Essential tremors, anyone using Lancet pens?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Indigo, Nov 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Indigo

Indigo Member

Okay so I have been diagnosed with Essential Tremors, some days are better than others and I am just getting into this testing, injecting, and everything associated with feline diabetes. I have purchased the alphatrak 2 monitor I have the kit with the lancets, pen ect..

My best friend Jackson is a laid-back guy, he will let me Slicker brush his belly and relax across my chest while I do it :rolleyes: but I am concerned after watching a video in the forum on how to take a blood sample, the owner held the Lancet in her hand and did not use a pen.

Does anyone use a Lancet pen? Is it harder to obtain a blood sample from the ideal spot on a cat's ear using the pen? From looking at the photos of the perfect place to test, it doesn't look like an easy shot. If this can't be done, I'll have to get a nearby friend to check his blood sugar for me quite possibly. Bear in mind, essential tremors are a lot like Parkinson's tremors.

So I need some advice, and here I find myself again in this fabulous place...

2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

I have a family member who has essential tremors, so I am familiar with them. They can make doing anything 'intricate' with your hands very hard. So, I am sorry about your diagnosis and the added challenge it presents in caring for Jackson. :bighug: