dose?
What if the low number, a 60, was a freak occurrence and he stays hi like he was today and he hit a 500 and we just the day before reduced his insulin because of the 60 - wouldn't that invite a bounce cycle all over again? Now we have to wait up to 6 days to start over again.
You want to try and be consistent with dosing to the extent you can. I see you dropped the dose back to 4.75u at PMPS tonight. You can see how he does tonight and where his AMPS is but I would have held the 5u dose until he dropped below 60. I’m not sure if you mean should shoot 5u at AMPS and 4.75u at PMPS but, no, I wouldn’t do that.Increasing the dose to 5u at amps won't really affect to much will it? May try that for a week or so unless we hit below 60, and if that happens, reduce it back to 4.75 right?
Should we make sure that the below 60 threshold happens over more that one day to make sure that it's an accurate number before lowering? I'd hate to go only 2 days at 5u and then have to immediately reduce back to 4.75u and possibly induce bouncing...
Goose PMd me as he wasn’t sure if I was still in town so I’m moving his questions here.
You want to try and be consistent with dosing to the extent you can. I see you dropped the dose back to 4.75u at PMPS tonight. You can see how he does tonight and where his AMPS is but I would have held the 5u dose until he dropped below 60. I’m not sure if you mean should shoot 5u at AMPS and 4.75u at PMPS but, no, I wouldn’t do that.
If he sees green but above 50, I’d hold the 5u dose. If he drops below 60 during the cycle, decide on a reduction by considering:
Follow your gut; you have a good feel for what works for him.
- Is he clearing a bounce and dropping fast? If so, as long as he doesn’t go below 50, you might want to hold the dose.
- Does he drop below 60 and come up pretty easily or does he hang around there for a long time with you having to feed him to keep him up? If he does the latter, you might want to reduce.
You’re welcome. I hope that answered your questions!Ok, thank you.
SS Updated.
You’re welcome. I hope that answered your questions!
Paws crossed!Hi.
I believe you did. I printed it out to look over later.
He'll be on 5u for a little while, while we see if it works for him again.
Paws crossed!
If you don’t see more green soon (next cycle or so), he will need an increase.SS Updated.
If you don’t see more green soon (next cycle or so), he will need an increase.
I’m off tomorrow. Good luck and don’t hesitate to ask for help.
If you don’t see more green soon (next cycle or so), he will need an increase.
I’m off tomorrow. Good luck and don’t hesitate to ask for help.
If you don’t see more green soon (next cycle or so), he will need an increase.
I’m off tomorrow. Good luck and don’t hesitate to ask for help.
If you don’t see more green soon (next cycle or so), he will need an increase.
I’m off tomorrow. Good luck and don’t hesitate to ask for help.
SS Updated.
Mostly Blues and Greens today managed with normal food, nothing HC or additional sugars.
SS Updated.
Reduction Point is 60. He hit a 55 & 57 today. BG rose up slowly even with gravy/food/20 Temptations. We reduced the insulin to 4.75u, we'll see what happens.
Nice catch on the 57. Good luck with the reduction. FYI - dose is missing on the spreadsheet for yesterday AM.
SS Fixed, thanks!
Added more to remarks in SS about gravy and syrup during and after the 57.
It’s nice to see he kicked the black to the curb while I was gone anti jinx. It looks like he’s bouncing right now so let’s give him total of six cycles past the blues a.m. cycle 3/14 and if you don’t see green, he might need a little extra juice.SS Updated.
He hit a 43 @ +4.5 today. Food management was not particularly available up until that test point. We Did Not Reduce. I believe it was a lack of normal food on a specific schedule that we weren't able to meet that pushed him to the 43. We are going to hold him at 4.5u through at least Sunday, (minimum of 2 points on 'the graph' to make sure that number wasn't a fluke.)
It’s nice to see he kicked the black to the curb while I was gone anti jinx. It looks like he’s bouncing right now so let’s give him total of six cycles past the blues a.m. cycle 3/14 and if you don’t see green, he might need a little extra juice.
Great job with him!!!! I hope all is well there.