First questions...

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sif, Dec 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sif

Sif Member

I am new in this field and I am still full of questions, even if I read a lot about it since one week.:bookworm:

Here are some informations before my first questions :)

- He is 7 years old.
    - Between 7-8 kg (I am going to buy a baby scale tomorrow).
    - Diagnosed diabetic one week ago
    - He receives Caninsulin 0.05 cc/ml twice a day (we do it at 8:45 in the morning and then 20:45 in the evening) since one week.
    - Check up in less than two weeks to the vet clinic

- He has this behavior trouble : he would eat without ending, so we have to give him a portion of food everyday and avoid him to steal the food of the other one...
    - Since several years, he ate Royal Canin vet neutered male (dry food) and one day he began bigger because of us : we made the mistake to let him eat at will, just hoping that he would regulate himself… and he didn’t.
    - The vet put him on diet, he lost weight, but not enough.
    - Then we moved in Iceland. My researches online made me discover the fact that apparently, cereals are not good for a cat. So I gave him Carnilove Chicken and salmon.
    - I made the mistake (another !) to give the portion written on the package. And it probably was a way too much because my poor cat gains weight again…… Then I down it step by step, but still, it was probably too much, otherwise my cat would have loose more weight (isn’t it ?) (for now : 264 kcal).
    - Our vet here don’t agree with us about the food and just proposes me food with cereals (see lower). And with christmas, it is not easy to reach them (vet clinic) to take the time to speak...

- We just bought a blood sugar monitoring : we will try tomorrow and the days after.
    - We read a lot of article of Dr Lisa Pierson.