KRams
Member Since 2019
Hi all,
My Xena has recently been diagnosed- only 1.5 weeks ago, so that's the length of time she's been on Lantus (my hello post). My vet had me start at 1 unit 2x per day, then I came back in a week later, 6 hours post-dosing. Her BG was 360, so she increased the dose to 2 units 2x per day.
As far as diet, (and I know it's not ideal) Xena has been having intestinal troubles so my vet recommended keeping her on Hills i/d until that is resolved.
I purchased a glucometer yesterday. Xena had been eating dry Hills i/d for the past 1.5 weeks. All my kitties have been having intestinal troubles and issues with appetite, so last night I gave them all wet Hills i/d for the first time to tempt them in to eating (which thankfully worked). After eating, Xena's BG was 277, so I administered the 2 units of insulin my vet recommended.
This morning, I gave all the kitties wet Hills i/d again and tested Xena- her BG was down at 54! I re-tested a half-hour later to be sure I (and the monitor) hadn't screwed it up- her BG was 77. Obviously, I didn't give her any insulin!
I tested once more in the afternoon, and it was up to 142. I fed everyone and re-tested Xena- her BG was up to 152.
Any advice about how much I should administer (if at all) tonight? She's on Lantus and I'm leaning towards no insulin tonight...
Thank you!!
My Xena has recently been diagnosed- only 1.5 weeks ago, so that's the length of time she's been on Lantus (my hello post). My vet had me start at 1 unit 2x per day, then I came back in a week later, 6 hours post-dosing. Her BG was 360, so she increased the dose to 2 units 2x per day.
As far as diet, (and I know it's not ideal) Xena has been having intestinal troubles so my vet recommended keeping her on Hills i/d until that is resolved.
I purchased a glucometer yesterday. Xena had been eating dry Hills i/d for the past 1.5 weeks. All my kitties have been having intestinal troubles and issues with appetite, so last night I gave them all wet Hills i/d for the first time to tempt them in to eating (which thankfully worked). After eating, Xena's BG was 277, so I administered the 2 units of insulin my vet recommended.
This morning, I gave all the kitties wet Hills i/d again and tested Xena- her BG was down at 54! I re-tested a half-hour later to be sure I (and the monitor) hadn't screwed it up- her BG was 77. Obviously, I didn't give her any insulin!
I tested once more in the afternoon, and it was up to 142. I fed everyone and re-tested Xena- her BG was up to 152.
Any advice about how much I should administer (if at all) tonight? She's on Lantus and I'm leaning towards no insulin tonight...
Thank you!!