? Freckles--AMPS 65 +13 77 +14 70 +16 71 +18 108 +20 142 PMPS 227 +2.5 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeeAnn (Lannie)& Freckles

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/freckles-amps-266-5-203-9-241-pmps-231-3-133.189806/

AMPS 65 I didn't shoot. Just fed. I could use some advice on what to do regarding her insulin this morning. Do I get another BG in an hour? 15 minutes?

Last night at +3, we tested 133. That was a drop of about 100 from PMPS. Because it was still a blue number, I didn't think continuing to monitor was necessary. At what level of drop should I always continue to monitor?
Hi. I couldn't see Freckles ss, so I don't know what dose of insulin you're at. But it's good you didn't shoot the 65! Great call! A stall and shoot would be done without feeding. He's eaten so he'll miss amps today. But so much better safe and high than low and dangerous! Seniors should be around soon to advise on next steps. Just wanted to assure you, was good not to shoot! :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Heidi. Can you explain the stall and shoot protocol for me? I'm a little bummed I fed her, and now can't shoot, but I'm not sad I didn't shoot. :) There really is so much to learn. I keep reading and reading and looking at spreadsheets. I'm learning more everyday and people are so helpful. It's so appreciated.

Freckles is on 1u. Can you see the spreadsheet now?
 
Thanks, Heidi. Can you explain the stall and shoot protocol for me? I'm a little bummed I fed her, and now can't shoot, but I'm not sad I didn't shoot. :) There really is so much to learn. I keep reading and reading and looking at spreadsheets. I'm learning more everyday and people are so helpful. It's so appreciated.

Freckles is on 1u. Can you see the spreadsheet now?
Thanks, Heidi. Can you explain the stall and shoot protocol for me? I'm a little bummed I fed her, and now can't shoot, but I'm not sad I didn't shoot. :) There really is so much to learn. I keep reading and reading and looking at spreadsheets. I'm learning more everyday and people are so helpful. It's so appreciated.

Freckles is on 1u. Can you see the spreadsheet now?
Yes Lannie, ss opens now. But as new lantus user you wouldn't be shooting under 150 pre shot yet anyhow. So with Freckles coming up so slow you would have still skipped. I'll let a senior explain more explicitly so you really understand properly, but basically you're waiting without food and re testing to see if kitty comes up high enough to shoot.
Also I see your note on ss 're changing shot times. Time changes should be done in 15 minute increments (20 max) per cycle in order to keep the lantus as close to 12 Hour as possible. Since He didn't greet am shot, a senior can advise if ok to do pmps at whatever time you want new cycles. Please post your +2. Eating ok?:bighug:
 
+2 70 and she ate well

I was thinking the same thing about being able to fully move the shot time up tonight.
Freckles isn't coming up very fast. Can you post your test as well so we can see how he's going without his shot? Do you free feed or timed? He ate well but I'd still keep food available. :)
 
It looks like Freckles is having a good response to the food switch. Might be a good idea to find a lower dose that you can shoot consistently so the depot has a chance to stabilize and you have maximum insulin support to compliment the diet changes.
 
Amazing what a difference proper diet can make :cool:

I agree with Stacy. Dial the dose back a bit to a level you can shoot every 12 hours consistently.

BTW- since you skipped this morning, that AM+2 is actually a PM+14 ;)
 
I climbed up on top of the bunk bed to get a quick photo. I think she was thoroughly annoyed. I'll have to update later with a better photo. She must be feeling really well. She hasn't gone up the bunk ladder in a month or two.
Yay! What a sweety! Energy is great! More activity also can bring bg lower, so keep checking when you can. ;)
 
BTW- since you skipped this morning, that AM+2 is actually a PM+14 ;)
Here I go, learning again. Thank you, Sandy.

Should I try 0.5 next time, or a skinny 1?

I'm going to call my vet and see if anyone there is familiar with TR. I have a hunch no one is. I was really disappointed in the lack of information they provided. They were glad I was ok to test at home, but they mostly just wanted me to call back in a week (next Monday) with my numbers. They sent me home with one page of feline diabetes info, some syringes, and that's about it.
 
But as new lantus user you wouldn't be shooting under 150 pre shot yet anyhow.
Not quite right. On this forum, we say that the first time you see an under 150, you stop, do NOT feed, and post here for help on the options. Shooting under 150 might be a valid option. The options are all laid out on the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. You might want to give that one another read. And print it out to have handy, just in case you are faced with a situation where you don't have power or access to the internet.

But since you did skip (which is one of the possible options), you can move your PMPS time to whatever is convenient to you.

Do you think you could measure a 0.75 unit dose?
 
And on the vet knowing TR, they might surprise you. My vet had heard about "some work done in Queensland Australia" and that was the extent of it. You can always print off or email the research paper contained in the Tight Regulation Sticky Note. Vets usually like to see that what you are following is peer reviewed and published research.
 
I agree with Mandy, you don't have much data yet, and you are still trying to figure out Freckles' patterns, so your choice to not shoot was likely the right one. Part of this is getting more data so you know onset and nadir for Freckles.

Just a side note, since you didn't shoot, that 65 technically an "AMBG".

In the future, when you see a lower preshot number that you aren't used to, don't feed and retest in 20 mins. You want to see if the previous insulin shot is wearing off, and BG numbers are rising naturally. When you stall, don't feed, then test again, you can get a better idea of where Freckles might be heading, which can affect your decision to shoot full dose, partial dose or not at all. And of course, if you get a lower than usual preshot number, you can always post here for help (stall and don't feed), a more experienced person may be able to guide you with the decision.
 
Not quite right. On this forum, we say that the first time you see an under 150, you stop, do NOT feed, and post here for help on the options. Shooting under 150 might be a valid option. The options are all laid out on the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. You might want to give that one another read. And print it out to have handy, just in case you are faced with a situation where you don't have power or access to the internet.

But since you did skip (which is one of the possible options), you can move your PMPS time to whatever is convenient to you.

Do you think you could measure a 0.75 unit dose?

I second the notebook idea. It's very handy to print out some of those stickies like: how to handle low numbers, TR protocol, the Tilly's papers on TR etc. It's easy to review them when you need to and this board was down for several hours once when Asia went in to lime green numbers, so it's great for those situations as well.

If you have questions on the way things are written in them, just ask, but it's good to have a working knowledge of what is written there and learn it as best you can. Lots of people are here to help and advise when something gets tricky, but I always found it helpful to my learning to attempt to answer my own question and then ask if I'm on the right track.

Freckles is a cutie pie, even when annoyed you're bothering her in the bunk! ;)
 
I called the vets--the tech on the phone asked 3 of the Doctors, and none of them were immediately familiar with TR. But maybe they just don't know that terminology. I asked if I could email the journal article for one of them to look over and then one of the doctors will call me back later today. I'll get another BG in about 20 minutes.
 
I called the vets--the tech on the phone asked 3 of the Doctors, and none of them were immediately familiar with TR. But maybe they just don't know that terminology. I asked if I could email the journal article for one of them to look over and then one of the doctors will call me back later today. I'll get another BG in about 20 minutes.

The buzzword is "tight regulation" maybe the acronym doesn't mean anything to them. I would think many vets have at least heard the terminology, doubt many are familiar with the protocol. Tight regulation was originally a very successful human diabetes study, by the way, and they developed this version of it for cats.
 
Good deal. Now yesterday, after her PM shot, she dropped about 100 points in two hours. I was then made aware that I should have kept checking her. What kind of drop warrants that?
 
The only real defined feeding times are just after the shots. She usually eats once or twice between them during the day, depending on her appetite.

It is recommended to test/feed/shoot in that order. Always a good idea to make sure they are eating before you give a shot, because if they don’t want to eat it can get you into trouble.

Excited to see your +2, looking good so far, Freckles :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top