Figaro AMBG 40 >> +4.50 112; PMPS 383 reducie

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Figaro's Liz, Aug 23, 2019.

  1. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Fed tsp or more gravy
    Retesting
     
  2. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Immediately retested to check result he is 42
    64 alphatrak

    Alert but wanting breakfast

    Giving a little LC
     
  3. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You need to give high carb food and retest in 20 mins.
    Just confirming you are using a human meter and got 42?
     
  4. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Hellooo! :) :) Yes human meter 40 and 42. I should not feed LC meal, although it is breakfast time? Only gravy?
     
  5. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You need to get Figaro's BG level up over 50. So feed him some high carb food now please.
     
    Suzanne Burton and Figaro's Liz like this.
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It is now 13 minutes since you first fed some gravy. Could you test his BG again on 7 minutes please? (that will be 20 mins from when you first gave gravy).
    We need to make sure his BG level is coming up
     
  7. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    He ate some 29% noms. Now grooming and he is not frantic for food... outwardly seems ok.
    Longest wait ever! Ready to retest in a few min.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  8. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    20 mins - 46 human
    80 alphatrak (backup)
     
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok. Give another good teaspoon of high carb food/gravy please and test again in 20 mins thanks.
    I will be watching
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  10. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Ok he just ate gravy, will retest in 18 min!
    Thank you Bron.
     
  11. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Pleasure!
    Liz, in the subject line, can you put +12.20 before the 46 please which will tell people where we are up to, thanks.
    You are managing well!
    You will need to skip this morning's dose of insulin and Figaro has earned a reduction back to 2.75 units at his next dose.
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  12. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Hah what a time for the board to blip out!

    We're back and Figaro was up to 57 at +12.40
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Yes! Thank goodness it was only down for a short time!
    57.....that's better.
    I would give him a small breakfast of his normal low carb food now.
    You will need to keep testing until we are sure he is going to stay up.
    I'd test again in 30 mins.
    Is that all ok with you?
     
  14. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    It always happens, every day from about 7:45-8AM EST. Not exactly sure what it is.
     
  15. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    That sounds great. Will feed some LC now and test again 25-30 mins from this post.
    He is watching birdies out the window!
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  16. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Great!
    How cute watching the birds!
    He could well bounce from these low green numbers so don't worry if you see some high numbers. It will be quite normal for him to react to the low numners in this way. Still take the reduction.
     
    Figaro's Liz and Sonia & Leo like this.
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think they do checks and running repairs. Sometimes it is quick and other times it is down for longer periods. @Justin & Sebastian
     
  18. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Also want to add, it looks like you immediately fed some gravy when you got the low PS. When you get that low PS you don't want to feed anything right away and just test again in 15-20 minutes to see if the BG is going to come up on its own or not. If it's still down on subsequent tests then you can feed a bit to get it up so you can shoot.

    The idea being that if it's coming up on it's own and you give HC you're then adding to the normal rise and making it spike higher than it normally would have. If it's continuing to drop at the second test, it should be rising naturally before too much longer and feeding HC then is just smoothing out the dip and giving it a little bump back up to a safe range, and then the dose you do give is going to give you a smoother curve.
     
  19. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Hi Justin, I know that is what to do for a lower than normal PS. My understanding though is that at 40 you take action immediately and feed to get into safe numbers (50+) asap.
     
  20. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    I would be shocked if I don't see high numbers soon, between bouncing and a skipped shot. But then again, he surprised me being in the 80s last night and of course with a lime PS :eek: so I'll have to wait and see!
    I will reduce tonight.
     
  21. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Cool, just wanted to make sure you were aware. Yeah, I just looked at the spreadsheet and that's a big dip for the first time so getting ahead of it ASAP is a good call.
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @Justin & Sebastian
    With an AMPS of 40 after a cycle of greens, I would not wait and see if it was going to come up on its own. I would have given some food to bring the BG up over 50 too. Figaro is a fairly new diabetic and there is not a lot of data in his SS yet, and I doubt he would have risen enough to shoot anyway.
    Personally I would never be complacent about numbers under 50 because there is no safety gap if things go wrong.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2019
  23. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Okay, he is 58 after 30. I was hoping he would be a little higher.

    He didn't eat all of his small LC meal. He is a grazer, plus it is probably not as tasty as that gravy!

    Would it make sense to add a little gravy to the remaining LC, or should I just wait and test in another 30 min?

    Staying home from work til I have a decent idea of where he is headed.

    His belly just grumbled, might be slightly upset from the carbs :|
     
  24. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would stay with the normal low carb now Liz. Once they come up over 50 we usually swap to low carb unless they drop down low again. I'm surprised he's not a bit higher too after the high carb food he has had.
    But he's safe and you have done a great job keeping him safe this morning!
    I'd test again in 30 until we see what he's going to do. It's possible he could stay in lower numbers for a few hours yet.
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  25. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Thanks, Bron! That makes sense. I have found Figaro doesn't usually spike from his LC food, but I haven't had a real need to use HC before so I'm not really sure how carb sensitive he is.
    He seems perfectly fine, though uninterested in food. I'm not alarmed by that, he may feel full.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  26. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It could still be the insulin keeping his numbers down. You didn't test after +8 last night so we don't really know if the numbers dropped during that time or not. (That is not a critisism.....just a comment.).....Some cycles when the insulin dose is strong, it is harder to keep/get the numners up higher, than it is in other cycles.
    Do you have honey or Karo in case it is needed sometime?
    Does that make sense?
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  27. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Hmm only 55.

    Ah yes that does make sense. Yes I have karo!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  28. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Oh, I missed the 55 at the top of the post.
    Will he have a bit more food?
    I'd test again in 30 mins and if he drops further I would give a teaspoon of the higher carb food.
    I am going to have to go to sleep soon........I live in Australia.
    Maybe @Olive & Paula can keep an eye on you.
     
  29. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Doing great.
     
    Suzanne Burton and Figaro's Liz like this.
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thanks Paula. I sent you a PM but you were too quick!
     
  31. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I'm around for a bit.
     
  32. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    He just ate his LC. I'll test again 30 mins from now to give it some time to kick in.

    Thank you SO MUCH Bron for your guidance, things feel under control. Please don't worry as you go to bed :) And hi Paula!

    If need be I can always put up another 911, we got this.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  33. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Hi Liz, your doing great. I guess Fig is certainly done with that dose.

    Goal is to keep Fig above 60 without needing syrup or hc.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Liz, not sure if you know how to enter the numbers in the SS ......
    With the +13 numbers you stack them in the +1 column and the +14 numbers in the +2 column etc.

    It's been a pleasure to get to know you and Figaro....you are doing a great job with him....he's a lucky boy!
     
    Suzanne Burton and Figaro's Liz like this.
  35. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Woah Liz, I just woke up and saw the thread and Fig's numbers, did you sleep at all? This must have been quite a night full of emotions. Are you staying at home today or until he goes up?
     
  36. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Bron get some sleep, have some good dreams.
     
  37. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Thanks, my brain is having trouble processing the numbers with all the 15 and 30 min increments!

    Thank you! We are so lucky to have the support of the board. :)
     
  38. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Liz, question here how low is your low carb food?
     
  39. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thanks Paula! I hope I have good dreams....I usually have complicated crazy dreams!
    You are in good hands Liz with Paula.
     
    Figaro's Liz and Olive & Paula like this.
  40. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Figaro! stop teasing those sharkies!!

    Great job this morning keeping Fig safe Liz! I hope he continues to surf and stays safe :)
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  41. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Thanks, Paula. Right! Okay. I will test in 8-10 mins and see where he is going.
     
    Olive & Paula likes this.
  42. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    I slept a few hours, luckily woke up to my backup alarm! :coffee::coffee::coffee: I'll stay home as long as necessary. Luckily I have some flexibility to work from home at least part of the day :) not that I am getting any work done right now....
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  43. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
  44. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Great. Hold of any food and check in 30 minutes. Let's see if he can hold this.
     
    AmandaE and Figaro's Liz like this.
  45. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Sorry I missed this! His LC is under 3%.
     
  46. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Err, 2.21% carb (ME value) according to the company.
     
  47. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Great job Liz, and to the wonderful, wonderful helpers.
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  48. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
  49. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    just a thought here. How about picking up just 1 or 2 cans of 6% F F roasted turkey is one) or 8% food? So if this low again, the bit more carb might be enough so a lot of syrup wouldn't be necessary. Of course you will have to figure out when to use it.

    with Ollie the 6% brings her up when she is low 40's, usually in an hour, then just her regular lc works.
     
  50. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Yes 1 hr with no food or syrup. If still up then he is good.
     
  51. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    A very good thought Paula! I have a range of cans at different carbs, all marked with their percentages... but I need to learn to use them. And, I need to figure out the safest way to learn how sensitive Fig is to carbs... I haven't really had to use HC much (or MC) since Figaro's numbers have been so high (up to now!).
     
    AmandaE likes this.
  52. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    It's trial and error then of course kitty changes it when you figure it out.

    For Ollie, if she is in the high 40's I try regular lc which is 3% for her. It also depends where in the cycle she is. If it's early in cycle I try 1 lc. If she drops 30 minutes after that it's the 6% as long as she is still in the 40's. If lower than its hc with 1 drop syrup.
     
  53. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    112 so looks like we are all good, thank you so much @Olive & Paula !!
     
  54. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Excellent. Pokie break until regular PS time.
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  55. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Figaro is glad for that!
     
  56. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Awesome Job today Liz!!
     
    Figaro's Liz likes this.
  57. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Oh poor Figaro up there in space :facepalm: he has been tired most of the day, but we did have some playtime. Not a big appetite.

    Reduced back to 2.75U and hope we don't lose too much progress with the skip.

    Its 7pm on Friday and I'm already wondering how soon I can go to bed! :rolleyes:
     
  58. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Often it's an app pool or db server recycling...terrible timing though...those things are supposed to happen at a less active time than 7:50ish AM DST - ours is set to happen at 3 AM DST...very few people watching at that time of the night.
     
  59. Armish & Roo

    Armish & Roo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Nice job taking care of Fig, Liz! So proud of you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  60. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Thank you Armish!! :) :cat:
     

Share This Page