? Fred 5/28 +8 @279

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
UPDATE AT BOTTOM ! I've been busy at work the past 8/9 days and haven't been able to test much, other than AMPS / PMPS and an occassional spot check. His appetite seems to be up. Energy level good. Stress was high because of storms here in Texas and it's been happening almost every day. He stays under the bed when it's thundering. Increasing to 2.0 today because I'm still seeing a lot of pink and yellow......and I''m home and doing curve. Testing for ketones. Your thoughts? I believe I'm following TRP as good as I can, with my schedule.

We still have about a dozen missing people due to the floods, and I believe 4 confirmed dead. One family , from Corpus Christi, was vacationing over the holiday weekend in Wimberly, when their home was lifted of it's foundation and washed away. The father was found and is hospitalized. The mother and 2 small children are still missing. Their yellow lab was found in a tree and is in an animal hospital. Prayers go out to all affected and much appreciation to first responders.
More rain is in the forecast.
Hope y'all are well.
Fred n Jamye
 
Last edited:
We're getting lots of Texas news on the tv here in Oregon - things have been terrible there. Stay safe!

I think you were probably ok to increase this morning. You've got lots of data in the pm cycle, and I think if there were any greens showing up you'd have caught at least something that would've told us that. He did get to green numbers at 2u before, so just be watching since that might happen again.
 
awesome! give him a couple of teaspoons of low carb regular food right now. Sometimes that will help a cat surf along in green numbers.

I'm so glad you caught that test! That tells this dose can get him into green numbers.
 
He eats low carb wet food so he has some out right now. Tested at +9 @ 72 .... this is when I get nervous. If PMPS is below 200, I'm not used to shooting low. We shall see in a couple of hours.
 
+10@ 66 ! Help me out if at PMPS he is still low this will be a first time to shoot in green! Yikes ! Be back in a bit. Storms are jackin with my internet so I d k if you can see SS updated. He had 3 green tests this afternoon. Rundown : AMPS 276 2.0, +3 266, +7 76, +9 72, +10 66. He's been eating several small meals of FF with added water. We've had storms today and he wAs under the couch for a bit. I'm surprised his # haven't been higher.
 
Try to make sure he has no food for 2 hours before preshot, then you can see if he's rising at shot time. You might want to review the Sticky Note on Shooting Low before hand. Post for help and do not feed, when you get that PMPS if he's below 150.
 
Think of it this way, Jamye - you've hit a dose that you're finally seeing progress with. This is a good thing.

However, it might not be the right night for you to shoot low, given the storms and your power being off. I don't know - it's going to be your choice. Shooting the full dose into a preshot that is in normal numbers can make a huge progress in blood sugar control. It can lower the whole range and flatten out the blood sugar. There's no way to know whether or not he'll go into low numbers or not, however, and you'll end up monitoring every 20-30 minutes for low numbers. He also might just flatten out and stay in the green numbers for the rest of the pm cycle. No way to know. For today, however, he's been surfing in green numbers for at least 3 hours and the longer he stays in green the better, and the more his body will accept it as normal.

When faced with a low preshot, you have essentially 4 choices:

- give the full dose
- give a significantly reduced dose
- stall without feeding and wait until the blood sugar starts to rise, then shoot
- skip the shot

Since you're in the midst of the storm, which direction do you want to go?

Here's a recent discussion on Charlie when Darin was faced with that situation.
The sticky on "Shooting & Handling Low Numbers" also has some guidelines on it.
Tight Regulation Protocol, Myths Debunked - look at post #6 for a discussion on shooting a dropping #.

If you decide to reduce the dose or skip it because of your circumstances, he'll get back on track soon enough.
 
Well, since he was in the 60's @ +10, I gave him 2 tsp of FF, so now he's at 108 at PMPS. He ate another 2 tsp. Shooting.
 
well you go girl! I don't see anything under 50 on his ss, so am guessing you haven't done the Low Numbers Dance yet.

Do you have supplies - ie, plenty of strips and something high carb? If not, run out right now and grab them. It would also be good to print out the part from the Shooting & handling Low Numbers sticky on how to handle low numbers. Low numbers are anything under 50 on your Relion. The 40's are your "take action" zone, so don't freak out if you see the 40's, just take action.

I'd get a +1 and a +2 to start with, just so you don't have any surprises. He might very well bounce from the green numbers today.
 
Here's that info, just so you have it in one place:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS
The following guidelines apply to the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus or Levemir

First, try to not panic.Post to the Lantus & Levemir Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board.
Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.
If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
    (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby





*** Suggestions made are intended for use with the Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats
Those following the SLGS Method should follow the guidelines suggested in the Start Low, Go Slow Method sticky ***
 
Looks like another round of storms is headed in. I'll have my iPhone for updates here just may not be able to update SS. Thank you Ladies !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top