Dusty not eating need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes there are quite a few cats here that have diabetes and pancreatitis. Sheba used to get it every so often.
When they get a flare up of pancreatitis they usually need some subQ fluids, pain meds, antinausea meds and occasionally antibiotics (but not often).
Most cats respond well to the supportive treatment. The main issue can be getting them to eat again but having antinausea meds at home if possible you can get onto it straight away when it happens.
The vet can do a Snap fPL blood test in the surgery and tell you straight away if it’s pancreatitis.

here is a link to pancreatitis
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.83108/
Bron Dusty did not eat tonight her BG is 305 is it advisable to give her 1 unit not the new 2 unit dose I’m scared to give her 2 units
 
Roe just messaged me I'm posting what she said maybe someone can give her some advice , I see she gave 1 unit

Hey Roe, I am sorry I am not an expert when it comes to dosing, I just tagged Bron for you, Still using the Libre


Yes I just checked her she is so sporadic at shot time BG was 305 I gave her 1 unit it jumped to 314 now it’s down to 275 without her eating I just have a feeling that 2 units would have been too much but I don’t know if I’m wrong


9 yr Female Dx 4/23/2020 diabetes Lantus pen 1unit 2xs , wet food Fancy Feast, Tiki Cat

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Deb & Wink
 
Last edited:
Update as mentioned Dusty did not eat at the time for her insulin her BG was 305 as of Monday her Vet wanted me to up her Lantus to 2 units but since she did not eat at all I only gave her one unit tonight her BG went from 305 to 314 to 277 263 to 244 at 11:59pm right now it’s at 281 I am not sure if giving her 1 unit was right or wrong . She does go to the vet tomorrow Any thoughts
 
I’m sorry I am just coming online again and seeing this.
I’m glad you are going to get the SS assorted out. That will be a big help.
Another thing I think you need to do is to buy some syringes so that you can give the smaller increases in dose, jumping from 1 unit to 2 units is doubling the dose.
The syringes you need are the U-100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 mm or 8 mm Insulin syringes. There are various brands. If you live in the US you can buy the ReliOn brand at Walmart. And ask for half unit syringes as well. Just make sure they say the words and numbers I have written down.

It could have been risky going up to 2 units and effectively doubling the dose when Dusty is not eating much.
Make sure the vet gives you cerenia and hopefully a script for ondansetron as well. It is good to have both as they work on different pathways in the body and often when one doesn’t work, the other will. And they can be given together as well.
 
Thank you I will try anything BTW how is Bee ?

Bee is doing ok but her BG is still high even if she is on 2 unit since last Friday. The vet asked me to raise to 3 units this coming weekend if there is no improvement. I can't imagine how hard this situation must be for you and can't wait to have news from you tomorrow after your vet visit. <3
 
I’m sorry I am just coming online again and seeing this.
I’m glad you are going to get the SS assorted out. That will be a big help.
Another thing I think you need to do is to buy some syringes so that you can give the smaller increases in dose, jumping from 1 unit to 2 units is doubling the dose.
The syringes you need are the U-100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 mm or 8 mm Insulin syringes. There are various brands. If you live in the US you can buy the ReliOn brand at Walmart. And ask for half unit syringes as well. Just make sure they say the words and numbers I have written down.

It could have been risky going up to 2 units and effectively doubling the dose when Dusty is not eating much.
Make sure the vet gives you cerenia and hopefully a script for ondansetron as well. It is good to have both as they work on different pathways in the body and often when one doesn’t work, the other will. And they can be given together as well.
Thank you Bron:bighug:
 
Worried about you and Dusty :/ Please update us when you can.
Update Dusty does Not have pancreatitis Yayyyy but they have not ruled out kidneys .
The finally gave her nausea meds and some fluids so now we have to wait to see if she will eat tonight . This is one crazy rollercoaster ride but we are trying . Was also advised to put her back to 1 unit of Lantus I’m confused about this
 
Yup...vet raised her to 2 unit last friday and will probably want me to go up to 3. She is acting normal but still drink a lot of water and i am worried. Any idea why your vet want you to go back to 1 unit? When are you gonna get the results for the kidneys?
I believe the Vet wants me to go back to 1 unit because of Dusty not eating . Strange when they raised her to 2 units because her numbers are so high she mentioned they don’t like raising cats to 3 , why do they want to raise Bee ?
 
I believe the Vet wants me to go back to 1 unit because of Dusty not eating . Strange when they raised her to 2 units because her numbers are so high she mentioned they don’t like raising cats to 3 , why do they want to raise Bee ?

Bee is almost 11 pounds, vet said a cat that size should be ok with 2 or 3 units and 1 was too low to begin with. She was on 1 while she was in intensive care (she wasn't eating) so it make sens that your vet want you to go back to the original dose.
 
Bee is almost 11 pounds, vet said a cat that size should be ok with 2 or 3 units and 1 was too low to begin with. She was on 1 while she was in intensive care (she wasn't eating) so it make sens that your vet want you to go back to the original dose.
Is Bee eating ok ? Sometimes it all goes so fast it can be really hard to process
 
Update Dusty does Not have pancreatitis Yayyyy but they have not ruled out kidneys .
The finally gave her nausea meds and some fluids so now we have to wait to see if she will eat tonight . This is one crazy rollercoaster ride but we are trying . Was also advised to put her back to 1 unit of Lantus I’m confused about this
Did you ask the vet why she is cutting it back to 1 unit
 
Suggestions with how to give Cerenia 16 mgs half a tablet a day ? @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom @Aleluia Grugru & Minnie @Irish Pat
I have a syringe which I used today and Dusty did not like at all . I learned not to try to put it in her food especially with her not eating Not thinking today . Any suggestion would be a Great help
Does she go for pill pockets? That’s what I use with Minnie but when she won’t eat that on occasion I use a pill popper that I can put water in and it holds the pill at the edge so I can squirt the water into her mouth and it pushes the pill through. Hold on let me find it on chewy.
I have also used butter. I take a little bit of butter and make a tiny ball with the pill in it, then I freeze it. If you can get it in her mouth, the butter slides in faster than they can spit it out.
 
Oh we are back up to 2 units of Lantus her BG numbers are too high had a heck of a time trying to give her her nausea meds . She ate a bit last night but not this morning we will see tonight. How is Bee doing her numbers are like Dusty’s OH thank you so much for asking

At least she has a bit of food in her tummy, it's a start. I did a curve today. I messed up a couple time with the lancets and she didn't want to stay still... i am exhausted and can't wait for the last test/food and shot in 30 min to go bed :P You finally have your Spreadsheet! Try to rest a little, I will check on you this weekend :)
 
I open his mouth and just drop it in as far back as I can , rub his throat until I see him swallow, or right after you drop it in blow in their mouth, you really have to get it far back or else they won't swallow it and it starts to melt, then they start foaming atbthe mouth I think it has a very bitter taste you take your thumb and middle finger above his head and put them toward the back of each side of their mouth, and shove it in put a little butter on the pill, it goes down easier for them

You can put them on the kitchen table or I hold Perry in my arms with his head resting on the arm of the couch

Did the vet give Dusty an appetite stimulant
 
Last edited:
I open his mouth and just drop it in as far back as I can , rub his throat until I see him swallow, or right after you drop it in blow in their mouth, you really have to get it far back or else they won't swallow it and it starts to melt, then they start foaming atbthe mouth I think it has a very bitter taste you take your thumb and middle finger above his head and put them toward the back of each side of their mouth, and shove it in

You can put them on the kitchen table or I hold Perry in my arms with his head resting on the arm of the couch

Did the vet give Dusty an appetite stimulant
It’s good to follow that up with a little water. Dry pilling often can be hard on kitty’s throats :oops:
 
Ale the Vet just gave me one no idea how to use it though You add water ? F45A3D11-7CB1-4FE8-B271-86DB8FE301C7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • F45A3D11-7CB1-4FE8-B271-86DB8FE301C7.jpeg
    F45A3D11-7CB1-4FE8-B271-86DB8FE301C7.jpeg
    40.2 KB · Views: 153
Is half a tablet correct? I thought 1/4 was the standard amount.
Yes half a tablet
I open his mouth and just drop it in as far back as I can , rub his throat until I see him swallow, or right after you drop it in blow in their mouth, you really have to get it far back or else they won't swallow it and it starts to melt, then they start foaming atbthe mouth I think it has a very bitter taste you take your thumb and middle finger above his head and put them toward the back of each side of their mouth, and shove it in put a little butter on the pill, it goes down easier for them

You can put them on the kitchen table or I hold Perry in my arms with his head resting on the arm of the couch

Did the vet give Dusty an appetite stimulant
Not yet with the appetite stimulant but we are back to 2 units Lantus tonight
 
Ale the Vet just gave me one no idea how to use it though You add water ? View attachment 53552
Fill a glass with water, stick the tip where the pill goes in the glass and pull the purple plunger back like a big syringe it will suck in the water. You only need a little water not a lot. Also because you don’t want to fill your cat with water, just enough to people the pill in. After you have water in then you place the pill in the tip. But yours doesn’t look like the water type... is there room inside for it?
 
Fill a glass with water, stick the tip where the pill goes in the glass and pull the purple plunger back like a big syringe it will suck in the water. You only need a little water not a lot. Also because you don’t want to fill your cat with water, just enough to people the pill in. After you have water in then you place the pill in the tip. But yours doesn’t look like the water type... is there room inside for it?
Yes I believe there is . Front or side of mouth and won’t she choke with the water Ale ?
 
One thing I was doing for pills for my civvie- I take the smallest bit of duck pill pocket (lowest carb I could find) needed to cover the pill. I then put some of my own spit on it. worked like a dream. I tried butter and it just didn't work for us. I then syringed a couple cc water after swallowed.
 
I’ve just been reading your condo. Jumping up by one unit with a cat that’s eating is not smart but with one that’s not it’s crazy. Max was 16 pounds and started on one unit. He never needed more than 2.75 units if my memory is right. Lantus is not dosed based upon preshots. It’s dosed on how low it takes a cat. The reason why Dusty went from 157 to 480 is because she was bouncing from the lower number that she’s not used to and totally normal. You need to get tests mid cycle once a bounce clears. Random tests from +4-7 will help you see the nadir. Cats also complicate things by dropping lower at night. If you don’t get any mid cycle night tests you might think your cat needs more insulin when in reality he dropped lower over night and is bouncing.

I know you just set up your ss. Have you gotten mid cycle tests but just not on your ss?


I used ondansetron for nausea like Bron. I put pills in empty gel caps and chased with a syringe of baby food. All mine like the Gerbers ham. If not eating on his own I’d syringe a little every few hours.


I hope this helps.
P.S.

If you don’t mind my suggesting it’s time to start a new condo tomorrow. Just link this one to the new one.
 
I’ve just been reading your condo. Jumping up by one unit with a cat that’s eating is not smart but with one that’s not it’s crazy. Max was 16 pounds and started on one unit. He never needed more than 2.75 units if my memory is right. Lantus is not dosed based upon preshots. It’s dosed on how low it takes a cat. The reason why Dusty went from 157 to 480 is because she was bouncing from the lower number that she’s not used to and totally normal. You need to get tests mid cycle once a bounce clears. Random tests from +4-7 will help you see the nadir. Cats also complicate things by dropping lower at night. If you don’t get any mid cycle night tests you might think your cat needs more insulin when in reality he dropped lower over night and is bouncing.

I know you just set up your ss. Have you gotten mid cycle tests but just not on your ss?


I used ondansetron for nausea like Bron. I put pills in empty gel caps and chased with a syringe of baby food. All mine like the Gerbers ham. If not eating on his own I’d syringe a little every few hours.


I hope this helps.
P.S.

If you don’t mind my suggesting it’s time to start a new condo tomorrow. Just link this one to the new one.
Thank you so much Dusty is giving me a hard time with everything . Tonight she had maybe 1 spoon of baby food . She fights me like crazy with a syringe and it’s a bit hard to grip her because she has the Libre on right now . I tried to syringe a little baby food and she really gagged so I backed off not to stress her out . The Libre only goes as high as 499 once it hits 500 it reads HI last night till 4am it read HI so I don’t know how high over 500 she was . Her Vet has access to her Libre chart called me and told me to increase her to 2 units by tonight .
I’m just learning and Very novice at all of this but I will try anything to get her better and all the help I can get
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top