? HELP – only RED and BLACK numbers

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Member Since 2018
Previous condo

After a week on Lantus 0.5 bid, Ti-Mousse’s numbers are sticking in the RED. Strangely one night he had a FUR SHOT and the next day, I was expecting BLACK but no, he got 2 PINK numbers that day… I couldn’t understand why but I was so happy, I thought something good was starting to happen, but unfortunately not! (I did his curb today :nailbiting: ). I did not want to wait before posting this; its curb is missing the pre-shot testing which I’ll do in an hour, but I don’t think it will change the picture and I am very concerned on what to do.

I started him on SLGS as I couldn’t figure out how to manage all the TR requirements; but I got so many useful tips from everybody, specially Chris,Tricia and Ella; Chris made it sound not as demanding as I thought. So I’m going for the TR as I’m getting very worried for my Ti-Mousse and I think it’s probably the best solution for him.

Now, what dosage should I use ? Am I going from 0.5 bid to 1 unit bid? Anything else I should know or do ?

By the way, he was between 12.5 and 13 lbs; he is now 14 lbs. I thought diabetic cats were losing weight ?

I would appreciate your advice on all this!! Thank you so much.
 
Last edited:
After a week on Lantus 0.5 bid, Ti-Mousse’s numbers are sticking in the RED. Strangely one night he had a FUR SHOT and the next day, I was expecting BLACK but no, he got 2 PINK numbers that day… I couldn’t understand why but I was so happy, I thought something good was starting to happen, but unfortunately not! (I did his curb today :nailbiting: ). I did not want to wait before posting this; its curb is missing the pre-shot testing which I’ll do in an hour, but I don’t think it will change the picture and I am very concerned on what to do.

I started him on SLGS as I couldn’t figure out how to manage all the TR requirements; but I got so many useful tips from everybody, specially Chris,Tricia and Ella; Chris made it sound not as demanding as I thought. So I’m going for the TR as I’m getting very worried for my Ti-Mousse and I think it’s probably the best solution for him.

Now, what dosage should I use ? Am I going from 0.5 bid to 1 unit bid? Anything else I should know or do ?

By the way, he was between 12.5 and 13 lbs; he is now 14 lbs. I thought diabetic cats were losing weight ?

I would appreciate your advice on all this!! Thank you so much.

Hello Is this your first post? I'm not sure as I'm not always on here reading every post every day...so if so, aplogies...If not, however could you please add your last post url to the top of your condo? It'll help everyone see what's happened the day before - or whenever your last post was.

It looks like you may need to increase - but I'm not comfortable giving dose advise -hopefully some of the experts will see your thread and respond soon. Lantus is a depot drug so it may need time to build - but with those high numbers I'm wondering if you're testing for ketones in his urine? No mention that I can see. Poor baby..missing ears :( So glad that he found you - someone to love and take care of him - sounds like he needs a good mama bean and you've been 'found'. Hopefully you can keep him away from the kibble - that stuff is just like 'crack' for these sugar kitties - completely bad for them as it'll send those BG's way up too...

Hang in there...wishing you the best as you work your way down the ladder - let's get that little fellow into some better looking numbers - it can be done! Take a look at some of the other condos and their spreadsheets - you'll see a lot of high numbers in the beginning...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Do you have any night time or before bed tests? It’s possible he is going low at night and bouncing during the day. Many cats go lower at night. Can you get a test tonight, maybe as late as +3 or 4? If so, and you still see red, I would go to 1.0 unit tomorrow,

The link to your first post here for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...lantus-numbers-black-red.208335/#post-2308657

How is Ti-Mousse acting/behaving? We like to see the whole picture, not just the numbers.
 
Do you have any night time or before bed tests? It’s possible he is going low at night and bouncing during the day. Many cats go lower at night. Can you get a test tonight, maybe as late as +3 or 4? If so, and you still see red, I would go to 1.0 unit tomorrow,

The link to your first post here for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...lantus-numbers-black-red.208335/#post-2308657

How is Ti-Mousse acting/behaving? We like to see the whole picture, not just the numbers.
Do you have any night time or before bed tests? It’s possible he is going low at night and bouncing during the day. Many cats go lower at night. Can you get a test tonight, maybe as late as +3 or 4? If so, and you still see red, I would go to 1.0 unit tomorrow,

The link to your first post here for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...lantus-numbers-black-red.208335/#post-2308657

How is Ti-Mousse acting/behaving? We like to see the whole picture, not just the numbers.
First, what am I suppose to do with the link; did I post at the wrong place? I'm useless with Forum, it's the 1st time I'm on one; sorry!

I'll try to do another test after his shot tonight, but he is getting really stressed and fed up; I'have been poking his only ear since this morning every 2 hours!

As for his behavior, he is fine just like before he was diagnosed; pees and poops as usual ; eats weel but always did, some days he drinks a little more. Some days he'll be playing and running and some others, he'll be sleeping more!
 
One of the best ways to get acclimated to this board is to read the sticky notes at the top of the forum. We do have some basic housekeeping procedures. For example, we encourage people to post daily -- one thread (or "condo" in our slang) per cat per day. In order to keep track of the information, we link the previous day's condo in the current day's thread. That way it's easy to back track conversations.

With Lantus, it's very helpful to routinely test during both the AM and PM cycles. At the bare minimum, you want to get a before bed test every night. Some cats tend to experience lower numbers at night. If you want to switch to TR, be aware it's a more aggressive approach and as such, you may need to be able to get at least one test during each cycle in addition to your pre-test readings. Frankly, I'd encourage more than one test per cycle especially since you have limited information so far. Getting a curve will allow you to figure out when Lantus onset begins and where nadir falls. These are two very important pieces of information.

With TR, if nadirs are generally over 300, you can increase the dose by 0.5u. I do, however, want to encourage you to get at least one spot check, in addition to your pre-shot test, each and every cycle. It sounds like testing using Ti-Mouse's ear can be challenging. Some members will test using a paw pad. It your kitty will tolerate it, it's an option.
 
One of the best ways to get acclimated to this board is to read the sticky notes at the top of the forum. We do have some basic housekeeping procedures. For example, we encourage people to post daily -- one thread (or "condo" in our slang) per cat per day. In order to keep track of the information, we link the previous day's condo in the current day's thread. That way it's easy to back track conversations.

With Lantus, it's very helpful to routinely test during both the AM and PM cycles. At the bare minimum, you want to get a before bed test every night. Some cats tend to experience lower numbers at night. If you want to switch to TR, be aware it's a more aggressive approach and as such, you may need to be able to get at least one test during each cycle in addition to your pre-test readings. Frankly, I'd encourage more than one test per cycle especially since you have limited information so far. Getting a curve will allow you to figure out when Lantus onset begins and where nadir falls. These are two very important pieces of information.

With TR, if nadirs are generally over 300, you can increase the dose by 0.5u. I do, however, want to encourage you to get at least one spot check, in addition to your pre-shot test, each and every cycle. It sounds like testing using Ti-Mouse's ear can be challenging. Some members will test using a paw pad. It your kitty will tolerate it, it's an option.
Thanks so much, this is the second thread I start; I did not know where to post, so I did a new thread on the Lantus forum; as I can see it's probably not the proper way of doing, specially that I was told to put the link of my 1st post on top of my condo (condo ??? because of you I know what is meant by condo :)). I was looking for instructions on how to post properly specially for the link!

Thanks for the info; right now, I'm afraid that if I keep up with SLGS he'll be stuck with high numbers for too long... that's why I wanted to go with TR, pre-shot tests are always done; I started AM mid-cycle testing and I'll have to start "before bed" testing. I know it's not much, but I'll do my best to do more as I get used to poking his little ear ....
 
First, what am I suppose to do with the link; did I post at the wrong place? I'm useless with Forum, it's the 1st time I'm on one; sorry!

Hi Lyane, Here is how to "link" your previous condo.
1. Call up your previous condo and go to the very top line of your browser's screen, where you will see the URL for the condo (www. felinediabetes.com etc. etc). Highlight this URL (right click on a PC; control click on a Mac). Click the "Edit" button and click "copy" (on some browsers, "copy" will automatically appear, so you don't have to click the Edit button).
2. In your today's condo write at the top of your post something like "Previous Condo", or "Yesterday". Highlight the word(s) you just wrote.
3. Go to the function bar at the top of the Lantus Forum and click on the symbol that looks like a chain link (7th symbol from the left). A dropdown box will appear asking for the URL. Go back up to "Edit" on your browser and click "paste". The URL will appear in the box.
4. Click on "insert".
This sounds time-consuming, but it is really very simple and fast.

I'm sorry that Ti-Mousse is still running high. Remember that when you give a fur shot the "depot" has to recalibrate itself, and it will take a few cycles to get back to where you were before the fur shot. Essentially, when you are counting cycles on a dose, a fur shot makes the whole process start over.

Have you been putting an antibiotic ointment on his sore ear after testing? In the US we use Neosporin + Pain Relief. I'm not sure if this is available in Canada, but there must be something similar. Have you been giving him a treat after each ear prick? Many of us use a piece of freeze-dried chicken, or plain boiled chicken. A treat is essential, and makes the whole process easier for you and for him.

I hope that everything will get easier as you get accustomed to the "dance". Lots of information in the "Stickies". There is also a post called "Where do I find . . ." that contains links to topics people have found helpful.
 
Hi Lyane, Here is how to "link" your previous condo.
1. Call up your previous condo and go to the very top line of your browser's screen, where you will see the URL for the condo (www. felinediabetes.com etc. etc). Highlight this URL (right click on a PC; control click on a Mac). Click the "Edit" button and click "copy" (on some browsers, "copy" will automatically appear, so you don't have to click the Edit button).
2. In your today's condo write at the top of your post something like "Previous Condo", or "Yesterday". Highlight the word(s) you just wrote.
3. Go to the function bar at the top of the Lantus Forum and click on the symbol that looks like a chain link (7th symbol from the left). A dropdown box will appear asking for the URL. Go back up to "Edit" on your browser and click "paste". The URL will appear in the box.
4. Click on "insert".
This sounds time-consuming, but it is really very simple and fast.

I'm sorry that Ti-Mousse is still running high. Remember that when you give a fur shot the "depot" has to recalibrate itself, and it will take a few cycles to get back to where you were before the fur shot. Essentially, when you are counting cycles on a dose, a fur shot makes the whole process start over.

Have you been putting an antibiotic ointment on his sore ear after testing? In the US we use Neosporin + Pain Relief. I'm not sure if this is available in Canada, but there must be something similar. Have you been giving him a treat after each ear prick? Many of us use a piece of freeze-dried chicken, or plain boiled chicken. A treat is essential, and makes the whole process easier for you and for him.

I hope that everything will get easier as you get accustomed to the "dance". Lots of information in the "Stickies". There is also a post called "Where do I find . . ." that contains links to topics people have found helpful.

Thanks so much Ella for explaining the link to previous post, I think I did it right. At the top of this one I'have inserted the link to my previous condo; I followed your instructions and I think it's ok. That's how I'll do from now on and it's logical to have the history on hand ! Thank you.

As for the antibiotic, here we have Polysporin which is an antibiotic and pain relief cream; I rubbed his little ear with it, he needed it after all this poking all day long. As for the treat, he doesn't like the "healthy ones", he's hoping for Temptations which he is not getting anymore; but he also likes raw beef so that's what he is getting!
 
Back
Top