First time BG Curve at home - 58 mg/dl just now

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by OrangeTrioMom, Sep 25, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OrangeTrioMom

OrangeTrioMom Member

Hi guys-
    I'm sorry if I don't have any of the information right here or if I'm saying something wrong. I'm new to all of this and did first BG curve at home today after raising insulin to 4U BID (Lantus). We were to measure before first shot and then 6 hours later, then in another 6 hours just before getting PM shot.

The entire story is that I gave him his pure bites (dehydrated chicken) treats before I remembered we needed to take the curve. Just after getting treats, BG was 270 this AM before meal & AM shot (4U). Just now, 6 hours later, BG is 58. Gave him 1/8 cup dry food and some Fancy Feast broth that I had on hand. Should I check again soon and how do I know to give him/not to give him his PM shot when it's time?

He was initially on 3U Lantus BID but upon doing his first curve his levels were still too high. Please advise, thank you!!!
    -Kristen

P.s. Going to test again in a couple minutes

2. OrangeTrioMom

OrangeTrioMom Member

I was reading in another thread that <50 mg/dl is the alarm but 58 still seems really low for him. During his first BG curve, his lowest was only about 270, which was his high today.

3. Alexi

Alexi Member

What meter are you using?
    Was the 3 units a start dose?

Can you post the numbers for your curve and the times, also what he had to eat and when.

Can you check his reading in 20 minutes and post the number.

4. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

sounds like 4 u is much too high. Can you show his readings from the last few days? a full unit jump from 3 to 4 is really large!!! I'll let the lantus people comment but most would have advised going from 3 to 3.25 and holding that for several cycles before deciding if another increase was needed.

are you using a human or pet meter?